August 29, 2013

The Humans - Review

The Humans by Matt Haig

Blurb
“I was not Professor Andrew Martin. That is the first thing I should say. He was just a role. A disguise. Someone I needed to be in order to complete a task.”

The narrator of this tale is no ordinary human—in fact, he’s not human at all. Before he was sent away from the distant planet he calls home, precision and perfection governed his life. He lived in a utopian society where mathematics transformed a people, creating limitless knowledge and immortality.

But all of this is suddenly threatened when an earthly being opens the doorway to the same technology that the alien planet possesses. Cambridge University professor Andrew Martin cracks the Reimann Hypothesis and unknowingly puts himself and his family in grave danger when the narrator is sent to Earth to erase all evidence of the solution and kill anyone who has seen the proof. The only catch: the alien has no idea what he’s up against.

Disgusted by the excess of disease, violence, and family strife he encounters, the narrator struggles to pass undetected long enough to gain access to Andrew’s research. But in picking up the pieces of the professor’s shattered personal life, the narrator sees hope and redemption in the humans’ imperfections and begins to question the very mission that brought him there.

My Review
An Alien is sent to Earth to take the place of Andrew Martin a professor that has solved Riemann's hypothesis. It seems like no big thing to humans but to the aliens they know it is the first step in humans discovering their world and about them. The alien has to find the answer and destroy it. He knows all about humans how they have let war, disease and more ruin their lives. What he learns is there is so much more to these humans and what it is like to be one.

The author has written this book in a way that gives it a spin unlike other books you may read. The alien who is a clone for Andrew Martin is detailing you what he is going through on his search. He has to act human to find where the professor has put the answer. You get to see what we would look and act like to an alien. He has several hard times as he doesn't understand us as you see from the start he provides a few laughs as he gets to understand what we are. He learns to bond with Andrew's teenage son and wife and in a way fixes personnel problems the professor has. This book isn't the usual alien book but one that you will either love or hate. I really enjoyed it as the author has a wonderful way with words.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

The Feed - Review

The Feed by C.M. Stunich
Blurb
"The fate of an entire people rests on my shoulders. I am heir to a dying throne, daughter of a dead city. I have made hard choices to get this far … ”


Mermaids have never been scarier …


The Feed is upon me and my destiny is laid out before me like a map. There are no detours, no hidden whirlpools that descend into the unknown. Everything I do must be carefully planned or else my choices could come crashing down around me. To change the hearts of my people, I must find the courage to surpass their expectations, to defy tradition and forge my own destiny.


This is it, my last chance at redemption


The Huntswomen, sirens of the sea, have one real purpose in life: on their sixteenth birthdays, they must travel ashore and find a human male, mate with him, and consume his flesh. Only then can they return to the sea and become the last bastion against the violet ocean, warriors for their weaker brethren, the fishtailed merighean.


Natalie is the heir to the throne of the last merighean city still standing, but there's something about the Feed that doesn't sit right with her. When she meets Seth, the man with the strange tattoos, she knows that she must forge her own destiny, even if it means breaking the rules and risking her mother's wrath. Because sometimes, to choose your own path, you must make hard choices.


My Review
Natalie is to become queen of the last merighean city left standing. All she has to do is on her sixteenth birthday is go with the others Huntswoman and Feed. There is several problems with that. One is she doesn't like the Feed and wants to change it when she becomes queen. Two is the queen her mother doesn't like her and does what she can to hurt her at every chance. The third is she grows to care for Seth, the one she has to mate with and feed on. She doesn't know what to do and she can't follow her heart. 

This is an interesting and different take on mermaids. Some are the typical mermaids and some that come from the mating on the Hunt can become human and are like sirens. It is up to them to bring back flesh and mate to begin the cycle over again. You really get to see the amazing world through Natalie's eyes as the author does an amazing job creating this world. Natalie really tries her best to fight the urges she has and wants to be good. She finds Seth is different from what she has always been told and really doesn't want to leave him. Seth has a few secrets his self that even he hasn't figured out yet that add a great touch to the book. I look forward to seeing just what all he has to do with this fantastic world. If you think all mermaids are sweet like Disney portrays them then you definitely need to read this book. You get to see the darker side of the underwater world and a mother that will make you think she comes straight from hell. I really loved this book and look forward to reading more of the story. The ending has a twist I didn't see coming and I have to know what happens next. Recommended for anyone wanting a different book to read that steps outside the box.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Soul Resurrected Cover Reveal

Hi everyone! Today we have the cover reveal for Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake. I can't wait to read this book and I love the cover. First some about the book.



