February 28, 2013

The Midnight Spell Tour - Review and Giveaway

Hey everyone!! I am super excited to be a part of this wonderful tour for The Midnight Spell!! This book is so awesome I loved every bit of it. Now on to my review and the giveaway!

The Midnight Spell by Rhiannon Frater & Kody Boye 
Publication date: February 26th, 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal

Adam and Christy have been best friends since kindergarten. Always the perpetual outsiders in their small town in Texas, they’ve always had to deal with nasty comments from their classmates. Adam is called “gay” while Christy is called “witch.”

On both counts the bullies are right.

Their junior year in high school seems destined to be the same old same old until Christy decides to cast a love spell for Adam at the midnight hour. The next day an alluring and mysterious new boy enrolls at school and sets hearts a flutter, including Adam’s. Meanwhile, Christy’s mad crush on the handsome Ian seems to be going nowhere fast. Struggling to capture the heart of Ian while trying to come into her full witch powers is tough enough, but when a great evil arrives in town that threatens everything they hold dear, she realizes that finding a boyfriend is the least of her and Adam’s worries.

Soon Adam, Christy, their potential love interests, and their good friends Drifter and Olivia, will have to battle a force of darkness that has killed in their town before and will again.

My Review
Being from a small town in Texas Christy and Adam have always been considered outsiders. Since kindergarten they have been best friends and took up for each other. Now in their Junior year of high school the taunts and being picked on continue. It's hard for Christy because everyone calls her a witch and call Adam gay. Everyone is right to call them that because they are. One night Christy decides to do a love spell for Adam for him to find a love. Even tho Adam doesn't believe it will work because he isn't to sure of her being a real witch a mysterious new boy shows up and school and soon he and Adam are a couple. Things should be great considering Christy's long time crush Ian seems to be paying attention to her now as well. Things aren't perfect and the two soon need help from their friends Olivia and Drifter because there is a darkness in the town that they must stop.

I have to say I love Adam. I want him to have a wonderful guy sweep him off his feet. He is so sweet and even if he is short he won't back down from anyone. Christy is so awesome she has secrets no one knows everything about and she is just now hitting her witch puberty so to say. She is so loyal to Adam and the two have a friendship that is so amazing. They do whatever they can for each other even if they do interfere with each other sometimes. You don't mess with one of them that you don't get the other. Olivia I adored from the moment she showed up at school and the end of the book had me loving her.Drifter kind of kicks back and is part of everyones crowd.He is there to help when he can. He just seems like such a nice guy. I don't want to keep rambling about all the characters cause there is so many great ones but I will say I love Christy's parents and Adam's mom. They all are so fantastic and love to embarrass their kids but won't let anyone mess with them.

I was so thrilled to get to read this book. Both authors did a fantastic job working together to make a wonderful story. I read this book in one sitting cause I could not put it down. It is written in such a way that the pages turn if by magic. I love the plot of this story. You really don't get to see a friendship like Adam and Christy share very often in books. You get to see just how close they are to each other. Christy has some funny moments as she always get flustered around her crush and her parents embarrassing her. As a force seems to be after her she has to figure out just what it is and why it seems to be after her. It also seems to be after Adam and is trying to drive them apart. I really don't want to give spoilers so I am trying not to. You have a teen witch, an evil darkness and all kinds of kids acting strange. It is up to a bunch of teens to figure it out, stop the darkness and keep Christy's parents from finding out. Throw in a spying broom and a nosy cat and you have one wonderful story. I love the different paranormal things the authors put in the book and several of them I would have never thought of but loved!! It wraps up very nicely but I really hope they write more of these books because I am in love with this one.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Rhiannon Frater:
Rhiannon Frater is the award-winning author of the As the World Dies trilogy (The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Siege,) and the author of three other books: the vampire novels Pretty When She Dies and The Tale of the Vampire Bride and the young-adult zombie novel The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters. Inspired to independently produce her work from the urging of her fans, she published The First Days in late 2008 and quickly gathered a cult following. She won the Dead Letter Award back-to-back for both The First Days and Fighting to Survive, the former of which the Harrisburg Book Examiner called ‘one of the best zombie books of the decade.’ Rhiannon is currently represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry + Literary Media agency. You may contact her by sending an email to rhiannonfrater@gmail.com.

