December 31, 2012

Splintered - Review

Splintered by A.G. Howard
Book Blurb
This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.
My Review
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review. Alyssa Gardner has not lived a normal life. All the women in her family seem to be crazy. Her mother is in an institution after an incident involving Alyssa when she was a child. Alyssa and her father visit her often and Alyssa hides the fact that bugs and flowers seem to be talking to her. She knows if it gets out she will be joining her mother locked up. Her family seems to have curse on it. The curse comes from her ancestor Alice who was the Alice from Lewis Carroll's book. To stay free she hides all the things happening to her. She lets it slip one day to her mother and learns that the curse is real and Wonderland is as well. Against her mother's wishes she finds a way to go there and so she can break the curse. She doesn't go alone. Jeb her best friend and the guy she has always had a crush on comes along for the adventure. She also has help from Morpheus a guy who she remembers from her dreams growing up. Morpheus may not be truthful about all that is going on and what he wants. They must find their way to fix everything Alice messed up years ago in Wonderland. Danger is around every corner.

Alyssa is such a amazing character that keeps your attention on her to see what happens next. You find yourself cheering for her whether it is her trying to save her mother, Jeb or herself. She has faults but tries her best to overcome them. You see her transfer not just as a person but as so much more. Jeb were to start with him. As if I didn't have enough of them I now have another guy to add to my book crushes. Even with the odds stacked against him he doesn't give up. After he gets passed the fact that he is in Wonderland and that it really is a place he does everything he can to help Alyssa. He faces people and creatures that he never even dreamed of and doesn't back down. Morpheus is a character that you never are sure about. One minute I was feeling sorry for him, the next I was wishing the worst for him. He always seems to have several things going on and you can't tell if he is helping Alyssa or himself. Even after I finished reading this book I still had mixed feelings about him. on one hand I liked him and on the other not so much.

I usually try to never compare books to other books or things in my reviews but I have to say this. This book to me is what happens when you read Alice in Wonderland, watch Tim Burton's movie of the book and have such a vivid imagination that you bring all kinds of paranormal, supernatural beings together in one book to make a such a fantastic book that I read it slowly so I could savor it. This is the author's first book and I have to say I will be looking for more of her work. She does such a wonderful job describing the settings and everything around you. You feel like you are down the rabbit hole yourself. It never gets boring that is for sure. Something is always going on and you never know who to trust or who to believe. Alyssa has to face some of the things she has always tried to hide from and battle them. She knows if she fails it could be the end of people she loves life. I am rambling I know but this book is just so wonderfully written that I want everyone to read it. Pick this up and go on a magical adventure. Just remember this isn't the Wonderland you think you know and be prepared for some shocking twist you will not see coming! This book will be one I will reread over and over again.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

A Winter Wonderland - Review

Book Blurb
Four special holiday offerings from today’s favorite authors remind us that when love is on your list, you never have to stop believing…
“A Winter Wonderland” by Fern Michaels
Angelica Shepard left New York for Christmas in Colorado to relax and unwind—but an out-of-control snowboarder almost had her laid to rest. When she wakes up in the hospital, all she remembers is the handsome angel who saved her…
“The Joy of Christmas” by Holly Chamberlin
Not all happiness is good for you—or that’s what Iris Karr thinks when she decides to move away instead of marrying her sweetheart Ben. Even years later, living with that decision isn’t easy—until a familiar face comes to call her home for the holidays…
“The Christmas Thief” by Leslie Meier
Elizabeth Stone is ready for a white Christmas in Tinker’s Cove, Maine—until a fancy Yule ball at the Florida hotel where she works dumps snow on her plans. The sponsor’s jewels have gone missing and the police are asking about her ties to a cute mystery guest. Good thing Elizabeth’s mother, Lucy Stone, flew down to surprise her. ‘Tis the season for a little investigating…
“The Christmas Collector” by Kristina McMorris
Estate liquidator Jenna Matthews isn’t one for Christmas nostalgia. But when one grandmother’s keepsakes suggest a secret life, unwrapping the mystery leads Jenna—and her client's handsome grandson—to the true heart of the holiday spirit…

My Review
“A Winter Wonderland” by Fern Michaels
Angelica is trying to figure out just where her life is going. Her acting career seems to be going no where. She decides to take a ski trip to think things out. Dr. Parker North is good at his job one of the best in fact. He has spent all his time working. When his work gets to much he takes up a friends offer to go skiing. All he wants is to be left a lone. Things keep throwing the two of them together even when they don't want want to be together. They may just be the best thing that could happen to each other if they could ever let their baggage go.