SOUL RESURRECTED (Sons of Wrath, #2)
By: Keri Lake
Release Date: October 31, 2013
Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance
Cover Designer: David Wagner of Wagner LA Photography

And the blurb:
As Wrath’s fiercest son, Logan carries the scars of fifty years spent in the most dreaded prison of the underworld, for a sin he’d kill to keep secret. Enduring decades of gruesome torture has left Logan feared by and detached from others, until a female Alexi’s blood resurrects his soul from death and, with it, the pleasures he’s been denied for so long.

Plagued by shame of her own, Calla is drawn to the ruthless demon, Logan, whose insatiable craving for her touch rouses buried passions and, for once, leaves her feeling desired. 

A dark and dangerous evil has been reawakened, however, and when Calla is drawn too close to its breeding grounds, Logan vows to summon the violence of Wrath in order to keep her safe. First, though, Calla must save him from a past riddled with deceit and corruption … but only if she can accept the consequences of unveiling a grisly truth. 

Sons of Wrath

Never gamble with vengeance …


The release date is OCTOBER 31ST, 2013 but in the meantime, you can add it to your GoodReads shelf! http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17981911-soul-resurrected

Mark your calendars!

The blog tour for Soul Resurrected is scheduled to run:
November 6th – December 6th, 2013

Lots of prizes up for grabs! To keep abreast of the news, you can subscribe to my blog: http://www.kerilake.com/category/general/

August 26, 2013

The Fire Inside Promo & Giveaway

Hi everyone! Today we have a promo for The Fire Inside and a giveaway for you all.The book sounds so good!


The Fire Inside by Virginia Cavanaugh

Blurb
Werewolves be damned. Tyra Smith chose to leave behind her nature to protect her heart after the wrenching loss of her own pack. She wants nothing to do with another wolf. Never again wants to feel the deep pain of loss. At least until a sexy-as-sin wolf named Konrad shows up, saving her from the roaming paws of another wolf.

The sparks of lust ignite a desire that burns with hellish intensity inside her, making her crave something she’d dared to forsake. The ability to resist wanes. Is it a true mate bond that pulls her to him or just the heat cycle she’s entering? Something only time can tell.

When a real threat from another pack presents itself, Tyra must move into Konrad’s den for her physical protection. But as things continue to heat up between the two of them, will he also be able to protect her heart?

Giveaway
Two winners will win an ebook copy of this book picked randomly. Simply comment below with a way to contact you in case you win and a thank you to the author for the chance to win. Open for 48 hours. We would like to thank the author Virginia Cavanaugh for the giveaway!

Fighting Destiny Blog Tour - Interview, Excerpt & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Fighting Destiny blog tour. There is an interview with the author, an excerpt and giveaway for you all.

Title: Fighting Destiny
Author: Amelia Hutchins
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Synopsis
Have you ever heard of the old Celtic legends of the Fae - beautiful, magical, and deadly creatures that have a love of messing with humans just for kicks and giggles?

Welcome to my world.

What started out as a strange assignment, lead to one of the most gruesome murder mysteries of our times. My friends and I are set and determined to find out who is killing off Fae and Witches alike.

Couple of problems in the way – I hate the Fae and the Prince of the Dark Fae is bound and determined that I work for him. He’s a rude, overbearing egotistical ass with a compulsive need to possess, dominate and control me. Oh – did I mention that he is absolutely sex-on-a-stick gorgeous and he makes me feel things that I never ever wanted to feel for a Fae...every time he touches me or looks at me with those dangerous golden eyes he seems to pull me further in under his spell, despite my better judgment.

My friends and I can’t trust anyone and nothing is as it seems on the surface – not even me.
Excerpt
The music started, even as the butterflies played with my insides, his eyes locked with mine as the song started up slowly. David Cook's The Time Of My Life came on, the music filling the room around us. I stumbled when he moved, and started to apologize until I caught the smile on his lips. "I can't dance, Ryder. You never said anything about dancing when I signed the contract."

"Take off your shoes," he countered, already releasing me and bending over to take his own footwear off. I watched him as others did the same and eventually I ignored the brilliant blush that crept up to my cheeks and did the same, stepping out of the borrowed strappy heels. 

Ryder smiled, and I stared at him, he was shockingly beautiful and ethereal. Like a lion, you wanted to touch him, but knew by doing so he'd consume you, body and soul. I swallowed and held my hand up for him to take it.

"Put your feet on mine, Synthia," he said quietly, aware that everyone was watching us. 

