June 28, 2013

Dead Living Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Dead Living blog tour. I'm super excited to be a part of this as I love zombie books and this one is a great one!

Dead Living by Glenn Bullion
Publication date: January 7th 2013
by Permuted Press 
Genre: Horror/Zombies

It didn’t take long for the world to die. And it didn’t take long, either, for the dead to rise.

Born on the day everything ended, a world filled with the walking dead is the only one that Aaron knows. Kept in seclusion, his family teaches him the basics. How to read and write. How to survive.

Then Aaron makes a shocking discovery. The undead, who desire nothing but flesh, ignore him. It’s as if he’s invisible to them.

The survivors of the old suburb of Lexington call a high school their home. They live day to day, without any of the luxuries mankind used to enjoy. Samantha is a product of the new world. Alone, cold, looking out only for herself. She and the other residents of Lexington feel their hope dwindling. They need change. They need someone who can face the corpses. They need someone who can live in a city of the dead.

They need Aaron.

My Review
Aaron has always been around the undead. The day he was born is the day they raised up. What was left of his family raised him away from the undead as much as they could. They taught him what it would take to survive, to read and write and all they could. Aaron learns one thing on his own and that is that the undead don't see him. It is like he is one of them. Samantha has never had anyone to she could depend on. Now living  in a high school in Lexington with other survivors she doesn't help anyone for free and tries to stay to her self. After Aaron saves her she sees maybe there is someone she can depend on. She needs him and so do the survivors. The undead isn't the only worry out there as they soon see. Can Aaron save them or will he need saving him self.

I love books about zombies. I can't get enough of them and while most of the time you see the same old thing in them each great book has something that makes it stand out for me. This book is one of the great ones for me. Dead Living's great thing for me is the characters. I felt an immediate attachment to these characters and I wanted to know more and to see what would happen next.  Even before Aaron comes into the story I liked his dad and the survivors from the day it all started. They kick the story off in a way that you connect with them. After Aaron comes along you get to see a boy start turning into a man. He really doesn't have a concept on other people. He just knows the undead because that is what he has known all his life. His ability allows him to be closer to them than anyone else ever has. He knows more about them than anyone. What he doesn't know is how to be around the living. He hasn't really been around them. When he does get around them all he wants to do is help and some of the time he doesn't get what people are really asking of him. I liked Aaron because he seemed like what maybe someone in this situation would actually act like. Samantha is the tough girl who doesn't want to let anyone get close to her. Everyone has always left her behind or tried to use her. It has made her a hard person. Even when she is afraid she still uses her head to try and survive no matter what she has to do.  Aaron changes the way she thinks and while at times she hates that she still slowly begins to open up. These two together are wonderful. I cared about both of them and it only grew as I read. There is lots more people in this book that make it so good to read. Some you care about and some you want to feed to the undead yourself.

Other than the great characters another thing I liked about this story is the small stuff the author added to make it seem like what it would be like if this happened. The young people who are still alive don't really know the things we take for granted now. Television is something they have heard of but never seen. How people show their feelings is another thing in most don't know. They don't get some words we use now like what a crush is or why people would really care about how they look. Most also don't know how to read or write as who has had time to teach them when they are just trying to survive. It's the small things like this that make you realize the author has put some thought to the book and not just written another book about zombies. There is plenty of action know worries there. After all the undead are walking among people and you know there is the bad people who survive and care only for themselves. This is a book about survival and about how one boy's strange ability makes him the person that people need to survive even when they don't understand it. Zombie fans be sure to grab this book and read it. Not a zombie fan? That is fine as well because you still want to read this book it is truly more than another book about the undead.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam


I live in Maryland with my wonderful wife and four cats. I love gaming, computer technology, movies, and of course, reading and writing. I love science fiction and especially horror and the paranormal. Ghosts, vampires, werewolves, zombies, anything supernatural, all beautiful subjects. 

I’ve been writing since I was twelve years old. There’s just something about creating a story that I like. I always try come up with something that hasn’t been done, or is unique in some way. It could be someone with demonic powers, or something much more simple, such as a person that zombies ignore. It’s fun to create a character, give him or her a personality and background, and watch them evolve through a story.

I’ve tried other subjects, but always drift back to horror and paranormal. There’s a reason why we keep going back to horror movies and books, why they’ve made fifty Friday the 13th movies. People like to be scared, but more than that, I think paranormal and horror stir the imagination like nothing else. We’re all just a little nervous to open that closet door at midnight, or look under the bed.



June 27, 2013

Fighting Destiny - Review

Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #1)
by Amelia Hutchins
Have you ever heard of the old Celtic legends of the Fae - beautiful, magical, and deadly creatures that have a love of messing with humans just for kicks and giggles?

Welcome to my world.

What started out as a strange assignment, lead to one of the most gruesome murder mysteries of our times. My friends and I are set and determined to find out who is killing off Fae and Witches alike.

Couple of problems in the way – I hate the Fae and the Prince of the Dark Fae is bound and determined that I work for him. He’s a rude, overbearing egotistical ass with a compulsive need to possess, dominate and control me. Oh – did I mention that he is absolutely sex-on-a-stick gorgeous and he makes me feel things that I never ever wanted to feel for a Fae...every time he touches me or looks at me with those dangerous golden eyes he seems to pull me further in under his spell, despite my better judgment.