I liked both the main characters. They were very believable and Seemed like their problems were real. I thought they had great chemistry even when they tried not to be together. Angelica thinks Parker is just a poor guy so you can tell she isn't after his money. I like how they both solve everything in the end. Just a sweet story to melt your heart.

“The Joy of Christmas” by Holly Chamberlin
Iris has moved to a new town and is trying to start over her life. For a long time it works. She is away from everyone she used to know. The holidays are coming and that is always a hard time of year. It is when her mother passed away. Just when she least expects it she comes face to face with Ben her fiance from years ago she left. Now she must face the things she has been running from the most her feelings.

This is a cute story but I have to admit it is my least favorite of the four in the book. I just wanted to shake Iris and tell her to look at what she is missing out on. Ben is such a sweet guy and you can tell how much he still cares for Iris. She does get her head straight but I still didn't like her a whole lot even in the end

“The Christmas Thief” by Leslie Meier
Elizabeth Stone is bust at her new job. The hotel she works at is gearing up for a very important event. The hotel is having all kinds of fancy and important people stay there and along with them is some very important jewels. Security is very tight but even that doesn't stop someone from stealing some jewels. The problem is Elizabeth is the one who they blame. Now she must find out who really did it and clear her name. Her mother Lucy flies in to help her figure things out and solve this mystery.

This story is the one that didn't have a lot of romance but I think it was my favorite. Elizabeth is a fantastic character who I really enjoyed reading about. She is betrayed by people right and left all for their own needs. She never knows who is really her friend and who is out for their selves. Her friend turns against her and I have to say I did not like her one but. Chris the guy who she has a few dates with may not be who he seems he is. I love the whole mystery thing and trying to figure out who did it.

“The Christmas Collector” by Kristina McMorris
Jenna Mathews makes her living selling stuff people don't need anymore. It is a job she loves cause she doesn't believe in keeping a bunch of stuff around. Her mother is a pack art you could say and it has always bugged her. When she takes on the job of cleaning out one old ladies house she finds some things that make her think maybe some things should be kept. As she digs into the ladies past she finds some things that she believes everyone should see including the ladies family. Especially her grandson Reece.

I really enjoyed this story. More so for learning about Mrs. Porter's past than anything else. I could read a book just about that little old lady and know I would love it! Jenna does learn that not everything needs to be gotten rid of and that some things are important enough to keep. I love how the past is in a way what brings her and Reese together. They are a great pairing and you can see they belong together.

In all I give this book a 4. It is a sweet quick read that will cheer you up if you feel down. It just gives you a good feeling all over. It would be good to read any time of the year not just the holidays. I would like to thank the publisher  for sending me a copy of this book for an honest review.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

December 27, 2012

The Camp Cover Reveal

Hey everyone! I am  very happy to be a part of the cover reveal for The Camp. The book sounds Amazing! Before I show you the cover here is a little about the book.
Book Details:
The Camp by Karice Bolton
Expected Pub: TBA
Emma has always strove for perfection in her almost eighteen years of existence, but it has never been good enough. As she finds herself counting the days until she’s officially free from her parents’ reins, her stepfather hands her a plane ticket explaining that she must attend the Re-Boot Camp in the wilds of Alaska.

Once she lands in the middle of nowhere, she realizes the camp is nothing like she imagined, and she wants out immediately. That is until she meets Liam.
The camp is full of teens with dark pasts, but she finds herself drawn to Liam’s ability to see who she really is and who she wants to become. While Emma and Liam begin adjusting to a place neither want to be, frightening events begin to unfold. When people begin disappearing, it becomes apparent they can only trust one another as they fight for survival.

Now onto the beautiful cover!
Cover by PhatPuppy Art ( )

Author Bio:
Karice Bolton
Karice Bolton is a paranormal romance/urban fantasy author living in the Pacific Northwest. All three books in The Watchers Trilogy are available now, Awakening, Legions, and Cataclysm. Lonely Souls, which is the first book in her new series Witch Avenue, was released in June 2012!

Karice married the love of her life who she met in high school, and she still can't get over how cute and funny he is. They have two English Bulldogs that are the cutest bullies in the world, and they use their cuteness to get what they want. Karice loves the snow and gravitates towards the stuff as often as possible! She enjoys skiing and tries really hard to snowboard, but often makes a nice little area to sit while everyone zips by on their board. She enjoys writing, and she also loves to read just about anything with print.

Author Links:

Be sure you let us know what you think of the cover!!

Author Spotlight with Rhiannon Paille

Today our Author Spotlight is shining on Rhiannon Paille! We are very happy to have her with us today. We will be sharing quotes from her soon to be release  book JUSTICE (The Ferryman + The Flame #2) on our facebook page today as well so be sure to check them out. Our facebook page can be found here Paranormal Reads FB page. Now onto the interview with Rhiannon!