I exhaled and obeyed him, knowing his men were watching us, as well as my coven. When the song restarted, he carried us both, his hand once again on the small of my back. Rubbing it softly as his fingers settled against it. My heart raced from his touch, the deep desire in his eyes made it flip-flop as he swept me around the room until everyone else faded away, leaving us alone inside the room. 

I smiled as I looked down to see our feet together. Nervous at being so close to him and doing something I had only ever done with my father. It had been the last thing we’d ever done together. But with Ryder, it was intimate, sending heat flooding through me. I looked back up, with the smile still in place, to catch him staring openly in wonder at me. "What?" I asked growing self-conscious. "You’re very beautiful, Synthia," he whispered tenderly.

Buy Links


Interview with Amelia Hutchins

Where did the idea for Fighting Destiny come from? I’ve had it inside my head for years. It came as a dream the first time. The characters were different, and I wrote it seven different ways which none of which I was happy with. It wasn’t until Ryder and Syn showed up that the story came out perfectly clear. 

Did you have inspiration for your characters? ( If you have a real
inspiration for Ryder I want you to share lol) I don’t have a real inspiration, only the highly primal alpha version who growls to be written in my head. (Sorry ladies!) 

How long did it take you to get your first draft of this book done? 2 months. I tend to write crazy fast when the characters start talking and showing me how the story goes. 

What is your favorite quote from Fighting Destiny? "I'll be strong for you Syn, if you need it. You don’t always have to be the strong one, I'll be your glue if you want to crumble, I'll hold you together,"

How many books will there be in the series? 4-5, I tend to let the characters show me where to go, and I don’t want to draw it out too long as I have many other stories to be told, and characters fighting to get theirs out as well. 

What can we expect from the next book?Mmm, some of the facts will come to light, as well as Ryder’s more gentle side. Syn will discover who she is, as well as Adam. Transition is happening in this book, and with it secrets start to unravel. 

What do you do when you’re not writing? I’m also a full time mom, so kids keep me busy when my other kids (Characters) are not demanding to be written about. 

If you were in a battle which character would you want by your side? Ryder, without a doubt. 
What was the hardest part of writing Fighting Destiny? Ryder’s POV because well he has a dirty mouth, and it’s sometimes hard to see beyond his growling to pull it from him. 

What is the greatest advice you could give an aspiring writer? Write every day. Read, and then write, even if it’s only a paragraph a day. The more writing you do, the easier it is. Don’t give up, and don’t allow any of the bullies to get to you when you put your writing out there. I have a few people who hate Fighting Destiny, but I have many more who love it. If I’d listened to those who hated it at first, I’d have given up and wouldn’t be here today. You cannot please everyone, just write what you love, and others will love it as well. 

What is the first book you remember reading? Johanna Lindsey Captive Bride when I was twelve, I stole it from my mother and hid beneath the covers and read it. I couldn’t read well, and had been having issues…but I needed to know how the story ended. After that I was devouring books like the cookie monster to a cookie, I still have that copy of the book as well. (Well some of it, it’s well used and loved.)
Author Bio
Amelia lives in the great Pacific Northeast with her family. When not writing she can be found on her page Erotica Book Club. She's an avid reader of everything paranormal romance.

How to find Amelia

Giveaway

August 25, 2013

Knights of Darkness Chronicles Promo

Hey everyone! Today we have a promo for Knights of Darkness Chronicles by D.N. Simmons. We also have info on a giveaway going on on the authors website. First some about the books.

Enter the world of the Knights of the Darkness Chronicles, where supernatural beings and humans live together openly in a tenuous society. Danger lurks behind every corner as they release their darkest and deadliest desires. In an attempt to keep order, the government has created laws that govern the supernaturals and a special police force; the S.U.I.T.(Supernatural Unit Investigation Team), are trained to keep the dangerous supernatural threat in check. But not everyone can be contained or controlled. Criminals come in all species and even the highly trained S.U.I.T. Organization needs help. It is apparent that if the world is to maintain its fragile peace, certain alliances must be formed, even if it's between enemies​.

Here is some info from the author about the giveaway!! Be sure to check it out.
Knights of the Darkness Ebook Giveaway!!! 

To celebrate the completion of this amazing and groundbreaking series, I am giving away 2 $10 Amazon or B&N Gift Cards and a whooping 25 free KOTDC ebook. Winners get to choose which book they want and there's 6 sexy, daring and action-packed books to choose from! Enter for your chance to win and let the good times roll. 