My friends and I can’t trust anyone and nothing is as it seems on the surface – not even me.

My Review
Syn hates the Fae and everything about them. She has since she was a child. Now as an adult and one of the most powerful Witches around she is told by the Guild her new assignment is to do what the prince of the Fae ask. What he ask is for her to play a decoy of his fiance till they figure out who is killing Witches and Fae. This is a job Syn does not want to do. She has no problem hunting a killer but being around Fae is another thing. Especially a Fae who set her blood on fire even when he isn't playing mind games. Ryder is used to women doing what he says and used to them falling for his mind tricks. Syn has the power to not fall completely under his spell and he is very intrigued. He also wants Syn very much. Things are starting to get real dangerous and a killer is just half the danger.

Syn trust no one but her coven. Her two friends are all she has. She is very powerful and can do things most itches can't. She isn't afraid to fight anyone and tries her best to keep her sex drive under control. She hates the Fae but Ryder gets under her skin in a way no one else ever has. Ryder is one powerful Fae who has many secrets, most are secrets we haven't even learned yet. He can be a jerk but you can tell he has a soft spot for Syn even when he tries to hide it. This is one Fae I wouldn't mind Fae fff-- well lets just say I wouldn't mind him messing with my mind any time. Even if he has his bad traits I wouldn't kick him out of bed.

I didn't like this book much. I freaking loved it!!! The plot is a great one and has lots of action. As they hunt for a killer you keep trying to guess as who it is and what they are going to do next. Like Syn I was having trouble on knowing who to trust. There was also plenty of twist and turns I did not see coming. Secrets come out but I know there is much more to come. The other part other than the fighting that I loved is the other action between Syn and Ryder. There is so much sexual frustration between these two it frustrates you as well. I will say I even said out loud Come on and do it!! It is definitely worth the read as this is one hot, sexy action packed book. If you love sexy books with amazing characters pick this book up.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

June 24, 2013

Short interview with Chloe Neill & Biting Bad ARC giveaway

Hi Everyone! We are thrilled to have Chloe Neill with us on the blog today. We have a short interview with her and she is giving away an ARC copy of Biting Bad & swag to one lucky winner. Now for the interview.

How many books will be in this series?
There are currently ten books under contract. I'm not certain how many will ultimately be written or published; it depends on sales, Penguin's interest in continuing the series, and if Merit and the other characters can continue to grow and develop.

Do any of your books stand out as your favorite?
Although it was controversial, I'm very proud of Hard Bitten

 Will Ethan and Merit ever marry? Can you give us any secrets about the next book?
Sorry! I have a strict no-spolier policy. :) 

Why do the eyes of your vampires turn silver when they are hungry or aroused?
That's just part of vampires' unique biology, in the same way that their fangs descend under similar circumstances.

Why are the shifters so secretive about what they shift into?
Because it's a very personal matter to them, in the same way that most women would never publicly announce their weight or pant size. :)

 What was the first book you remember reading?
The Little House on the Prairie novels by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Chloe Neill's links

For your chance to win an ARC of Biting Bad simply comment below telling us if you have read any books in this series! Don't forget to leave a way for us to contact you if you win! Be sure to give Chloe a like on FB as well. We would like to thank Chloe for being with us and the great giveaway!

June 21, 2013

Weather Witch Blog Tour - Interview with Shannon Delany & Giveaway

Hi everyone! Today we have a stop on the Weather Witch blog tour. This book sounds wonderful! I have an interview with the author Shannon Delany, info on the book and two giveaways for you to enter.

In a vastly different and darker Philadelphia of 1844, steam power has been repressed, war threatens from deep, dark waters, and one young lady of high social standing is expecting a surprise at her seventeenth birthday party–but certainly not the one she gets!

Jordan Astraea, who has lived out all of her life in Philadelphia’s most exclusive neighborhood, is preparing to celebrate her birthday with friends, family and all the extravagance they might muster. The young man who is most often her dashing companion, Rowen Burchette, has told her a surprise awaits her and her best friend, Catrina Hollindale, wouldn’t miss this night for all the world!

But storm clouds are gathering and threatening to do far more than dampen her party plans because someone in the Astraea household has committed the greatest of social sins by Harboring a Weather Witch.

Where did the inspiration for Weather Witch come from?
Weather Witch came about in part because of my love of storms, ships and history.

Which character would you want by your side in a battle?
I need to answer this as if I've only written one of the books so far... My answer changes by book 3! I'll say Jonathan. If he's good enough for Rowen to take on an illegal adventure, he's good enough for me!

 How is this book different from others in this genre?
In short, it's not really steampunk as much as stormpunk. Steam is repressed and storm power is the way things get done.

 Can you describe this book in just 10 words?
A gritty and dangerous story with a revolutionary heart.

How do you balance writing, with family time, farming and your music love? 
Oh, I'm an unbalanced hot mess, truth be told! I just try to prioritize. Deadlines mean writing takes priority, but school or my son's sports' games or the birth of lambs or planting or harvest take their turns, too. My love of music is backburnered right now--there's just no time to get out with the girls and discover cool new acts (but that will change, too!).