Author Links:

Kody Boye:
Kody Boye was born and raised in Southeastern Idaho. Since his initial publication in the Yellow Mama Webzine in 2007, he has gone on to sell nearly three-dozen stories to various markets. He is the author of the short story collection Amorous Things, the novella The Diary of Dakota Hammell, the zombie novel Sunrise and the dark fantasy novel Blood. His fiction has been described as ‘Surreal, beautiful and harrowing’ (Fantastic Horror,) while he himself has been heralded as a writer beyond his years(Bitten by Books.) He currently lives and writes in the Austin, Texas area.

Author Links:

For your chance to win an ebook copy of The Midnight Spell simply comment below with your email address. Simple enough right!!

Tour Giveaway
The Tour giveaway is for a paperback copy, a Midnight Spell candle and bookmarks. I want the candle and bookmarks myself lol.

 Just enter the simple rafflecopter below.

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour.


February 26, 2013

Goddess Inheritance - Review

The Goddess Inheritance (Goddess Test #3)
by Aimee Carter

Love or life.

Henry or their child.

The end of her family or the end of the world.

Kate must choose.

During nine months of captivity, Kate Winters has survived a jealous goddess, a vengeful Titan and a pregnancy she never asked for. Now the Queen of the Gods wants her unborn child, and Kate can't stop her--until Cronus offers a deal.

In exchange for her loyalty and devotion, the King of the Titans will spare humanity and let Kate keep her child. Yet even if Kate agrees, he'll destroy Henry, her mother and the rest of the council. And if she refuses, Cronus will tear the world apart until every last god and mortal is dead.

With the fate of everyone she loves resting on her shoulders, Kate must do the impossible: find a way to defeat the most powerful being in existence, even if it costs her everything.

Even if it costs her eternity.

My review
I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for an honest review. Nine months have passed and Kate is ready to give birth. She is being held captive by Cronus and Calliope. She has a decision to make if she agrees to do what Cronus ask he will leave the world alone and she can keep her child. If she doesn't he will destroy the world and everyone in it. She has to try and figure out a way to keep her baby away from Calliope save the world and get back to Henry. The future lies with her decisions and she never knows who to trust.

Kate I had mixed feelings with in this book. She has finally grown up but she still makes bad decisions. She wants to do what is right but sometimes she doesn't think before she acts and most of the time it comes back to kick her in the end. If she would sit back and think and ask for help from some people it would be better. However the book would have been a lot shorter as well. She does really stand up to those more powerful to her in the end and I was glad to see that. Henry tries to do what is right in this book but he doesn't trust Kate enough to trust her with his plans. I really wish these two would have learned to work together more in the book. Cronus even if he is the evil guy in these books a soft side comes out in him around Kate and the baby. He does try to protect her when he can. All the other characters make an appearance in this book and you get to see more of them when they come together. Some of them I didn't know what to expect coming from them. I was pleased with how some of them turned out.

This book finishes up the series wonderfully. While I hate to see the series end I do like how it ended. It had plenty of action, betrayal, love and even heartache. I have loved this series from the start. The mixture of mythology and present time is something the author does such a great job of writing about. Most of the characters really grow in this book even the ones who have been around forever learn something about themselves I think. Tragic losses show both sides they have something to lose and to think of what they have left. The reunion is a touching scene in the book and one I really enjoyed. If you like mythology please, please pick this series up it is so wonderful I can't say more about it without spoiling it but I wish everyone would read it.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy Links

Fragments - Review

Fragments ( Partials #2)
by Dan Wells
Kira Walker has found the cure for RM, but the battle for the survival of humans and Partials is just beginning. Kira has left East Meadow in a desperate search for clues to who she is. That the Partials themselves hold the cure for RM in their blood cannot be a coincidence--it must be part of a larger plan, a plan that involves Kira, a plan that could save both races. Her companions are Afa Demoux, an unhinged drifter and former employee of ParaGen, and Samm and Heron, the Partials who betrayed her and saved her life, the only ones who know her secret. But can she trust them?