Please Enter to Win Here: 

D.N. Simmons 
Dark Urban Fantasy Author 

Twitter: @dnsimmonskotd 

Knights of the Darkness Chronicles Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67EJ-dIAAVc

Beyond Life Promo

Hey everyone! Today we have the book promo for Beyond Life by J. A. Diller. It sounds interesting!

Blurb
A Fantasy/Paranormal Novel solely based on my dreams after the death of my oldest son Charlie (Feshy). Come meet Feshy, Falk and Gigi in Beyond Life along with other family and friends in the paranormal world. A Fantasy novel based upon my dreams I have experienced since the passing of my oldest son Charlie (Feshy). Mayhem breaks loose; Feshy must find a way to save his earth siblings from The Shadow Mist who threatens both himself and his Earth family. Can he win the fight? Can he be in two places at once? Feshy is to torn between two worlds, Earth and his new home Spiro Realm where he lives with members of his Mom's family. Follow the path that Feshy must take to defeat his past demons even though he has passed into the Beyond Life.

Buy Links

August 24, 2013

The Sight Seer Sale Promo

Hey everyone we have a sale promo for The Sight Seer to share with you all. The book sounds great and is on sale for $0.99 for Kindle this weekend.


Blurb
Gabi Harkins likes to think she’s a pretty normal sixteen-year-old. She goes to school, suffers though an awful part-time job, and deals with a bratty younger sister. But when a potential shoplifter morphs into a monster right in front of her, Gabi realizes her life is far from normal—especially when that monster follows her home and ends up battling a boy wielding a sword in her backyard.

The boy, Rafe Fitzgerald, is a member of Silver Moon, an organization devoted to eradicating demons before they kill humans. If this little bit of news isn’t earth-shattering enough, Rafe reveals that he needs Gabi’s help. As strong as Rafe is, he does not possess the Sight—a rare ability that allows a hunter to See through a demon’s glamour, enabling them to strike before the demon does. But guess who does?

While Gabi is reluctant to face another demon, she knows she owes Rafe big time for saving her. Together, they’re thrown headfirst into heart-stopping situations as they battle newer and more frightening demons. When she starts to fall for Rafe, Gabi knows her normal life is gone forever.

Amazon Link

August 23, 2013

Joining Bloglovin

Hey all we have a new way to follow us called bloglovin. Just one more way to for you all to follow us so you don't miss anything!

August 21, 2013

First Born Paperback Sale Promo

Hi everyone! Today we are sharing a paperback sale of First Born with you. I have read and enjoyed this book. 

First Born Paperback Sale = $8.50!

Synopsis:
When twenty-six-year-old graphic designer Lily Moore shapeshifts for the first time, Atlanta police detectives consult wildlife experts to sort through the bizarre forensic evidence she leaves in her wake. Her traumatic transformation coincides with murder and Lily finds herself the center of a mad vortex of area crimes.

On the run, Lily turns to her younger brother to help unravel the secrets surrounding her boyfriend’s death as well as unlock the mysteries of their Chinese heritage. When a loved one goes missing, Lily finds herself scrambling to find purchase in this new world where there hasn’t been balance for a century.

As she learns to master her new preternatural abilities, she must cut through the lies of those around her. With the police and a killer hot on her trail, can she solve the mystery of being First Born or will family secrets prove deadly?

Bio 
Tricia lives in Marietta, Georgia with her husband, Lou, her little yappy dog, Lola Belle, and her big orange mutant cat, George. Her two stepsons, Joseph and Robert, make stopovers as well, making sure to keep life an adventure. Writing has always been a part of her life–like breathing and chocolate. 

Stalk Tricia here:

August 20, 2013

Dirty Thirty Blog Tour - Giveaway

Hi everyone! Today we have a stop on the Dirty 30 Blog Tour featuring R.M.Gilmore. We have info on the books and a giveaway for a Kindle Paperwhite.


R.M. Bio
R.M. Gilmore is a paranormal and mystery/suspense writer and creator of the irreverent Dylan Hart Odyssey of the Occult series and the groundbreaking Lynnie Russell Trilogy. Both of which were voted top reads of 2012, as well as, bestselling in Irish Mythology, Female Sleuths and Occult genre. A member of Sisters in Crime and devoted Indie author supporter, R.M. uses her time when she is not writing to promote and assist her fellow authors. 

R.M. resides in California with her family and a ton of pets. Choosing to behave 'outside the box' R.M. prefers to think and live freely without the constraints of social stigma in life and in writing. That being said, she truly is not your mother's author.