 How long did it take to write Weather Witch?
It took me about 2 months from start to finish, I think. I only keep track during the process and merrily forget the exact timing afterwards.

 Anything you wish to say to your readers? 
Just to keep an open mind when it comes to this series. Yes, it's different--that's the idea. Life would be horrendously dull if writers only delivered the same type of books they were originally contracted for. And remember that I love my characters and aim to leave them better off than when I found them.

What is the first book you remember reading?
I'm sure it was something by Seuss--or The Giving Tree--or Ferdinand...but I really remember reading The Velveteen Rabbit first. It was powerful.

Author Bio
Shannon Delany has been writing fiction since she was a child. Inspired by a teacher in 4th grade and the creative endeavors of her parents, she was frequently encouraged to find her voice. First published in 8th grade in a short story anthology, she caught the writing bug for good and used her teen friends as beta readers but it wasn't until after being a middle school teacher that she pursued writing seriously. She freelanced for magazines and newspapers and then won the first-ever cell phone novel contest in the western world with 13 TO LIFE. An agent and a press release followed quickly and she was snapped up by St. Martin's Press where she has happily remained through 5 novels in the 13 TO LIFE series and three novels in the WEATHER WITCH series. She also contributes to charity anthologies, has a small heritage farm and a blog talk radio show called BOOKED! with Shannon Delany.

For your chance to win a signed mini poster, a signed postcard plus more story related goodies simply comment below and let us know if you have ever read steampunk or in this case storm punk. Leave a way for us to contact you in case you win!!

For the tour wide giveaway simply enter the easy rafflecopter below for these great prizes!!

a signed copy of Weather Witch
a Weather Witch coffee mug with special goodies (all connected to the story)
signed copies of 13 to Life and Secrets and Shadows
a handcrafted mask
a special metal and crystal bookmark
a mini top hat
a silhouette of their own profile cut and matted by me (it'll take a few weeks after getting their profile before I can get it to them, of course).

Gameboard of the Gods - Review

Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1)
by Richelle Mead
In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.

When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger. As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.

My Review
Religious extremists nearly destroyed the world and now things have changed. Justin March was exiled after being a investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. He misses the comforts of his old life and wants to go back. He gets that chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA. He can come back and go to work but he has a time limit and he has to work with Mae. Mae is a Praetorian or super soldier. They have to work together to solve the mystery of who is behind the cult- based murders and stop them before their own lives end up in danger. The answer they are seeking may be closer than they know.

Mae is hard for me to get to like. Things I do like about her are she is smart and strong. She pretty much has to depend on herself and she gets nothing from her family but grief. You really only get to see a lighter side of her a few times when she meets some friends and a few times with Justin. What I didn't like is she really for me had no personality. She was just going through the motions most of the time. Justin can seem like a jerk that is only out for him self but he does have a few good qualities that I did like. He does try to help some people as you will see. He is smart and really looks for details and tries not to leave any stone untouched. As for these two I like Justin the best.

This is a book that I think can go either way for people. I did like it but I didn't love it by far. It took me a while to read it because I just could not get into it. I couldn't connect with the characters or the plot. It has it's moments were things are moving along great and you get lots of action and at other times it just slows down. Sometimes I had to back read just to see if I was getting things wrong and most of the time I was getting confused on things. The ending is good as things start to fall into place and you really get to see just what is going on. Besides the ending I really enjoy few scenes in this book. A funeral scene was great and I know that sounds bad but if you read it you will see. I think it was one of the few parts with Mae I did like. If you like to take your time slowly reading a book and seeing things in a new light you may give this one a try. I hope the next book in this series is great and this one was just slow just to world building.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Ink - Review

Ink (Paper Gods #1)
by Amanda Sun
I looked down at the paper, still touching the tip of my shoe. I reached for it, flipping the page over to look.

Scrawls of ink outlined a drawing of a girl lying on a bench.

A sick feeling started to twist in my stomach, like motion sickness.

And then the girl in the drawing turned her head, and her inky eyes glared straight into mine.

On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they'll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive.

My Review
Katie has to move to Japan after to the only family she has left. She knows many words in the language, customs leave her baffled and she is having a hard time adjusting. While she is trying to adjust to her new place, go to school and make friends she meets Tomohiro. He seems like a jerk and likes to be left alone but Katie sees drawings begin to move when he is near. She fights to learn more about who he is and why strange things happen around him. She soon learns he has special abilities and she seems to have a tie to them as well. Bad people will use them for their own gain if they find out so the two must hide all the while Katie is still adjusting to Japan.

Katie has suffered loss and it has left it's mark on her. She is smart but at times she runs right into trouble without thinking. Tomohiro is the bad boy everyone warns you about.. You know you should stay away but you can't help be drawn to him. He is smart and even if you can't tell it he does what he can to keep people safe. If people think he is a jerk that is just that much better for him as it's less people to get close to him or hurt. I din't like him much at first but he grew on me some.