Meanwhile, back on Long Island, what's left of humanity is gearing up for war with the Partials, and Marcus knows his only hope is to delay them until Kira returns. But Kira's journey will take her deep into the overgrown wasteland of postapocalyptic America, and Kira and Marcus both will discover that their greatest enemy may be one they didn't even know existed.

The second installment in the pulse-pounding Partials saga is the story of the eleventh hour of humanity's time on Earth, a journey deep into places unknown to discover the means--and even more important, a reason--for our survival.

My Review
Kira has found the cure to RM and several things about her she didn't know. She now goes on a journey to find out more about who she is and more about te partials. She wants to find out more about what caused RM in hopes that it may just save the humans and partials both. She has people from both sides looking for her as she just may hold the key to the cure. Meanwhile Marcus is still on Long Island. Things are heating up on the island as the Partials are set to move in to find Kira and they won't allow any humans to stand in their way. He has to leave to find help and that help just may come from Partials. They both soon leran there is many secrets they have yet to find and several may just change their lives forever.

Kira has always been a strong girl but to me she really comes into her own in this book. She struggles to figure out just how she feels about her self and she tries to find a way to save both Partials and Humans. She has to make several hard choices in this book and she really grows from them. She never really knows who to trust and has to always watch her back. Above all she does the best she can to help everyone even when she is told she will have to pick a side. Even knowing the truth could hurt her she still works to find out things. Marcus is quite a bit better in this book as he steps up and tries to hold things together. He goes into danger knowing he could be killed just to help the humans even if that means he may have to go against some of those humans. Samm I really enjoyed in this book. He is out to help Kira and has a hard time talking to her. You get to really see inside his head and what his feelings are in this book.

I really enjoyed Partials and I enjoyed Fragments just as much. You really get to see more of the world these people live in and how it may have come to be the way it is. Lots of secrets are revealed many that shocked me and I didn't see the twist coming. In this sequel you get more of a depth for the characters. Many of whom you never really know what side they are on. By side I mean good or evil not Human and Partial. To me you really see both sides of the fractions in this sequel. The author does such a fantastic job sucking you in with the plot and everything you really don't want it to end. Even if you don't like dystopian books I would recommend you try this series. It has tons of action and you never know what will happen.The world create and characters will keep you on the edge of your seat. The only bad thing I have to say about this book is After the ending I can not wait to the next one. I have to know what happens next. I don't dare to guess cause the author has a wonderful way of surprising you. 
I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy for review.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy links

February 25, 2013

Wisteria & Myopia Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today I am taking part in the Wisteria & Myopia tour. I have a review of Myopia for you all, an excerpt from Wisteria and Myopia and a giveaway.

BLURB for Wisteria:
Sixteen year old Wisteria Kuti has two options—track the infected around the Isle of Smythe or leave the only known safe haven and face a world infested with flesh eating biters. But even with well-armed trackers, things go wrong and Wisteria ends up alone facing certain death, until she is rescued by the mysterious Bach. Uninfected, Bach is able to survive among the hordes of living dead. 

Eighteen year old Bach, from a race known as The Family, has no interest in human affairs. He was sent here to complete his Great Walk and return home as a man—as a Sen Son. The Family regard humans as Dirt People, but Bach is drawn to this Terran girl, whom he has never seen before, but somehow knows. 

Hunted by flesh eaters, cannibals, and the mysterious blood thirsty group called Red Phoenix, Wisteria and Bach make their way back to the Isle of Smythe, a community built on secrets and lies.

Thirteen months after the first official case of Nero Disease

“Wisteria, run!” Rebecca O’Leary screamed over the radio.

Wisteria Kuti whipped around and came face-to-face with the blood-red eyes of a hungry flesh-eating biter. The biter was a man, infected by Nero Disease, who had long lost his mind. He looked more animal than human and he wanted one thing—to feed on the flesh of uninfected people. The biter growled and staggered toward Wisteria.

She fled down the deserted road to the nearest house. The front door was locked. She kicked at the door, but it didn’t open. Taking out her handgun, she smashed through the window of the door.

“Ugh,” more biters growled behind her.

She spun around, fired once, and hit one in the head. She unlocked the door by reaching in and turning the lock. Once inside, she chained and bolted the door. 