R.M. Links

The Books

The Scene (Dylan Hart #1)
Irreverent twenty-something, Dylan Hart, has her little black heart set to cash-in on the blood-drained bodies of seven prostitutes scattered throughout southern California.
In search of the culprit of the media-dubbed Vampire Massacres, journalist Dylan Hart dives head first into L.A.’s sanguinary ‘vampire’ subculture, in an attempt to write her first best-selling novel and pay off her ever growing student debt.
Dylan drinks whiskey, smokes like a chimney, and possesses a mouth she wouldn’t kiss her mama with and with the aid of her statuesque hetero-life-mate Tatum Price, Dylan takes the case head-on, slicing her way through the absurd, the ethereal and the deadly serious, of the underground ‘vampire’ community. But lies and skepticism keep Dylan from the facts hidden within fiction and the danger lurking right under her nose. It’s all shits and giggles until a dead body pops up at your back door. 
The bitch is back in this second installment of the Dylan Hart Odyssey of the Occult series. The irreverent Dylan Hart, once again, graces us with her presence, this time from down in New Orleans. She has drug along her band of misfit vampires, but this time blood drinkers are the least of her worries. Dylan finds herself entangled in the underground world of blood and lust when she encounters a new, and much more frightening, villain. Voodoo. Who do?
Endless Night (Dylan Hart book 2) 

Sacrifice (Dylan Hart #3)
-------> COMING SOON!!! <-------
Dylan has found herself in quite the conundrum...oh shit, who are we kidding? 
She's ass deep in death and it's knocking down her door. Literally. 
Endless Night left you with your heart pounding and your stomach in your butt...book three will flip you upside down and take you on a ride that'll leave your knees quivering and your head lying on the floor...literally.
Sacrifice (Dylan Hart book 3) COMING SOON!!!

Becoming (Lynnie Russell #1)
"I'm Sharlene Carolynn Diamond Russell, but most folks around Havana call me Lynnie. I want to tell you about the day a chance encounter changed my life forever. From a few sweet smooches to gut churning transformations, this is the story of the events that led to my Becoming."
Country girl paranormal novella from author R.M. Gilmore (author of the Dylan Hart Odyssey of The Occult series). A new twist on an old classic. Havana, Arkansas isn't exactly the picture of mystics and magic, but Lynnie Russell learns quickly you can't judge a book by it's cover. She discovers myths and legends are alive and well in her tiny little town and she is at the center of it.
Becoming (Lynnie Russell novella trilogy)

Giveaway

August 19, 2013

Hi everyone! Today we have the cover reveal for Retribution by Amy Thompson. I love it. We will have a reeview of the book up this week as well. First some about the book.

Summary
Regan Edison has just moved from California, to enter her first year at Georgia Liberty College, the place where jacked up Chevy trucks and hunting are a way of life. Regan hopes to start a new life for herself and she thinks that Georgia is just the place to do it. That is until she meets an unexpected stranger. 

Colter Hayes is a member of the Collectors, a group of wrongfully punished lost souls. Colter and the rest of his team, Finn, Kaiden and Devon, work for the Requiem Council who pass judgment on those souls that are neither tagged for Heaven nor Hell. The Council has charged the Collectors with finding the lost in exchange for a chance at redemption.

When an ex-councilmember known to pass Retribution on lost souls sets his sights on Regan, the Requiem Council dispatches the Collectors to Georgia to work as protectors for Regan. The Collectors must fight to save Regan from a fate they know all too well, but can they work to earn back their chance at redemption or are their fates sealed forever?

Who is meant for Heaven?

Who is meant for Hell?

And who is just lost?

Live Links
Barnes and Noble (Nook Book):

Amazon (Paperback):

Amazon Kindle (eBook):

Smashwords (eBook):

Author/Book Pages


Author Information
Amy Thompson graduated from Randolph-Macon College with her B.S. in Biology. She currently works as a high school mentor and is earning her M.S. in Higher Education from Drexel University. Amy is a first time, self-published author of Retribution, a new adult paranormal romance novel that is the first in the Lost Souls series. She lives in Southern Virginia with her family and two lazy cats. Amy Thompson is currently working on the next book in the Lost Souls series and continues to be an avid reader of all things books.

Mémoire from the Dusk - Review & Giveaway


Mémoire from the Dusk-Book One: House of Vyras by  Danae Ayusso
Description ~
It was only a matter of time before those that dwelled in the Dusk, those creatures and immortals that were simply villains in bedtime stories and forbidden love interests in movies, were pulled from the shadows and cast into the world of man. 