As soon as I heard about this book I wanted to read it. It sounded so much different than the usual books out right now. It is different as I have never read anything like it. I love the ability Tomohiro has and enjoyed seeing what he could do. The setting is beautiful and you get to see different parts of Japan and you can visualize in your head the places Katie goes to. The author does a wonderful job writing this book as you can see what is going on in your head. It has several action scenes to keep you entertained whether it is school kendo scenes or someone after Katie and Tomohiro. You get to see some Japenese mythology as Katie learns more about her new surroundings and looks for clues. I like the first part of this book and the ending as well. For some reason the middle just fell a little flat for me and I had a hard time continuing the book. I am glad I did as the ending was very good. 

I like the cover and think once you read the book you will see it suits the book very well.

I received this book from NetGalley for an Honest review.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

June 18, 2013

Fall For Me Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Fall For Me Tour. There is a review of both books Fall For Me and Sacrifice and a giveaway for you all.

Fall For Me by K.A. Last 
Series: The Tate Chronicles #1 
Publication date: January 17th 2013 
Genre: YA Paranormal/Fantasy

“Angels aren’t supposed to fall in love, especially with each other. But for the record, you were worth it.”

Grace Tate is a Protection Angel and Vampire Hunter, and she has always followed the rules. But some rules are made to be broken…

Until now the fight against evil has been simple, and falling in love was never part of the plan. So what happens when it’s beyond Grace’s control, and when she least expects it she falls for the wrong person?

All hell breaks loose, that’s what.

At Hopetown Valley High, not everything is as it seems, and the one person Grace thought was her enemy becomes her most important ally.

Blood will be shed, lives will be lost and friendships will be tested. It all comes down to one decision, and when Grace tries to save all those dear to her, she realises not everyone can be—or wants to be—saved.

My Review
Grace only wants to do her job as a protective angel and vampire hunter. It has been what she has done for more years than anyone knows. She begins to question the rules that keep her from becoming a fallen angel after she meets a boy she likes more than she should and a vampire who is different from the others.  She has her hands full trying to do what is right even when it goes against what she is told to do. The time has come to make some hard decisions and someone from the past just may have the answers she needs but she will have to learn to trust them first.

Grace is a wonderful character. A angel vampire hunter and she is good at what she does. She is a very protective being who does what she believes deep down is right. She is also very torn in some big decisions she has to make. I didn't agree with all she does in this book but I still like her.

From the start you can see this is going to be a special book that you have to keep reading till you finish. The plot is a great one that combines humans, vampires, angels, fallen angels and more. You really get attached to the characters and can't help but see what happens to them next or what they will do. Several things happen in this book that you won't see coming but they do break your heart. In the end you are wondering just what is Grace going to do now and what other secrets have yet to be revealed. There is plenty of action and mystery in this book and I would recommend it to all paranormal lovers. I'm being vague in my review but I won't spoil this book for anyone. Trust me you need to read it. I can't wait for more.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Sacrifice - A Fall For Me Prequel by K.A. Last 
Series: The Tate Chronicles #0.5
Publication date: May 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal/Fantasy

Sacrifice is a 23,000 word prequel to Fall For Me. It tells the story of Grace and Seth, and what happened in that castle. It is meant to be read after Fall For Me, although it can be read first...

Seth’s heart is breaking. He knows his decision will hurt the one person he keeps breathing for, but he can’t take it anymore. He can’t be near Grace knowing she will always be just out of reach.

Grace is oblivious to Seth’s turmoil. She loves him unconditionally, but not in the way he wants. They both know that in Heaven physical love is forbidden, and to break the rules is to defy everything they’ve ever been taught.

When Grace and Seth are sent on a mission to save a young mother and her unborn child, Grace must face the fact that Seth won’t be returning home. She doesn’t understand Seth’s decision and hates him for it. But what neither of them realise is how big a part that single decision will play in shaping their entire future.

What would you sacrifice for the one you love?

My Review
I had many questions I wondered about when I finished Fall For Me and Sacrifice answered some of them. You get to see Seth make his hard decision and just what made him do it. You see what kind of person he was before and it made me like him a little more than I did. I would recommend you read Fall For Me first I think I enjoyed this book more in doing so. It made me rethink some of my thoughts about Fall For Me in a good way. You get to see how it all started and how Grace and Seth have many ties to the past and how Grace became a protective angel and hunter.  It was meant to be a short quick read and that is what it is. My only fault for it is I still want more so that is a good thing. I liked getting more of a background on this thrilling world the author created. This book has some heartbreak in it so be prepared o fell many things.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Buy Link:

K. A. Last was born in Subiaco, Western Australia, and moved to Sydney with her parents and older brother when she was eight. Artistic and creative by nature, she studied Graphic Design and graduated with an Advanced Diploma. After marrying her high school sweetheart, she concentrated on her career before settling into family life. Blessed with a vivid imagination, she began writing to let off creative steam, and fell in love with it. She now resides in a peaceful leafy suburb north of Sydney with her husband, their two children and a rabbit named Twitch.



June 15, 2013

Interview with Nathan Squiers, Cover Reveal & more

Hey everyone! We are excited to bring you an interview with Nathan Squiers, a cover reveal for his new book and some excerpts. First of all we would like to wish Nathan a very Happy Birthday! We will start off with the interview with Nathan.