Crash—a biter smashed through another window into the house. 

Wisteria’s heart jumped and she darted up the stairs as fast as she could.

“Get out of the house, Wisteria!” Rebecca radioed.

I’m trying.

A biter grabbed her ankle as she ran. Falling hard on the steps, she wailed in pain. “Ah.” No time to cry, Wisteria. She fired at the biter holding her. One bullet left. 

Three more biters appeared below and started coming up the stairs. Leaping up, she sprinted to the top floor and dashed into the first open doorway that led to the master bedroom. Locking the door, she headed straight for the window. 

The infected clawed at the door, tearing it apart and snarling as they entered.

Link to my review of Wisteria is here.

BLURB for Myopia:

Sixteen-year-old Wisteria has embraced her deep bond with eighteen-year-old Bach, a member of a supernatural race called the Family, despite the risk of his family finding out. Should Bach’s people discover his bond with a human, Wisteria will be guaranteed a painful and bloody death—but somehow, being together is more important.

Their bond is tested when empirics, an elite group of Family investigators, are sent to the Isle of Smythe under the orders of Bach’s father to find artifacts stolen by the humans. They’re to find the artifacts at any cost. Among the empirics is Bach’s old friend, the stunning Alba, who has learned about Bach and Wisteria’s secret relationship, and surprisingly accepts this. With no one else in the Family to turn to, she becomes Bach’s ally and confidant, but possibly more.

As the empirics start to take over the town, Wisteria is torn between trusting Bach and the safety of the humans on Smythe. She soon realizes that she and Bach are on opposite sides of the war between the Family and Humans, and there is no middle ground. One of them must choose a side.

My Review
I loved Wisteria and I loved this book just as much if not more. Picking up around where Wisteria ended Myopia continues to follow Wisteria as she works as a tracker, Still goes to school, tries to keep her brother out of trouble, keep Bach a secret and survive. She has a lot going on but things are about to get worse. Empirics are on the way to find what the humans have stolen and if they find out about the bond between Bach and Wisteria it will mean her death. Add in the fact more biters are coming closer to the town and she has her hands full. 

Wisteria is an amazing character to me because even if she is young she still tries to do what is right. People are constantly being cruel to her even when she is trying to save their lives. She also isn't beauty queen perfect and that makes her more real. Bach I had mixed feelings about in this book. One minute he seemed to love Wisteria and another to me it seemed he was ready to throw her to the curb. 

I so loved getting to read this book. I enjoy zombie or biters as they are called in this book stories. This one has the accept of people from another plane and the biters are just a small part of the book. If you don't  like zombies have no fear you will still enjoy this book. It has a refreshing story line that hooks you. You are left begging to know what is going to happen to Wisteria and the people in the town next. You really don't know who to trust while you are reading this book and it keeps you on your toes. Quite a few times some of the humans I wished would get bit so Wisteria could cure them. Her brother is one whoo never thinks about anyone but hisself. Several secrets are revealed but you are still left needing to know more. It has me hooked. I want to know everything her mom knows. I will defentitly be waiting for the next book in this thrilling series. Be sure to grab and read these rivoting books.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Three years and three months after Nero

“You’ve got to be joking!” Sixteen-year-old Wisteria Kuti glared at about forty teenagers and a handful of preteens dancing wildly in the once deserted pub.

From the smell and heat, the partiers had been burning up the dance floor for hours. The music of the Law Abiding Citizens thumped through the restaurant, and she spotted an mp3 player hooked to large speakers propped on the bar.

Wisteria couldn’t believe they were having a party on Norton. Her stepfather, Major Elliot Coles, the head of security, would literally murder someone if he discovered that forty of the kids from the heavily fortified Isle of Smythe had snuck out onto the mainland.

“You’ve got to admit they’re having fun.” Garfield Simon, her best friend, was standing next to her while adjusting the strap of his crossbow. His long curly hair bounced as he nodded to the music. “Everyone’s okay and seems happy.” 

After four years of living in fear of biters and being locked behind the walls of the Isle of Smythe, she could see why the kids wanted a night of freedom and reckless abandon. Even she wanted one, but it wasn’t safe.