After the witches and warlocks were forced to go mainstream, the Fraternity of Vampyres and Brotherhood of Wolves fought to keep their existence hidden in the Dusk where is had been since the beginning of time.

But as they found out, nothing could stay hidden forever.

The Vampyres were forced to go mainstream, to join the warlocks and witches in their hominal plight, and as quickly as they stepped out of the Dusk, their Houses started to be decimated by an unknown threat.

The Brotherhood, in fear for their people, scattered those of the founding Houses of the Vyras, hiding them in the darkest recesses the world of man had to offer, and that was where Bijou and the others found themselves.

Bijou Bryn of House of Beauvais dit Sainte Jéme was the General for the Brotherhood’s Fear, the Vyras army that helped to bring order and control to the Vyras in the Dusk and to protect their people and interests. Simply saying her name caused a shiver of fear to race down the spine of even the oldest primordial, and all those that gazed upon her shook with fear that they would be on the receiving end of her legendary wrath. War, killing, and upholding the Brotherhood’s laws and orders was all the six-century vryas knew, but in the blink of an eye the only existence she knew was no more and she found herself banished with five other vyras to the middle of a Podunk town in America.

Pointe à la Hache, Louisiana, was supposed to be a Dusk-less existence, a banishment to hominal Hell that would show the former general of the Fear what it meant to co-exist with man, a place where she and the others would be safe since those of the Dusk were apparently being targeted, however nothing was ever as it seemed.

The Dusk-less existence was filled with illusionary immortals, disgusting werewolves of questionable means, and mystery that seemingly resolved around a cook that was consumed with guilt, secrets and regrets of his own. As quickly as Bijou found a sliver of contentment, it was extinguished by nightmares of the past and regrets that she had harbored for centuries. 

Once Bijou accepted her banishment and the new world she was forced into, she was cast back into the politics of the Dusk she was trying to stay out of, and found her world shadowed in a darkness that would bring only misery and loss.

My Review ~
Memoire from the Dusk starts out kicking butt and ends up leaving me craving the next book, right now! 

Our heroine Bijou is not your typical main character, but from what I've read of Danae's books this is always a very good thing. Her main female characters are always very unique, and also pretty badass. Ronain, one of the male characters, is a perfect foil for Bijou's slight psychotic tendencies. The supporting characters, Elan, Dominic, Fitz, Camille, and even Alice the human owner of the bar are at times funny, crazy, and get the hell out of their way scary. The last bit really applies most to Elan and Bijou, with a little bit of Dominic showing up here and there. 

Danae's worldbuilding skills are excellent, the story she crafts and the world she creates as the setting draws you in and doesn't let you leave until the very last word. Her characters are always multi-faceted and complex, even the characters with smaller roles, or the more human characters. The world of the House of Vyras series is very detailed and spans centuries of the characters histories. Granted there are only glimpses of their pasts, but they are just as detailed and just as much of the storyline as the current setting is to the plot. 

When I hit that last word on the very last page it was with a, "No! it can't be over already" feeling. I can't wait to read the second book in this series when it is released. You might be asking to yourself, 'If she enjoyed it so much, why not a perfect 5 star rating?' The only reason the story didn't get the full 5 stars was because some of the terminology. This world uses a good amount of Greek in the first 20% of the book, and as I don't know Greek it made it slightly difficult to slip completely into the world.

I would recommend this book for anyone that enjoys strong female leads, hunky vampires, badass werewolves, and snarky dwarves. 

4.75 out of 5 Stars ~Reviewed by Chris 

This review is the property of Chris and not be shared or copied unless by the Publisher or Author or unless credit is given.

Links ~


Visit Danae Ayusso online at:

Giveaway
Simply leave a comment below Thanking Danae Ayusso and a way to contact you in case you win for your chance to win an ebook copy of Mémoire from the Dusk. There will be three winners!!

August 17, 2013

The Fairest of Them All - Review

The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon

Blurb
What if Rapunzel was Snow White’s evil stepmother? From the author of Godmother and Mermaid, The Fairest of Them All explores what happens when fairy tale heroines grow up and don’t live happily ever after.

Living in an enchanted forest, Rapunzel spends her days tending a mystical garden with her adoptive mother, Mathena. A witch, Mathena was banished from court because of her magic powers, though the women from the kingdom still seek her advice and herbal remedies. She waits, biding her time to exact revenge against those who betrayed her.

One day Rapunzel’s beautiful voice and long golden locks captivate a young prince hunting in the forest nearby. Overcome, he climbs her hair up to her chamber and they fall into each other’s arms. But their afternoon of passion is fleeting, and the prince must return to his kingdom, as he is betrothed to another.