If you were writing a book about your life, what would the title be?
What's funny is I actually did outline my autobiography and I titled it "My life is an urban fantasy" 

What inspired you to write your first book?
I didn't get inspired so much as shanghaied into writing it. I was bombarded by ideas and it wasn't until I wrote those ideas down that they stopped attacking me in my sleep. 

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned that sometimes a story is a story and you have to go with it. You can't make it something everything will like, so you just have to worry about making it something you like.

Surrender is such a unique story, where does all of that originality come from?
Hahaha. I’d love to say it comes from my genius mind, but it really doesn’t. I have a penchant for studying obscure things like Celtic and Norse myths, Buddhist, Hindu, Pagan traditions, witchcraft, metaphysics, parapsychology, ecopsychology, fairies, sacred geometry, sacred places, etc. I actually own a copy of the Bhagavad Gita, which is basically the Hindu bible. 

I think that because I’m eccentric, my writing reflects that. 

Why did Surrender become a love story?
I think it was always a love story. I’m a romantic at heart, watched Romeo & Juliet about fifty times (the Leonardo DiCaprio version) when I was a teen and I’ve lived my own tragic love story. Surprisingly enough, Surrender was a very natural place for me to start my writing career because I’m so familiar with the love story and the customs of Avristar. 

Why did you choose to name places, and people the way you did?
Avristar in its early days was Istalindir (which was a rip off of a Tolkien word). Before that I called the island Avalon (which was a rip off of Marion Zimmer Bradley) At some point I decided that to be original I had to be original. Still, if you read Mists of Avalon, or any Arthurian myth, you will notice a lot of correlations between Avristar and Avalon. One of the reasons I also changed the name was because I didn’t want to have the responsibility of tying my Avalon to the Avalon people are familiar with today. I was afraid critics would tell me my Avalon was inaccurate because it didn’t feature King Arthur or Morgan Le Fay or the Lady of the Lake. 

In regards to the people, I went with the names that seemed to suit them the best. For some of them I took words from the Tolkien dictionary (Atara, Istar and Mallorn) but for others, they came to me with their names in hand. (Kaliel, Krishani and Pux.) I didn’t go into a lot of thought, when I needed a name, I chose one that sounded like it would suit the land. (Eurida, Rueann, Luenelle)

What is a Flame? (and where did that idea come from?)
The Violet Flame was something I stumbled across when I was eighteen. It was an accident. Further inspection into its life showed that current myth seriously misunderstands The Violet Flame, painting it as a thing, not as a living, breathing being. It’s traditionally from Eastern tradition, and people in the Middle East and Asia still meditate on the Violet Flame. 

This was the starting point for my story centered around The Flames. At some point in my journey down the rabbit hole I found a reference to eight rays, which were related to the Violet Flame, though texts always called the Violet Flame the ultimate spiritual energy. It then listed off things the Violet Flame can do (erase karma, transmute energy) and because it sounded like a genie in a lantern (St. Germaine carried it in a lantern) I thought it would be interesting to craft a story around it. 

That’s essentially how Kaliel became Kaliel. 

Why a Ferryman? (and where did that come from?)
For the longest time, Krishani was simply Kaliel’s love interest. I knew I wanted it to be a tragic love story based on a girl who is a Flame (therefore hunted because of how rare she is.) and all she wants is to be normal. 

Krishani didn’t out himself as the Ferryman until later. Sure, I was writing about his nightmares long before I put it together that he follows death, means he’s a Ferryman. I used to call him a Watcher because he was watching death . . . then it suddenly came together . . . Ferryman, Grim Reaper, Davy Jones, taking souls to the other side, etc. etc. 

I don’t explore what Krishani is in Surrender because my focus was more on Kaliel. In Justice however, that’s when I began learning just how crazy being a Ferryman really is. 

What do you do when your not writing?
I read minds . . . in the literal I actually read minds and have clients worldwide who ask me to do this kind of sense. 

What other stories do you have in the works?
Wow . . . well I have . . . outlines for 17 other books. I’ve written and released three short stories in my Last City on Earth series, and I plan to put out three more stories for that one. Besides that I have a lot of first person urban fantasies outlined. One is about aliens, the other is about a doll. Either way I have enough to keep me busy for many years to come. 
If Zombies attacked which one of your characters would you want at your side?
It's a toss up, on the one hand I'd want Krishani there to fight them off, but then I'd also want Kaliel there because she'd kill everyone, including me . . . so I don't know. 