With eighty percent of the world’s population crazy, flesh eating biters, being outside wasn’t just a bad idea, it was deadly. The only thing biters wanted was to feed and the only things they ate were uninfected people. And people who didn’t get eaten most likely ended up becoming infected and turning into biters themselves. As a best case scenario, even one biter walking into this pub could result in everyone becoming infected.

“They’ve been having this party how long?” she asked Amanda Weiss, the tall, slender blonde girl who had come with them.

“This is the sixth party.” Amanda’s blue eyes glittered as she tried to laugh it off. “It’s not that big a deal. We’ve always been safe.” 

“Six,” Wisteria choked out. “And you knew about this and didn’t say anything?”

“We couldn’t tell you because of your mum and your stepdad,” Amanda explained. “If they found out, they’d stop the party.”

“David’s here and he’s my brother,” Wisteria pointed out, but she knew that was different. David was Amanda’s boyfriend.

“Yeah, but you’re a tracker. David’s not, so you have to tell Coles.” Amanda frowned, knitting her blonde eyebrows together. “Everyone just wanted a few nights out. We’ve been working all summer on farms for the harvest. We just need a break. I mean, I know it’s dumb, but we really thought this town was safe. David said there hasn’t been an infected reported in Norton in forever.”

“David isn’t a tracker or he’d have half a clue,” Garfield remarked.

Garfield also hadn’t been invited to the party, but Wisteria suspected that had more to with him being a rat catcher. Even though most kids on the island ate rats, they were too proud to publically admit that. One way to deny it was steering clear of Garfield.

Wisteria scowled at the boy. It was no secret he hated the notion of Amanda and David being together because he was so in love with Amanda. Garfield had had a crush on her, the prettiest girl on the island, since he first saw her. Sadly for him, Amanda only wanted to be friends.

“Well, I’m glad you told me, Amanda. I know Hailey’s going to make you pay for doing it.” Wisteria was still surprised Amanda had come to her with this.

“So, what do you want to do?” Amanda asked.

“Ahh,” a boy shrieked as he ran past them.

Wisteria jumped.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:
Bisi Leyton was born in East London in 1978. She grew up in London, Nigeria and the States, listening to the stories life and love from aunts, cousins and big sisters.She lives in London, but has worked around Europe including France, Germany, Ireland, Belgium and the Czech Republic. She has a fondness for reading graphic novels.

Free Paranoia short story for anyone who signs up on my mailing list (from Smashwords)

Bisi will award a $15 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour. Be sure to comment below with your email address and follow the tour to better your chances.


February 22, 2013

Descension Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone! I am very happy to be a part of this book tour. The book is so amazing. Be sure to enter the giveaway at the bottom.

Book Description:
The Angel
After three years caring for her dying mother, Layla Callaway learns she was adopted under unusual circumstances. Following a cryptic message to seek her birth family in Oregon, Layla uproots her lonely life, quickly finding she descends from witches and wizards. Magic is in her blood, and a handsome family friend is eager to prove it. Through a ring imprinted with her birth parents’ memories, Layla’s enigmatic past comes to light, presenting possibilities and trials more chimerical than her wildest dreams.

The Guardian
Quin’s natural charisma yields plenty of witches, but he longs for the lost witch – the mysterious Layla. He's dreamed about her his entire life, envisioning the day he would lay eyes on her face and aura. When that day arrives, not only is he breathless, he’s confronted with the challenge of a lifetime – an innate need to keep her safe and forever by his side.

The Hunter
Employing fiendish manipulation and manpower, Agro uses the arcane force of others to elevate his supremacy and wealth. Nothing pleases him more than latching on to a mystical vein, and never has there been a more enticing source. The divine witch will be his.

My Review
After Layla's mother dies she discovers many things she didn't know. She has been left a lot of money that she never was aware she had and a note from her mom. The note tells how she was adopted and gives her just a few things to help her find out more about her family. She goes on a journey to see what she can find. She ends up with some help in the form of Quin. He knows all about her and lets her figure a few things out. She is a witch and comes from a long line of witches and wizards. Quin is a wizard and helps her figure some spells out and is by her side as she discovers the evil that is after her and the sweet love of her real parents.