Now king, he marries his intended to bring peace to his kingdom. They have a stunning daughter named Snow White. Yet the king is haunted by his memories of Rapunzel, and after the mysterious death of his wife, realizes he is free to marry the woman he never stopped longing for. In hopes of also replacing the mother of his beloved daughter, the king makes Rapunzel his queen.

But when Mathena’s wedding gift of an ancient mirror begins speaking to her, Rapunzel falls under its evil spell, and the king begins to realize that Rapunzel is not the beautiful, kind woman he dreamed of.

My Review
Rapunzel lives in the forest with her adoptive mother Mathena. They grow a garden and help make potions for people needing help. Mathena is all Rapunzel has ever known because she was saved by her from abusive parents. As she grows she becomes more beautiful and learns her hair has powers. She meets a young man named Josef one day not knowing who he really is she falls for him. She soon learns after it is to late he is the prince of the kingdom and soon to be married. As she mends her broken heart time goes by and the prince becomes King , then his wife dies. His first step is to find Rapunzel and wed her. Rapunzel works at learning how to be queen and mother to Snow White her step daughter. She wants to help the kingdom in anyway she can but people call her a witch. As time goes by She and the king have trouble and you see what happens when she is replaced as the fairest of them all.

These aren't the princesses you know. They are different. Rapunzel at first is a sweet girl who will help anyone and falls in love easy. She gives her heart away and does not want it back. As she gets older you start to see changes in her. She becomes jealous and begins to effect her beauty. She wants to have it all and will let nothing stand in her way. Snow White as a child seemed just like the book and movie version. Sweet and innocent. As a teen you see how she acts hateful at times and snotty. I actually liked that as she seemed more real. With Mathena you know she is a witch and does bad things at times I did feel sorry for her but leave no doubt she is out for herself.

I really like reading fairy tale re-tellings and this one is a good one. Combining two characters we know and love and making you see things in a different life. You may think you know how it will turn out but this book has some surprises in store for you. It is very easy to follow and has a nice flow. You get to really see the evil stepmother's side of things. It isn't happily ever after and so many things come to life that make you see what really happened in the past. I sure didn't see many things that happened at the end. If you like fairy tales and want to see a different take pick this one up.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

August 14, 2013

Darker Days Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Darker Days blog tour. There is a review of this amazing book and a giveaway for you all.

Blurb:
Jessie Darker goes to high school during the day, but at night she helps with the family investigation business. Cheating husbands and stolen inheritances? They’re your girls—but their specialty is a bit darker. Zombie in your garage? Pesky Poltergeist living in your pool? They’ll have the problem solved in a magical minute. For a nominal fee, of course...

When gorgeous new client, Lukas Scott, saunters into the office requesting their help to find a stolen box, it sounds like a simple case—until the truth comes out. The box is full of Sin.

Seven deadly ones, in fact.

They’ve got five days to recapture the Sins before they're recalled by the box, taking seven hijacked human bodies with them. Easy peasy—except for one thing...

There’s a spell that will allow the Sins to remain free, causing chaos forever. When the key ingredient threatens the life of someone she knows, Jessie must make the ultimate choice between love and family—or lose everything.

My Review
Jessie is no stranger to odd things. She along with her mom run an investigation business.  They help with normal case but also deal with ghosts, zombies, possessions and more. She sometimes gets into trouble because she wants to work more than she wants to go to school.  They are in for the case of their life when Lukas walks in asking them to help find a box. Not just any box but the one that holds Sin. They have five days to get the Sins back in or they will roam free forever  To add to the trouble of finding who all is possessed by the Sins the key to the Sins remaining free is closer to home than they know. Jessie has the fight of her life on her hands and will have to make some hard decisions.

Jessie is tough, different from your normal girl and very easy to like. She is the type to run towards danger to see if she can fix it. She also loves to take on easy cases behind her mom's back that lead her into trouble. She also at times causes a lot of damage solving a case. She is very easy to like. I love female characters like her. She kicks butt and doesn't wait for a man to save her. Lukas is a hotty with a strange past. Really he is like two different people at times. He has been hurt before but their is something about Jessie that opens up whole new doors for him. He learns a lot being around her and you can tell he is intrigued by her.