Why do you write books in the Paranormal genre?
I actually chose the paranormal / fantasy genre as an escape from my everyday life. It's actually amusing when I put in little things that actually happened to me, because I'd love for readers to figure out what's true v.s. what is made up. 

If you were a paranormal being what would you be?
I AM a psychic, so I guess I'd choose that because it's already what I am. 

What was the first book you remember reading?
See spot run. I was 6. I saw spot run. 

For Fun
Favorite Season - Autumn
Favorite Food - Caesar Salad
Favorite color - Green
Favorite movie - The Holiday
Favorite song - Until We Bleed by Lykke

How far would you go to save everything you ever loved? 

Kaliel was warned about her love for the Ferryman. One day he will marry the land and leave Avristar forever. She doesn't listen, and because of what she is-- a Flame-- one of nine apocalyptic weapons, she sparks a war. In a desperate attempt to save her home and her love, Kaliel tries to awaken Avred, not knowing she may have to make the ultimate sacrifice.

How far would you go to destroy yourself?

Krishani always knew he would have to go to the Lands of Men, but he never thought it would be like this. Enemies everywhere, an ancestor he can't respect, elders he can't trust, a curse he can't stop and friends he can't help but hate. Desperate to end the pain, he sets out on a quest to find the other Flames and face the enemy that took everything from him.


JUSTICE is out January 22nd, 2013

Author & Book Links
Author, Cookie Burner, Mind Reader, Karaoke Singer, Nerd, Wonder Woman
Follow Me: Twitter, Facebook, Blog, Website
YA Fantasy:
Surrender (The Ferryman + The Flame #1) on Amazon
Lantern & Poison (The Ferryman + The Flame #1.5) on Amazon
YA Dystopian:
Death Sentence (Last City on Earth #1) on Amazon
East Side Boy (Last City on Earth #2) on Amazon
Carnival (Last City on Earth #3) on Amazon

We would like to thank Rhiannon Paille for being our Spotlight Author today!

December 26, 2012

Elemental: The First - Review

Elemental:The First (Primord #1) by Alexandra May
Book Blurb
Just who is Halíka Dacomé?

To Rose Frost, moving house every six months is normal. Another new town here, another new school there, her ability to adapt is as easy as breathing. But everything changes when her parents go overseas and Rose moves in with her grandmother. She enjoys meeting new friends and catching up with old ones from her childhood holidays — except now she must hide a precious secret from everyone, a gift from birth that defies modern day science. 

Her dreams become riddled with a warrior woman called Halíka Dacomé, but are they visions or messages from the future? She starts her own investigation but encounters more questions than answers. Living right on the edge of Warminster in Wiltshire doesn’t help with its folklore and myths about strange lights in the sky and ghost stories of the Salisbury Plain

Not only that, her troubles really take hold one night when the mysterious Aiden Deverill with his alluring smile, his gorgeous dark looks and hypnotising blue eyes, saves her from a freak fire. Or did he? 

For Rose, her new life is beginning but she soon realises that despite assurances people are not always what they seem. What she always believed to be a happy family and a friendly town soon turns on its head when she discovers that her family secret, Aiden Deverill and the truth behind Halíka Dacomé is at the heart of the whole conspiracy.
My Review
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher for an honest review. Rose Frost is going to live with her grandmother. Her parents are going on a job mission and they feel she would be safest there. Rose doesn't mind because she has some old childhood friends there. She soon finds her self with old friends and some new ones as well. She does keep a secret from them. She has had a few unique abilities she has to keep secret from everyone. Her grandmother knows she does and keeps saying they will talk soon. Other things begin to happen to Rose. She has dreams about a woman named Halíka Dacomé. She doesn't know what these dreams mean. On top of all that several people in town are missing and it just may be up to Rose to figure out how to save them. She first must find out about Halíka Dacomé and figure out who she can trust.

Rose is a great character. She has these powers and does a good job of hiding them. She has to leave her mom and dad and handles it pretty well. She doesn't immediately jump for joy and does pout some about this. It really in a way made me like her more. She was more believable as a character that way. She tries to see all sides of people and get all their stories. You can see her powers grow more as you read the book. 

I really liked the plot of this story. It sounded a little different than other books I have read. It didn't disappoint me in being different. I liked all the characters they were all believable in their own way. The story doesn't really get to slow it just took a while to really going in what was going on with Halíka Dacomé. I wanted the wanted more of the background and not have to wait till the end to figure everything out. This book gradually picks up and the last few chapters really take off and hook her and then you are left wanting to know what happens next. I will be getting the next book soon as I want to see what happens next. All in all a good book.
3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Unearthed - Review

Unearthed by Rebecca Bloomer
Book Blurb
If you're going to colonise a planet, you'd better be willing to fight for it.