Can you give us a background on your book(s)?
The Crimson Shadow series is centered on the character Xander Stryker, a magically-inclined young man who witnessed the horrific assault and murder of his mother at the hands of his abusive stepfather. Since the tragedy, Xander’s been suicidal and bitter to both the world and himself. However, as his eighteenth birthday approaches, he begins to witness and experience unnerving and ever-more-violent attempts on his life. At the height of the insanity, Xander is saved by a duo of vampires—two different breeds of life-feeders with personal ties to his late father, Joseph Stryker—and introduced to the Odin Clan, a vampire group dedicated to upholding the laws of their kind. Xander soon discovers his biologic ties to this paranormal world, and is offered the choice to join them.

As the story (and the series) progresses, Xander—now a “perfect” vampire and having the strengths/abilities of both types of species and armed with killer instincts, a fierce attitude, and a wicked pair of enchanted revolvers—faces the unrelenting and deadly forces of his new world. Filled with action, suspense, horror, and a budding romance between Xander and his childhood friend/witch, Estella, the Crimson Shadow series takes everything that I (as a horror-loving & hopeless romantic comic book nerd) am entertained by.

What are some similarities you share with your characters?
This may sound a little strange, but Xander Stryker and I have the same eyes (or it at least started off that way)…

When I first conceived of Xander and his story I was also suicidal, but, through writing of his growth and discovery of strength, I found my own. By the time I’d finished the manuscript for “Noir”, the first book of the Crimson Shadow series, I had overcome my self-destructive ways and dedicated my life to entertaining and helping others find their own strength (where Xander, y’know, dedicated his to hunting monsters and violently ending their reign of evil).

Because Xander originally represented a piece of myself and I’ve always believed that the eyes were the window to the soul, I wanted to maintain that connection by giving him hazel eyes like my own. Later on in the story, as his strength blossoms and he takes the first step to being what I, at the time of writing it, believed I could never be, one of his eyes is turned blood-red (what was supposed to be a symbol of “separating” from the human/weakness element; this was later re-focused as a conflict of self).

Past that, however, I’m hard-pressed to think of any substantial similarities that don’t make me feel like I’m either speaking highly of myself or insulting Xander lol

What makes your book(s) different from others in this genre?
To be honest (and bear with me on this one): everything.

I’ve grown up reading books of varying genres that the Crimson Shadow series and my other work could feasibly fall under (fantasy, urban fantasy, horror, psycho-thriller, action, romance, etc.), and I think that what separates my books from others like it is that it doesn’t easily fit in ANY of those genres. Also, aside from being a total hybrid of multiple genres, I’ve come to incorporate a great deal of my studies in psychology and philosophy to create characters who, while very rarely human, have conflicts and compulsions that I believe everyone can relate to. Coupled with my love of film and comic books and my obsession with playing with elements of both (a technique that’s been referred to as “cinematic literacy”; a writing style that allows readers to “watch” the story unfold), and you’ve got a series that isn’t like anything else in any genre ;-)

What is your writing schedule like?
Chaotic and wild. Between a nearly entirely nocturnal sleep pattern and spontaneous bouts of manic inspiration and technical scheduling, there’s no real rhyme or reason to my schedule. To put it simply: I just write; always and often.

What do you do when you’re not writing?
I read books & comics/manga. I watch movies/anime. I play video games & roleplay. I get tattooed & pierced. I spend time loving & worshiping my fiancé-and-fellow-author, Megan J. Parker.

I live <3

What is your favorite paranormal creature?
Pure and simple—vampires: one of the oldest, most globally-recognized and compelling creatures in mythology. No matter what time period or culture, there has always been a legend floating about of a life-feeding being that has struck awe and terror into the hearts of countless mortals. Though the sex-appeal is a relatively recent addition to the vampire lore (they weren’t always as gorgeous as they’re depicted now), I have to confess that the idea of them being hotties is in no way a deterrent to my adoration of them.

If you could live in a different time period what would it be?
Totally the Renaissance. I love art and beauty and philosophy and the study of newer & greater things and no time period in history better represents all of those things than the Renaissance. To live in that time—to be amongst great minds and scribing to my heart’s content without any of the hiccups of the modern world—would be totally awesome.

Anything you wish to say to your readers?
I adore my readers more than anything, and I’ve never felt comfortable calling them “fans” when they’re the reason I’m able to do what I love (if anything I’m their fan). It’s for this reason that I call all of my followers members of The Legion of The Literary Dark Emperor, and I adore The Legion more than I could ever hope to express in a thousand lifetimes. To be blessed with all of these phenomenal and passionate minds willing to let me into their lives and offer me the chance to entertain them, all I can ever think to say to them when given the chance is “thank you”.

You all rock my world <3

What are you working on now?
Along with the ongoing Crimson Shadow series, I’m also working on the sequel to the multi-award winning “Curtain Call: A Death Metal Novel” and several comic book series that I’ve been scripting (including “Night Tide: Chronicles of a Vampire Vigilante”, which features a “ninja”-vampire, Tekashi, in the same world/universe as the Crimson Shadow series [look for Tekashi in future books of the Crimson Shadow series ;-) ]).