The first chapter I wasn't sure what to expect of this book. I knew an evil person was after Layla even if she didn't know it but I was not expecting what I got with this book. What I got was a real first for me. I cried like a baby. I never hardly cry my hubby even calls me heartless sometimes (jokingly of course) cause I refuse to cry. I really like Layla and can not to see her learn her powers more and to see what comes of her and the super sweet Quin. Her journey of discovery is a small part of this story. For me the story of her parents is what got me. I loved it and it broke my heart at the same time. There is plenty of magic, betrayal, love and heartache all rolled into this enchanting book. I would recommend this story to anyone. I want to tell you more but I will not give spoilers as you know. This book is one that will stay with me for a long time I can tell.Please pick this book up and read it. As for me I need to get the next book now. I know Layla's journey is just starting.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Author Information:
I'm a small town girl with big dreams and a wild imagination. I'm addicted to coffee and writing. The combination is my idea of heaven. I read every day, if only to my young son, whom I hope to someday inspire with my passion for writing.
I love hearing from my readers, so feel free to contact me through any of the links below.

Social Media links:

Twitter Handle - @BCBurgessBooks

Purchase links:


8 ebook copies of Descension (INT)

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour.

February 21, 2013

Seeds of Discovery & Roots of Insight Blog Tour

Quinn Robbins' life was everything she thought a teenager's should be. She has good friends, a family that she loves, good grades, and an after-school job she enjoys. And, she's just been asked out by Zander Cunningham, a popular football player and great guy. But one day when driving home after picking up her little sister from the baby-sitter's, she nearly hits a boy who, after running blindly into the street, mysteriously disappears.

The mystery only deepens as she figures out who the boy is; William Rose, a reclusive, awkward boy from school who always has his nose in a pile of books.

As she becomes more aware of his behavior it becomes more obvious how out of the ordinary William is and how hard he deliberately tries to blend into the background. This only intrigues her more and she finds herself working to find out more about him, and exactly where he keeps disappearing to.

On a whim one night she follows him and suddenly finds herself in a new world. One where William is a prince, literally, and she is treated like a princess. She also discovers that she is stuck; the gate back to her own world isn't always open.

Quinn finds herself smack in the middle of a modern-day fairy tale, on a course that will change her life forever.

My Review
This was a fantastic book to read. The author creates such a wonderful world it is one you want to visit yourself. Usually I sum up the book but I think the blurb does a good enough job of that itself. Quinn seems like your typical teen at the beginning of the book. She has friends, goes to school, works and helps take care of her adorable little sister. She also has a crush on what you would call the boy next door Zander. Then we have William he seems a mystery at first and you can'y help but want to know more about him. The more you read about him the more you see he has lots of things going on. One of my favorite characters has to be Thomas he is Williams brother and can be so funny sometimes.

You start this book off with a mystery as Quinn tries to figure out just where William keeps disappearing to. This leads her to following him to a whole other world. I love the world of Eirentheos it is something like a fairy tale and Williams family welcome Quinn. This is place leads to her helping the family out solving a mystery. She falls in love with the country and reading about it I can see why. Even when she returns home she struggles with her world and the one she has left behind. At the beginning I thought I wanted Quinn with one guy now after finishing the book I am not so sure. This book has a little for everyone. Some romance but not a whole lot, a mystery, wonderful new world and so much more. This book really does a great job building the characters and the worlds up and the ending will leave you wanting more to see what happens next.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Quinn Robbins has just returned from spending ten days in Eirentheos, a world she had never known existed. Trying to settle back into her familiar life and establish a relationship with her new boyfriend, Zander, is more of a challenge than she ever dreamed it would be.

Things are just beginning to feel normal again when Thomas shows up in her world, and invites her back to Eirentheos for a royal wedding. She's excited at the chance to reconnect with the people and places she had begun to fall in love with.

What she doesn't realize is just how deeply connected with this new world she might become ... and just what old secrets might be beginning to unravel.

The second book in the beloved Dusk Gate series reconnects Quinn with the charming princes, and the pristine world of Eirentheos. From a beautiful royal wedding to a dangerous rescue mission, Quinn's adventures are about to take her life on a course that will change it forever.