Within Anphobos, there grows a new race. The first generation of humans never to set foot on Earth. They are pale skinned, large eyed and worship no god but science. They possess technological skills and processes Earth has refused to acknowledge. Until now...

"We are Martian. Your religion isn't ours. Our god is Mars. Our religion is science. Anything we do in the service of Mars, is good. Make no mistake, Earth girl, we are both right and good."

Fresh off Earth, Jodi Scarfield doesn't really care for Mars or its politics. Still, accusations of treason will get a girl's attention...
My Review
I received a copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley for an honest review. Jodi is moving to a new place and it is an unusual one. She along with her mother are going to Mars to join her father. Mars has some humans who were born there as it was colonized years ago. Jodi tries to fit in but has found herself in the middle of a political fight. One she isn't sure about but has found she is right in the middle of it.

Jodi is a smart girl after all she can hack just about any computer. This comes in real handy for her and her mother when they get to Mars. She has been part of some trouble back on Earth but here she is just trying to find her place in a whole new world to her. She also has to learn to live with her dad again after not seeing him in so long. I liked her character she does stand out.

This is short quick read. I did like it but wish it had been longer. I think it would have been so much better if it had been. The plot is great but it kinda fell flat. I could see it being so much more. It is still enjoyable just need more. The last little bit of the book felt rushed and sometimes I did get confused as what was happening. I think if you want a quick sci fi read you should try this one. It is a good read just could have been better!
3 out of 5 bats~Pam

Naughty and Nice - Review

Book Blurb
’Tis the season for romance with three original holiday-themed novellas! Unwrap this festive eBook bundle and discover why these authors are quickly becoming the biggest names in the genre. Ruthie Knox tells a heartwarming contemporary story of first loves given the gift of a second chance; Molly O’Keefe releases the ghosts of Christmas past with a prequel to her novel Crazy Thing Called Love; and Stefanie Sloane weaves an irresistible Regency tale of fiery passion that burns deep on a cold winter’s night.

ROOM AT THE INN by Ruthie Knox

Carson Vance couldn’t wait to get out of Potter Falls, but now that he’s back to spend Christmas with his ailing father, he must face all the people he left behind . . . like Julie Long, whose heart he broke once upon a time. Now the proprietor of the local inn, Julie is a successful, seductive, independent woman—everything that Carson’s looking for. But despite several steamy encounters under the mistletoe, Julie refuses to believe in happily ever after. Now Carson must prove to Julie that he’s back for good—and that he wants her in his life for all the holidays to come.


Maddy Baumgarten and Billy Wilkins are spontaneous, in love, and prepared to elope the day after Christmas—that is, if Maddy’s family doesn’t throw a wrench in their plans. After all, Maddy’s barely out of high school and Billy’s a notorious bad boy. Maddy doesn’t care about Billy’s rough past—all she cares about is living in the here and now. But after Maddy’s mother stops speaking to her in protest, and a Christmas Eve heart-to-heart with her father leaves her with butterflies, Maddy starts to get cold feet. She loves Billy, but is she taking this big step too soon?


After being jilted by her fiancé, Jane Merriweather turns to her dear childhood friend, the Honorable Lucas Cavanaugh, for support—and unlocks the smoldering desire simmering in the man’s troubled heart. Frightened by his newfound feelings, Lucas flees to Scotland. But when the Christmas season brings them together again, one glance is all that’s needed to reignite his yearning. If Lucas can convince Jane that his intentions are as pure as the falling snow, they’ll turn a dreary December into a joyous Yuletide affair.
My Review
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review. It is a collection of three short stories. Each one is charming in it's own way!

ROOM AT THE INN by Ruthie Knox
Carson Vance has only wanted one thing in his life to get away from Potter Falls. He has done this and create a life for his self that doesn't involve his hometown or the people in it. When his fathers failing health drags him back to his hometown all he can think about is getting away. He also has to face Julie the woman he left broken hearted. They grow close together again and he has to prove to Julie he does want to stick around. She just keeps waiting for him to leave again.

This is a cute short story. You can see the chemistry between the two and keep hoping they will work things out and be together. I had trouble believing Carson was ready to stay after he only wanted to get away. That did knock the story down a little IMO. The plot and such was very good and just the type to leave a smile on your face. My favorite part of this story was Carson's dad. I kept waiting to see what he would come up with next.

Maddy and Billy want to be married the day after Christmas and they don't care what anyone says. Her parents are against it and try to talk her out of it. She is barely out of high school and he has a bad past. Everyone knows they will never make. Will all the talking, tears and silent treatments talk Maddy out of getting married or will she follow her heart?