Recently I partnered up with Megan J. Parker and Kristina Gehring (quite possibly one of the BEST literary editors I have ever had the pleasure of working with) to start up Tiger Dynasty Publishing, an all-encompassing publisher that supports all genres (including [but not limited to] YA, poetry, non-fiction, and comic books). It is through TDP that I’ll be re-releasing and continuing the Crimson Shadow and Death Metal books as well as working with incredibly talented authors in an ongoing effort to provide quality entertainment to readers.

What is the first book you remember reading?
Oh wow… uhm…

While I know this isn’t the first book I ever read, I distinctly remember spending almost every moment of my childhood toting a copy of either/or R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps or K.A. Applegate’s Animorph series.

Here is the cover for Noir

Here are some excerpts from the book.

“I need you to promise me that you won’t die,” [Estella] blushed and looked up at him, “or, at least, not again.” She walked towards him then and grabbed his left hand and ran her thumb over the stainless steel ring she had given him.

The burning scorched his brain, shooting down his spine and seizing his entire body. It boiled his skin and melted his insides and he felt himself fall into an empty, dark place with nothing but himself and his newfound torment. . . 
And the gleaming red eye. 

“If there’s anything you’ve taught me”—he spoke slowly and deliberately—“it’s that there is always one more thing to live for.”

Another night. . . Another chance to finally die.

He sees her necklace; sees her ghostly silhouette coming into focus— struggling to fit itself with its jewelry—and reaching out to him in desperation. Sound dulls and time slows and Xander hears the metallic snap as the necklace is torn from its rightful owner’s neck. 
It echoes. . . 
The sound ripples the scene and the image distorts before it explodes…

Now for the cover of Sins of the Father!

And here are some excerpts from Sins of the Father

 [“Why kill the ghoul?” Xander asked.] 
Marcus looked at him for a moment, seemingly disappointed in the question, “You mean aside from it being what it was?” he shook his head before continuing: “I traced it for nearly a mile while it ranted like a street-nut about a ‘mean feeder’ that rolled with ‘white-tooths’ and ‘tall dogs’.”
Xander suppressed the urge to add “oh my” to the end of that statement and, instead, nodded. It couldn’t have been coincidence that the ghoul was mentioning both vampires and alvs and therions.

 “And, even after so many years of being out of your light—without that intoxicating joy of yours—you made me want to live again!”

Estella frowned, “But you’re different! You’re not evil! Not like the others!” she sighed and shook her head, “And you know that I don’t like you talking about yourself that way!” her angry stare melted after a moment and became a reassuring smile. “I like you”—her aura shifted and went rigid as her gaze hardened on him—“no matter what you are!”
Xander laughed, “No accounting for taste, I suppose.” He teased her. “Besides, you’re a witch! You’re opinion in this matter is a little biased, don’t you think?”

 Her lips were Heaven because he’d waited so damn long for them and Hell because he knew that it wouldn’t last forever.

 “…you’d never see me as anything more than a monster.”

We would like to thank Nathan for being with us today and sharing with us.

June 14, 2013

Cover Reveal for The Last Night

Hi everyone! I am excited to share with you the cover for The Last Night! It looks and sounds really good. Now on to the cover!

June 07, 2013

PODs - Review

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it's in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it's a balm for the broken soul. 

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That's the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating... monsters. 

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life--a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

My Review
Eva wins the lottery to get the chance to live in a POD. There is a deadly virus going round that will probably kill all man kind. The select ones who win the lottery and live in the PODs will live in containment with others until it is deemed safe for them to go above the ground. Eva has to leave behind her family for the chance to live. Below ground even though she fights it she is drawn to David. They fall in love and hope for the best. However when they are told it's clear to go above ground they are separated. The government has assigned people to different place and they have to part ways. Trying to move on is harder than Eva figured it would be. What Eva doesn't know is she has been lied to. Not everyone died due to the virus. It mutated and changed people. Now the survivors are in more danger. Eva ha to find David and find a way to survive the infected. The PODs may be their only hope. They have to fight to survive and wait on the cure to truly be able to live.

Eva is strong even if she doesn't know it. She is just a teen when she has to leave everything behind and go to a new place. She is depressed and has a lot going on around her but tries her best to make the best of things. There is always danger around her even under ground when she has to worry they may be taken out if someone becomes a carrier of the virus. She doesn't give her heart away easily and takes her time. When faced with infected she doesn't back down and wants to help fight them. David is sweet. He wants to protect Eva and I think if he could he would put her in a plastic bubble to protect her. He is smart and will let nothing stand in his way of getting to Eva. There is many other characters in this book. Some of them I liked some I could not stand. I'm sure if you read the book you will see who is who.

I really enjoyed this book. It has a great plot and lot's of action. You never really know what is going to happen next and you can't help but fall for some of these people. I could not help but be very emotional several times while reading this book. I felt so sorry for some of the characters as they were separated from their love ones.The infected are a nice touch as they are pretty much zombies. They move quickly and are smart in lots of ways. This is a great book that kept me turning the pages to see what will happen next.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

June 06, 2013

Into the Magic Tour - Review, Excerpt & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Into the Magic Blog Tour. There is a review of the book, an excerpt and a giveaway for you all.