My Review
Quinn is back in the normal world trying to adjust to being back. She misses Eirentheos and the people in that world. Zander is a help in making her adjust even if he doesn't realize he is. A romance really blossoms between these two. Quinn soon gets the chance to go back to Eirentheos for a royal wedding and she knows she really has to go. Little does she know she is going to find herself in another mystery and will find out many things she didn't know.

I really enjoyed this book. You get to see all the characters you meet in the first book and really fall even more in love with them and Eirentheos. The author does a fantastic job writing about both worlds and the characters. With people missing Quinn knows she has to help and I really liked that she is there for those she really hasn't known very long. It is really hard to pick which one of the 3 boys I liked best in this book as I like them all. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat as you want things to turn out for the best. No spoilers but it is a wonderful story. I love how romance and love are not the most important thing in this book. It is there but not the main thing refreshing change. I like Quinn would find it hard to walk away from the fascinating world of Eirentheos. If you want a magical read about a wonderful world and fascinating people pick this up. I will have to get the rest of the series soon.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam


Author Links:


SIGNED copy of Seeds of Discovery and a DUSK GATE tote bag.
-- All e-copies of the rest of the books in the series (The first book in the series is FREE on amazon)

February 20, 2013

Special Offers - Review

Special Offers by M.L. Ryan

Hailey Parrish is quick-witted, irreverent, and hasn’t had a date in three years. She only wanted an eBook reader because her collection of paperbacks threatened to take over her small living space. Little did she know that the "special offers" that prompted the purchase included much more than a reduced price in exchange for a few ads. The device came pre-loaded with the essence of Sebastian Kess, an erudite womanizer with magical abilities from a parallel dimension. When she inadvertently releases him and he inhabits her body, she finally has a man inside her, just not in the way she imagined. And soon her predicament introduces her to yet another supernatural, the handsome could-be-the-man-of-her-dreams Alex Sunderland. Can Alex and Hailey find a way to return Sebastian to his own body, stay one step ahead of the criminals who want to keep him where he is, and not lose their sense of humor?

My Review
Hailey doesn't date all she does is work and read. Coming home one day she realizes books are taking over her apartment and she decides to take advantage of a special off and buy an ereader. When she gets the ereader she realizes she has gotten more than she bargained for. It has the essence of Sebastian Kess in it. He is a man with magical abilities from another dimension that just loves women. Now he is trapped in her body and she has to find a way to get him out before he drives her crazy. If he doesn't drive her crazy Alex Sunderland will. He is another supernatural and is out to help Hailey free Sebastian and to find where Sebastian's body is. They have two problems criminals want to stop them and Alex and Hailey are attracted to each other. With Sebastian in her body things soon become strange.

Hailey is a character any book lover can feel in common with with some things. All us book lovers have books that can lead to sometimes them taking over our house. What I liked about her is you felt connected right away with her. When faced with the fact that she has a spirit trapped in her body she didn't freak to bad. She accepts things and sometimes the banter between her and Sebastian can be hilarious. She does some crazy things to try and keep him from seeing more of her than she would like. Sebastian is a funny character he is a womanizer all the way and some of the things he says will have you laughing so hard. Then we have Alex. He is the perfect man for Hailey even if she doesn't want to date this guy makes it hard not to want him. He is smart, sweet and very sexy. I love the chemistry between these two.

I will just say this is a wonderful idea for a book. A spirit trapped in a ereader that gets pulled into a body. That is so awesome and it gets your attention. The story is a very smooth read that has a little bit of it all magical abilities, comedy, some romance, a mystery and action. You know who the criminal is but you have to figure out where the body is and who to trust. this book will show you can't always trust the people at your side. I really enjoyed watching Alex and Hailey fall for each other while trying to hold back because of Sebastian. If you want a different book that you can't put down I would try this one. The author does a fantastic job with the whole thing and it is a magical read.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

February 19, 2013

Focus Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone today we have a stop on the Focus Tour. I have a review of Flight and Focus for you all as well as a giveaway. I would like to thank Alyssa Rose Ivy as well as AToMR tours for letting me be a part of this great tour.