I will just say to me this will be one of the hot books of the year. It has the thing all us paranormal junkies have been looking for. A fresh feel even if it touches on stuff we have sen before. This story line totally rocks and I can easily say this will be a favorite read of mine this year. Along with a delightful cast of characters that you will love to read about you have so much going on. There is demons, ghost, witches, zombies and so much more to read about. I totally got sucked in and read this in one sitting. Good thing I waited till everyone was asleep before I started or they would have been ignored. I never give spoilers but I will say you have so much action going on that it is sure to keep your interest.. Let's face it Sins are lose and reeving havoc. You know it is going to be awesome. I want to tell everyone to read this book. It doesn't matter if you don't like paranormal books you will love this one. You get to see how far people will go whether it's for the good or bad. I can not wait to read the next book to see what will happen next. One thing is for sure it won't be dull.

I have to say I love love love this cover. The colors and everything about it pull you right in.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Book releases August 26th




About Jus:JUS ACCARDO spent her childhood reading and learning to cook. Determined to follow in her grandfather’s footsteps as a chef, she applied and was accepted to the Culinary Institute of America. At the last minute, she realized her path lay with fiction, not food, and passed on the spot to pursue writing. Jus is the bestselling author the popular Denazen series from Entangled publishing and is currently working on the first book in a new adult series due out summer 2013. A native New Yorker, she lives in the middle of nowhere with her husband, three dogs, and sometimes guard bear, Oswald.




Giveaway Details:
1 DARKER DAYS 7 Deadly Sins Gift Basket Giveaway US Only

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour as well.
Tour Schedule:
8/12/2013- The Book Goddess- Review
8/13/2013- Supernatural Snark- Guest Post 
8/14/2013- Paranormal Reads- Review
8/15/2013- K-Books- Interview
8/16/2013- Doctors Notes- Review
8/19/2013- Step Into Fiction- Guest Post 
8/20/2013- Young Readers- Review
8/21/2013- Curling Up With A Good Book- Interview
8/22/2013- Chapter by Chapter - Review
8/23/2013- Oops! I Read A Book Again- Guest Post

August 12, 2013

Hidden Destiny Cover Reveal

Hi everyone! Today we have the cover reveal for Hidden Destiny! I love the cover and think it's beautiful! Before we get to the cover here is a word from Carrie Ann Ryan.


Hi Everyone! Thank you so much for much for stopping by to see my new cover for HIDDEN DESTINY. I love this one. The background, couple…everything. Scott Carpenter, my artist, did an amazing job. Also, one of my favorite authors, gave me a cover quote that made me cry.

“Carrie Ann Ryan writes sexy shifters in a world full of passionate happily-ever-afters” – NYT Bestselling author, Vivian Arend

Thank you again for stopping by and if you want to make sure you know exactly when you can purchase North’s book, check out my website and sign up for my newsletter. You can also find Hidden Destiny on Goodreads for your shelf. 

The sixth book in USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan’s Redwood Pack series is all about the other twin in our hearts.

North. 

This highly anticipated book is the penultimate novel in the series and goes down a dark path to find the way to end the war. You can find this book in all eretailers on January 14th, 2014.

***
Back Cover Copy: 
North Jameson has always held his wolf closer to the surface then others. He's the quiet one, the one no one really knows about yet he holds the darkest secret. He’s watched his brothers find their mates and start families, and now it was his turn. He knows Lexi could be his and her son could be part of his family, but he doesn't know if he's ready to share the darkness that's entwined with his soul.

Lexi Anderson is a mother, a sister, a latent wolf, and a new member of the Redwood Pack. She’s also holding secrets so close to her heart she’s not even sure she knows the truth anymore. When North takes another step closer to wanting to cement their bond, Lexi must come to grips with her past and what it means for her future. The Centrals’ war isn’t over yet and Lexi’s life is on the line as the paths they've chosen takes a drastic turn.

August 09, 2013

Storm Warrior Promo & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a promo post for Storm Warrior ( Grim Series #1) by Dani Harper and a giveaway for a for a signed copy of the book. We would like to thank Author Dani Harper for being with us today and the great prize. Now onto the book.


Blurb
Enslaved for millennia by the masters of the Welsh faery realm, the fierce Celtic warrior Rhys is doomed to wander the earth forever. But when a brave beauty unwittingly breaks the enchantment, he is drawn into a strange new world…and an all-consuming desire.

Sensible Morgan doesn’t believe in magic—until a mysterious being saves her from a fate worse than death, and life as she knows it changes forever. Now the man of her dreams has become flesh and blood, igniting a spark in Morgan’s soul which science cannot explain. But even a love that transcends time may not be strong enough to withstand the power of an ancient curse.

Buy Links

Author Links

Simply comment below with some way to contact you in case you win for your chance to win a signed paperback copy of the book!

Translate