Naomi Bellina

Star Lite exercises her emerging magical talents to search for Adam, the seductive stranger who captivated her heart during an extraordinary adventure. Her every sense tells her they are meant to be together, yet he has disappeared. Certain he's in danger, she tracks him down and they meet in Las Vegas, where emotions flare and flames ignite. But Adam must complete a mysterious mission and sends her away. She uses the time waiting for Adam to study with Tristan, a passionate magician with secrets of his own. As Star’s powers are unlocked, she questions the rulings of the authoritarians who control magic. Against Tristan and Adam’s warnings, a premonition moves her to go back to Vegas. There, a new facet of her power puts her life in peril. For protection, Tristan, Adam and Star engage in a sizzling ménage ritual. Join Star as she opens her heart and soul to love, and continues her journey into the magic.

My  Review
Star can tell Adam needs her. Using her newfound powers she tracks him down in Las Vegas. Knowing he has a dangerous mission he sends her home but not before a night of wonderful sex. Back home Star works on learning more about her powers with the help of Tristan. Tristan is very sexy and secrets he won't reveal. When Star senses Adam is in trouble again she rushes to save him. In doing so she brings herself into the eye of the magical authority. As much as her powers have grown when they arrive back she finds that  having both Adam and Tristan in her bed for a sexy magical ritual may be the only thing that can save her.

This book starts off sizzling hot so you know right away what you are getting in to. The characters are all very sexy and intriguing. Star at times can rush into things and hasn't got her powers under control yet. Adam likes to try and do things without help and solve his own problems. Tristan is very sexy, powerful and can seem cocky at times. Whether they are together in scenes or by themselves they each keep your attention. This is a quick read as I tore right through it. Great sex scenes and a good plot keep you entertained. Recommended to anyone who likes a steamy book with magically people. This is not the first book in the series but can be read alone or at least I did.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

“Are you sure I shouldn’t stay one more day?” she called from behind the door. “If you give me directions, I can do magic. Remember, on Porrima? We did pretty well, together.” 

“No, I’ll worry about you and you’ll distract me.”

“I won’t distract you, I promise.”

Star came out of the bathroom wearing a short, see-through robe. Her bedtime garments usually consisted of old T-shirts purchased from the thrift store, which she wore until they had too many holes. For this trip, she’d splurged on this barely there wisp of lingerie. The short style flattered her figure, showing off her legs and hinting at more beneath. Star loved the way the chiffon caressed her skin. Her nipples hardened as the fabric slid over them.

Adam stopped his movements and stared at her. Star gracefully twirled, giving him a full-body view, and she watched his eyes darken and a slow heat flare in them. She suddenly ached for his touch.

“It’s new. Do you like it?”

“I like it very much. I like what’s in it even more. See? You’re already distracting me. Here’s my credit card. Call the airline.”

Star snatched the card from his hand and flounced away, but smiled as soon as her back was turned. He was weakening, she could sense it. He wanted her just as much as she wanted him, perhaps more. His eyes smouldered with lust that demanded to be satisfied. 

While she held the phone and waited on hold, she watched Adam set up protection spells. He walked like a panther around her room, graceful and lithe.

Naomi lives in beautiful sunny Florida with the love of her life and a magical calico cat. She writes for various fiction and non-fiction markets, but finds she is drawn to erotic romance because her characters insist on canoodling and falling madly in love. So she lets them. Occasionally, however, they go to dark and strange places. She lets them do this also. Most of her stories will surprise readers with unexpected twists and turns, because isn't that what makes life exciting? 

Her interests include dancing, hula-hooping, drumming, and creating healthy meals. She takes the opportunity to play, have fun, and indulge in the pursuit of passion whenever possible. She hopes you enjoy her stories and would love to hear from you at naomibellina(at)live(dot)com. Visit her website at http://www.naomibellina.com/ and chat on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/NaomiBellinaAuthor

Her motto: Never pass up the opportunity to have an adventure!
Naomi Bellina 
Adventurous erotic romance to tickle your fancy and unleash your libido

Buy links for Into the Magic

Naomi will be awarding the winner's choice of any back list Ebook and a fabulous hand made bookmark/magnet goodie pack to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour (US and Canada only please for the goodie pack. International winners can choose a second ebook from her backlist). Be sure to comment below with your email and be sure to follow the tour.

June 04, 2013

Skin Deep Cover Reveal & Giveaway

Title:  Skin Deep
Author:  Megan D. Martin
Series:  #1 of The Eternal Forces
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance
Publisher:  Dragonfairy Press
Expected Release Date:   Fall 2013

What would you do to have the body of your dreams?

Kiera hates being overweight and hides behind thick layers of clothing. One night, her friends present an opportunity that seems impossible to believe. With a single spell, she can have the thin physique she's always coveted.

But all magic comes with a price: no sex or she'll revert back to her old body. Kiera accepts the cost. It's not like she has men lined up at her door. Obeying this one tiny rule isn't difficult at all—until the night she meets Cain, a were-tiger and a soldier with the Eternal Forces.