I think this was my least favorite of the short stories. Why because even knowing it was a short story I needed more to be happy with it. Maddy is a strong character and in some ways she helps take care of Billy. I can totally see where her parents were coming from telling her to think and she was to young. Billy is such a sweet boy but I don't think he was grown up enough to know what he wanted. It is a very cute story but I think if you really got to see more about it it would be really good.

Jane was jilted by her fiance and turns to her childhood friend Lucas. There she suffers rejection again because she scared Lucas because he began to feel things for her he wasn't used to. He flees to think things over. When the holidays bring them back together he realizes she is the one and he has to have her. Now he must convince her he truly cares for her.

I think this was my favorite it was so cute and charming. It is the perfect short read. You get the whole point and you are not left wanting or wandering about things. The characters are truly great and they stick with you. Favorite part is Jane's goat. It will have you laughing several times and you get the feeling it is part match maker.

If you want three light hearted stories you may want to check these out. Each one is good. I did prefer some over the others but that is the case with any collection of short stories if you have ever read any. 
3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

December 22, 2012

A Galactic Holiday - Review

Book Blurb
Do androids dream of electric sugar plums?

A detective who refuses to modify her body teams up with her cyborg rival to track down a burglar who is putting toys into homes. A solitary ice miner finds love and friendship while stranded on the surface of Galileo. And two hardheaded negotiators put their differences aside to evade an assassin and save their planets. Enjoy these visions of Christmases yet to come with three science-fiction novellas from Carina Press.

Edited by Angela James, this anthology includes:

How the Glitch Saved Christmas, by Stacy Gail
Galileo’s Holiday, by Sasha Summers
Winter Fusion, by Anna Hackett

Stories also available for purchase separately.
My Review
I received this from NetGalley for an honest review. This is a collection of three short stories about the future and some off planet Christmas stories. Each one is charming in it's own way and i enjoyed all three of them.

How the Glitch Saved Christmas by Stacy Gail 
Reina Vedette is the only person left in her police department with no modifications. She doesn't want them and they can't make her get them. They can move her down the ranks and that is what they do. When a strange break in case happens she gets paired with Edison Wicke. He has had the improvements making him stronger and in a way part computer. He is everything she is against but she has always been attractive to him. They must work together to solve the mystery of a Santa Claus in a time when there is no Santa anymore. Working together just may bring them close together maybe closer than Reina wants to be.

This is a great story. I love the concept of it and the two main characters are fantastic together. Each in their own way fighting for what they believe is right. The story is wonderful and fast paced. The ending at first I thought was going to make me sad but the author did a great job finishing the story.

Galileo’s Holiday by Sasha Summers 
Riley is an ice miner and seems to be stuck on an ice planet after raiders destroy her ship. She gets saved by Leo. He takes her back to the community that lives on the planet and she finds herself surrounded by some very nice people who have a strange custom for the holidays she doesn't know much about. As things heat up between Riley and Leo they find themselves in danger as raiders are headed towards the community. They must work together to save the people Riley has come to like and who Leo loves. It may just cost them more than they think to save the community maybe even there lives.

I liked this story but it wasn't my favorite. I think I wanted more and even being a short story it felt lacking in something. It was still good just not great. I liked the tradition the community had and I liked Leo and Riley together.

Winter Fusion by Anna Hackett
Brinn Fjord is in negotiations with the man she has known to hate for years. He set her planet back years ago and she knows he can do it again. Savan Bardan knows he has his hands full trying to work out an agreement with Brinn. He in a way cost her father his life. He does want the crystals her planet has to offer and wants to work out some ind of deal with her. The two must try and get along and work out a deal but someone doesn't want them to and tries to kill them. Trying to save themselves they find they are attracted to each other even knowing they shouldn't be together. It is an impossible attraction but they do have to find a way to safety before they worry about any future they may have.

This was a good story. I did get drawn into this world and really liked the characters. The action was always going and I liked the chemistry between the two main characters. Very nice quick read.

If you are looking for a different holiday read you may try this one. You can enjoy it even if it isn't the holiday time. I did like Winter Fusion and How the Glitch Saved Christmas more than Galileo’s Holiday but they are all still good quick reads. You get to see different worlds and some fantastic characters. Be sure to give this a try.
4 out of 5 Bats ~Pam

December 20, 2012

Released Souls Cover Reveal

Hey all I am very happy to be a part of this cover reveal for Released Souls. It is very beautiful and fits perfect with the first 2 books in the series. First I will show you the first two book covers in the series and a little about Released Souls.