Sometimes you just have to take flight.
A summer in New Orleans is exactly what Allie needs before starting college. Accepting her dad’s invitation to work at his hotel offers an escape from her ex-boyfriend and the chance to spend the summer with her best friend. Meeting a guy is the last thing on her mind—until she sees Levi.
Unable to resist the infuriating yet alluring Levi, Allie finds herself at the center of a supernatural society and forced to decide between following the path she has always trusted or saving a city that might just save her.

My Review
Allie goes to work with her friend at her dad's hotel in New Orleans. It is the summer before she starts college and she wants to have a little fun and get away from an ex boyfriend. She has sworn off boys but that may change when she meets Levi. He tries everything he can to get her to go out, but she keeps resisting. When her friend decides to go home early she begins to hang out more with him and soon has feelings for him. Levi shows her a whole new world when he reveals he is a Pteron. Now she has to deal with learning about a supernatural world. If that wasn't enough she also gets kidnapped when she decides to leave Levi for keeping secrets from her. Secrets that make her a powerful asset in the paranormal world.

Allie is such a great girl to read about. At first I thought she was going to be a stick in the mud but then she really started opening up. Learning their is supernatural creatures around she took pretty good. Watching her fall for Levi was a joy to read because she didn't automatically fall for him. It took time and that was nice. When faced with danger she tried to remain calm use her head. When she was lied to I could see how she would react the way she did. Levi is so yummy. Makes you want a Pteron for your own. At first he seemed so sure of hisself but I think Allie brought him down a notch or two. He does some stupid things in the book that make you want to slap him but you can see he does it because he cares for Allie. There is so many more great characters in this book.

When I started reading this book I never put it down till I was finished and was so glad I had the next one ready to be read. You really get a base for the characters and story line in this book that makes you understand the world you find yourself in. In a world were vampires are a low class of paranormal and the Pteron are the top it is a different but great read. The action really gets going at the end and you don't want it to stop. The romance is a little different than other books but I liked that. The ending will leave you begging for more as you just have to see what Allie is going to do. Be sure to pick this one up as it is a great start to a series.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Title: Focus (Crescent Chronicles, #2)
Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy
Release date: January 23, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Age Group: Mature YA/ New Adult

Freshman year of college is hard even when you're not tied to the future king of a supernatural society.

Allie dives into college head first with Hailey as her roommate and the city of New Orleans as her backyard. As things within The Society heat up, Allie realizes that whether she’s with Levi or not, she's in far too deep to turn back.

My review
Do to some things out of her control Allie goes to college in New Orleans instead of Princeton. She still tries to make the best of it. Hanging with old friends and even making new ones. She has to decide what to do about Levi after he lied and tricked her all the while playing like they are a couple for the supernatural community and his parents. The more she learns about the paranormal the more she realizes she is in danger and must watch her back. Even some old enemies that she wasn't aware raise their head in the second book to this series.She has to sort her feelings for Levi, stay out of danger and get through her freshman year in college.

Allie has changed in this second book some and while at times she could get on my nerves for not making her mind up about Levi she also was great. Even while they aren't together she still is there when he needs her and that shows some strength on her character. Sometimes she doesn't use her head and that puts her in danger but this being a new world you can understand she isn't sure who to trust. Levi is fantastic but sometimes even he can be a bit to controlling. If he would tell Allie what was going on at times you could see they would have worked things out. I still love him either way he is super paranormal hottness. I have to say I want more Jared!! He really came to life for me in this book. You get to understand the characters so much more in this book than you did the first.

Most times the second book is not as good as the first. Occasionally you get one that is better and that is the case for me with Focus. I really liked Flight but Focus blew me out of the water. I read it in one day actually right after I finished Flight and I want more now. This series is becoming one of my favorites. You get to see more of the paranormal world in this book and really get to see how it works. There is lots of betrayal in this book and you never see some of it coming. The ending was a big shock to me it is a great twist. The romance between Allie and Levi is wonderful She doesn't let him off easy for what he did to her but she still cares for him and it shows. I love the chemistry between these two. I tried not to give spoilers so it;s hard to review the book but I will say I love this series and see it only getting better.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

About the Author
Alyssa Rose Ivy is a Young Adult and New Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

Just enter the easy rafflecopter below to enter the giveaway!!

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour. The schedule can be found Here.