When a slew of unexplained murders forces Kiera and Cain together, they'll have to face the horrors of their pasts. Will Kiera realize she is worth more than her outward appearance? Or will she make the wrong the choice and lose everything—including her life?

About the Author
Megan D. Martin is a multi-published author, mother, student and editor. In her spare time she enjoys decorating her house with strange things that do not match, playing her old school Nintendo Entertainment System, and buying fish for her many fish tanks.
You can find Megan on pretty much every social networking site that exists.

Vine: Meeegann
Giveaway Info
$15 Amazon GC

June 01, 2013

Inheritance Blog Tour - Interview & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Inheritance tour. We have an interview, info on the book and a giveaway for you all.

“Talk about hell on earth…”
Sekhmet’s life was pretty good; you know for a goddess. Her job was simple – kill those that sought to go against the creator. It was a job she was good at but unfortunately got a little too carried away with when she almost single handedly wiped out mankind. For her penance she has spent the last thousand years serving as one of the Guardians; a group of immortals that protect mankind and led by the Goddess Isis – who kind of had her own anger issues.

The Azura, a league of immortal bad asses, are literally trying to bring hell on earth and with it, Set – the banished God and ruler of the Makhaut. For the first time in history and with the help of the Makhaut, they may actually pull it off. Even the Guardians are at a loss.

In the Hail Mary of all attempts to save the world Isis, now going by Isira, sends Sekhmet to New Orleans, to find and protect the “Key” but when it is determined that a traitor lies among the Guardians, Sekhmet, now going by the name of Syn, is forced to seek help in the most unlikely of places…her least favorite person and fellow Guardian…Malachi.

Can you give us a background for Inheritance?
Well as with all the EPIC books, the battle for the end of the world is near (isn’t it always?). The problem is, the same people who can save it tend to also have the power to destroy it. One of the characters almost ended mankind single handedly by mistake and now she is protecting the very thing that could unleash hell on earth. In Inheritance we introduce the first set of main characters and provide you with background for the story and upcoming struggle. There is a lot of action (as could only be expected) and a lot of twists and turns. This sort of story could only be written to take place in major paranormal settings like London and New Orleans.

Where did you get the idea for this book?
The concept for Inheritance has sort of always been there. I have always been a lover of Egyptian mythology and kick ass lead women. The fact that Egyptian Mythology is based on actual Egyptian history and real people (and things like funeral rites) fascinated me and I started thinking “What if all of these people from history were alive today?”

How is it different from others in this genre?
Inheritance is not just Fiction, it’s MYTHIC Fiction. Mythic Fiction is based on mythology, legend, or folklore. The genre is Contemporary Urban/Historical Fantasy. It takes the mythology/legend/folklore and retells or replants it in modern times and an urban setting (city). Inheritance isn’t a book about vampires and werewolves. Its different in that it takes elements of all supernatural beings and weave them together in one world. It’s a world that everyone can relate to. Philosophy Theorist can even compare the world built to the separation of classes and politics in the real world. None of this was planned exactly but when my goal to show how every myth/folklore builds and feeds off of each other came to fruition like I wanted it to, it just kind of made sense. As the series goes on you will get to see that more. For example, book two has a lot of Arthurian legend in it.

Do you have a favorite Quote from your book?
I have several. I like witty banter and quips. From her conflict with Malachi to her Buffy-esque snarks, I like them all but I would probably say my favorite is when (and I cant say it completely without giving it away) Syn see’s something in the light on another character she says, “Holy mother of Edward Cullen.” 

Are any of the characters like you?
Not one. Well, I take that back. I like to think that we all (women) have a little bit of Syn in us and can kick ass if we need to. Now in book 2 there is a character that I have been told has my charming personality ;)

What do you do when your not writing?
I don’t know. I haven’t come across that time yet. Im just joking. I am a full time Mental Health Therapist by trade and a mom, but non work related I pretty much read. That’s the only escape I have and even then I end up having the plot for a new book or section that pops into my head.

What is your favorite paranormal creature?
Vampires naturally however the “Mimic” is rapidly gaining.

What is the first book you remember reading?
Post childhood (Bearstein Bears, etc.) I would have to say the first chapter book would be The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe…or was it the Boxcar Children? Gosh you are making me show my age.

Anything you wish to say to the readers?
There is only one thing I always HAVE to say to the readers and that is THANK YOU. 

We want to thank you for the chance to be a part of your tour.
Well, you are welcome and THANK YOU so much for the support. You guys are fantastic! Keep up the good work!

Writer and lover of all things dark and mysterious. Most of her stories have a background in Egyptian Mythology with a modern day adaptation and unique twist.

S.K. Whiteside is a Mythic Fiction writer of Contemporary Urban & Historical Fantasy. As a full time Mental Health Therapist, she started writing in Academia but decided writing about things on the "other side of the veil" was a lot more interesting. Living in the Paranormal capital of the world makes it fairly easy for her to come up with characters, many of which are based on of real personas in her life that she can't help but carry over into her writing.

Twitter: @SKWhiteside
Now for the giveaway. We are giving away an awesome tshirt to one of you all. Simply comment below with some way to contact you in case you are the winner.

Here is a picture of some other great prizes being offered in this tour.

Be sure to check out these other great books by S.K. Whiteside