Lonely Souls (Witch Avenue book 1) -

Altered Souls (Witch Avenue book 2) -

Cover by PhatPuppy Art ( )
Released Souls (Witch Avenue #3) by Karice Bolton
Expected publication: January 2013
Triss and Logan’s love is becoming stronger by the day as they harness the powers between them, but will that make them blind to the evil they’re facing?

After uncovering startling information about her family, Triss is determined to right the wrongs of her ancestors. Triss and Logan uncover who has infiltrated the covens across the globe, and they realize the plans of the dark side are far more sinister than they’d ever imagined.
As the power of this hidden world is exposed, Triss learns her role in the covens. With Logan, Dace and Bakula’s assistance, Triss is now able to fully realize the abilities her ancestors have given her.

It won’t be long until the dark forces regain their strength, especially as their leader, Eben, continues his quest for a power that can never be revoked. Triss must stop him before it is too late.

Goodreads link:

Now for the beautiful cover!!
Author Bio:
Karice Bolton
Karice Bolton is a paranormal romance/urban fantasy author living in the Pacific Northwest. All three books in The Watchers Trilogy are available now, Awakening, Legions, and Cataclysm. Lonely Souls, which is the first book in her new series Witch Avenue, was released in June 2012!

Karice married the love of her life who she met in high school, and she still can't get over how cute and funny he is. They have two English Bulldogs that are the cutest bullies in the world, and they use their cuteness to get what they want. Karice loves the snow and gravitates towards the stuff as often as possible! She enjoys skiing and tries really hard to snowboard, but often makes a nice little area to sit while everyone zips by on their board. She enjoys writing, and she also loves to read just about anything with print.

Author Links:

Thank you all for stopping by and let me know what you think of the cover.~Pam

Author Spotlight with Amy Armbruster

Hello everyone! Today our Spotlight Author is Amy Armbruster. We will have an interview with her here on the blog and will be sharing quotes on the FB page so be sure to check out Paranormal Reads FB page. Now on to the Interview!!!

PR:Tell me about your book. How did you come up with that (story, angle, idea)?Amy:Whispering Coves - I watched an old black and white movie once, about a woman that was institutionalized and I remember thinking about the relationship between her and her husband and what a profound effect that would have on it. After a trip to Savannah, I knew I wanted to write a story that took place there or close to it - I love the South and how romantic it is - from the huge live oaks dripping with Spanish moss to the sound of the ocean waves lapping against the shore. You just can't get more inspiration than that! I came home from my vacation and Shyla Walters was born.

Devon's Curse - I always wanted to write about a psychic. What it would feel like to BE that person... Devon's story just came natural to me, once I started writing, it was hard to stop. Everything from her story and her painful past, plus the story of the ghosts that haunt her, just came so naturally to me. Even now, I'm amazed how well it came together.

Sisters Forevermore - As with all of my stories, I'm never 100% sure where the idea is born...but there is a house in my hometown and I've been in love with it since I was a child. I went through an almost obsessed stage, where I would drive by it EVERY day and just imagine what could have happened behind its walls. Writing this story allowed me to live inside of that house, even if it was just in my mind!

What is the hardest part of writing for you?
 Finding the time to sit and just write...usually, I feel the urge to write at the worst when I'm driving to work or home from work or sitting at work! LOL not always when I'm actually in front of the computer :)

What advice would you give aspiring writers?
 Keep writing, don't stop, write for YOU and no one else. Don't write to become famous or write what is popular at the time, write what speaks to you or through you...and mostly write what you know a little bit about. Make it real.

What's a typical working day like for you? When and where do you write? Do you set a daily writing goal?
 I get up at six and get ready, wake up my daughter and then head off to my "day" job. I come home, make dinner most nights and do what needs to be done before sitting down at the computer for a few hours. I might write, if the urge strikes me or I have edits to do (I find I am having to discipline myself more now that I have published).

What do you do when you are not writing? 
 Everything else :) I spend time with my family, I enjoy being outside and exploring the world around me. I have so many interests - almost too many to name. I try to do a bit of ghost hunting when time allows - that is still something I really enjoy doing and find to be very exciting! The last year I have focused very hard on my books so have had to put the ghost hunting on a back shelf, but this year I'm hoping to find more time for it! I miss it.

If you were a paranormal being what would you be?
 A ghost. No doubt.

Which of your characters is most like you?
 Shyla in Whispering Coves. Like Shyla, I have suffered the loss of a family member which sent me into a bit of a depression that lasted for a very long time. I can relate to much of what she is feeling because I felt it. There is a lot about her that is very much ME. Those I'm closest to saw it right away.

If you were stranded on an island what character of yours would you want with you?
That's so hard to say...but probably Jack from Whispering Coves. I just picture him to be quite capable and handy, and really good looking! lol

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
 I appreciate you more than you'll ever know! Your words of support have kept me going, sometimes I read reviews and want to cry because of what you say and how much faith you have in me.

Is your family very supportive of your writing?
 My family is supportive of everything I do.

What was the hardest part of writing for you?
 Sharing it.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
 I have learned so much from writing all of my books. Sometimes they are a way of personal growth, helping me through tough times in my life, other times they are just an awesome escape. What I have learned most is not from my writing but from sharing my writing with the world, and that is that I do have a measure of talent and half the joy of writing comes from seeing others enjoy it!

What was the first book you remember reading?
 I have so many books from my childhood. I keep them on my book shelf. Judy Blume's - Are You There God It's Me, Margaret is definitely one of my favorites from my younger days.

For fun:Almost everything I do is fun or I don't do it!
Favorite color:Blues
Favorite season:  Fall for sure!
Favorite type of Animal - I love Panda Bears - they are so darn cute!
Favorite movie: I have a few I can watch over and over, one of my all time favorites though is The Others with Nicole Kidman - I just think it's a terrific ghost story.
Favorite song: I might lose fans for my taste in music but one of my favorite singers is Bing Crosby, so just about anything he sings :)

Author Bio
Amy Armbruster is a small town girl that has been writing for well over thirteen years. She enjoys sharing her stories with her readers. When she isn't writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her husband of eighteen years and two children. She has many interests including ghost hunting with her group, Just Curious Paranormal Studies, antiquing, cemetery exploring, and photography...just to name a few

Be sure to Check out Amy Armbruster's sites!!

December 19, 2012

Dracula's Desire - Review

Dracula's Desire (Blood Wings #2) by Linda Mercury
Book Blurb
Revealing herself as the Dracula of legend, much less a woman, should have been Valerie Tate’s greatest challenge. But with her longing for blood quenched by the one man she couldn’t resist, Valerie now finds herself in an impossible circumstance…


It’s a fact that vampires do not get pregnant. But Valerie is definitely pregnant. Worse, six months ago her lover, Lance Soleil, abandoned her. Determined to find answers, Valerie goes on a quest—one that leads her to Lance’s childhood friend, John Janté, a man with whom she shares a strong bond—and an intense lust. But when John is kidnapped, Valerie’s attempt to rescue him uncovers more than she bargained for…


Scouring parallel realms and pocket dimensions, Valerie soon finds that Lance has regained Paradise as Angel of the Lost…John is hostage in a bizarre world that resembles Victorian London…and most shocking of all, Valerie’s greatest love may be within her reach once more. For the soul of Dracula’s dead wife, Ilona, is trapped within John’s captor, a mad woman robbed of her humanity and manipulated by a conspiracy of Fallen Angels. Now, torn between past and present loves, Valerie must contend with emotions that threaten to break her. And in a desperate show-down, the reunited triad of a vampire, an angel, and a human, must face their deepest fears—with the future of an unborn angel-to-be in the balance…
My Review
I received this book from NetGalley for an honest review. Valerie Tate has revealed herself as the actual Dracula. She spent a great part of her life living as a man and even got married. Now she is living as a woman and no even though it shouldn't be possible she is a pregnant vampire. Her lover Lance has left her and now she goes hunting for him. She finds John an old friend of Lance's and Valerie has a strong connection to him. They can't seem to fight it or the lust between them. When John is kidnapped Valerie goes after him and this leads to many discoveries. One is Lance is back and he is an Angel of the Lost and the second is Valerie's first love is back in a new body. Her wife is now crazy and has many plans for Valerie. The three of them have a battle coming up and they have to face their fears and Valerie has to protect her baby as well.

Valerie is a character that is so hard to describe. She of course is tough as nails she would have to be to live all these years. You get to see her softer side as she takes care of and talks to her unborn child. She is very passionate as you get to see. She can fight and has had a horrible past. Do I like her? I think I just like this character I don't love her. John is out to help Valerie as much as he can. He truly has a connection to her and he has a connection to Lance as well. Lance well here we have the hot angel who is back and wants to be by Valerie's side and the side of his unborn child. He also has a connection to John so it turns into not really a triangle more of a threesome.

I have not read the first book in this series and was lost at first. As I read this book I got what happened in the first one so that by the time I was done reading it I understood this world. I like the concept of what if Dracula was a girl who hid as a man. Plus it has angels and a very special baby. There is plenty of scenes that either have fighting or love scenes so the book always has something going on. I just never did connect to the characters as much as I like to do. There is several hard love scenes and even m/m scenes so if that bothers you you may not want to try this. If you go into this with an open mind and want to see just how Dracula would be as a girl pick this one up.
3 out of 5 Bats~Pam