September 29, 2013

A Night at the Asylum Review

A Night at the Asylum
by Jade McCahon
Sara Featherstone is a loser. At twenty she is still indentured to her parents, her best friend is a closet clairvoyant, and her long time boyfriend just dumped her and refuses to tell her why. Five years ago her world ended with her brother, Tommy, running his motorcycle into a tree, and the life she might have led had never started. 

Catapulted into the dark streets after a "visitation" from Tommy, Sara has no idea that all that wasted time is about to catch up with her. A chance encounter with a man wielding a knife sets in motion a chain of events so bizarre that Sara will soon question everything she has ever believed. From her boyfriend's fidelity to her best friend's innocence to what her brother knew about a missing classmate, irony is about to make Sara its bitch, and the next twelve hours might be her last.

My Review
Sara lost her brother five years ago to an accident. She still sees him as he visits her dreams often. She has just went through a breakup and now after a visit from her brother she goes out not expecting her life to change. She gets caught up in a knife wielding loon and ends up in the police station. After she is let go she begins to unravel the mystery of how she got caught up in this mess only to find it goes way back. Back to her brother and other odd things that have happened. Now she has to stay alive and go to the asylum to look for clues before it is tore down. With the help of spirits she has to figure out what really happened years ago. She doesn't know who to trust as everyone seems to have secrets and the law may not be the safest people around.

I really enjoyed this story as it has action, mystery and a touch of paranormal as the spirits help Sara out. I liked getting to know her and try to figure it all out along with her. Asylums can be scary places and this one fits perfect as the scene of where to look. The author does a fantastic job writing this book as you really can't put it down. You have to see what will happen to Sara and her friends. From car wrecks to ghost this book has a little but of it all. I really loved the ending of this book it added the perfect touch and in a way made you wonder. No I won't give away any spoilers. If you like a story with spirits or just a good mystery try this one.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

September 28, 2013

Grimnirs Cover Reveal

Book Title: Grimnirs
Series: A Runes Novel
Author: Ednah Walters
Release Date: December 2nd 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Firetrail Publishing
Presented by: Twisted Book Tours and More & As You Wish Tours
Banner Made by: Camelia Miron Skiba


One lost love.
One lost best friend.
One hot soul reaper.

Straight out of the psyche ward, Cora just wants her life to be normal. She doesn’t want to see souls or the reapers collecting them. The love of her life, the guy she’s loved from a distance for years, has moved away without saying goodbye. So yes, she’s nursing a serious heartbreak. It’s no wonder love is the last thing on her mind when Echo storms into her life.

The chemistry between them is mind-blowing. The connection defies logic. It doesn’t help that Echo is the poster boy for everything she hates in a guy—hot, beautiful, and cocky. A general pain-in-the-butt. Being around him makes her feel more alive than she’s ever felt before. But more important, the souls leave her alone when he is around.

Echo is perfect for her. Echo might even be her soul-mate. There is only one problem. Echo is a freaking soul reaper. A Grimnir. The very beings she wants out of her life. Maybe normal is overrated because Cora wants it all. Answers. Love. A life. You see, once you fall for a Grimnir, your life will never be the same again.

EDNAH WALTERS grew up reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and dreaming of one day writing her own stories. She is a stay-at-home mother of five humans and two American short-hair cats (one of which has ADHD) and a husband. When she is not writing, she’s at the gym doing Zumba or doing things with her family, reading, traveling or online chatting with fans.

Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released by Pill Hill Press in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, will be released April 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN. Visit her at

Ednah also writes YA paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. IMMORTALS is book 2. She is presently working on book 3, GRIMNIRS (Release date TBA). Read more about this series and the world she's created here

Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published four more books in this series. She's presently working on book six. You can visit her online at or

Copper Girl Review

Copper Girl (Copper Legacy #1)
by Jennifer Allis Provost

Sara had always been careful.
She never spoke of magic, never associated with those suspected of handling magic, never thought of magic, and never, ever, let anyone see her mark. After all, the last thing she wanted was to end up missing, like her father and brother.
Then, a silver elf pushed his way into Sara's dream, and her life became anything but ordinary.

My Review
Sara lives and ordinary life. She has a boring job and does whatever she can to fit in. She is anything but normal. She has had to hide her magic ever since a war years ago banished all magical things. She can't use her powers because if she does she will disappear just like her brother did years ago. She daydreams at lunch one day about a mysterious lover. When she wakes she is surprised to find her panties gone. She is further surprised when she finds out her dream lover is real and an elf named Micah. Now she makes the journey to find her brother and has to try and hide what she still is in the human world. She never knows who to trust and even she doesn't know all there is to her family.

Sara tries her best to not be who she really is. She could be really powerful but can't because she can't use her magic. She deeply misses her brother and father and has always wondered where they went to and what happened to them. She doesn't realize just how much she needs Micah when she first meets him. She just knows she wants him. Micah is a sexy elf who knows more than he tells Sara. He doesn't understand modern clothes and is always trying to get Sara into dresses. He will do anything to help her and keep her by his side. He seems to always be there when she needs him. He can be surprised at times as you will see. He has some strong magical powers.

I like this book as it starts off hot in the first chapter you know the world is different and you find out more as you read about why it is the way it is. The is several steamy scenes where the two main characters try to get together but never seem to be able to. There is a lot of anticipation for what you know is coming. There is also lots of danger and magical people have to hide what they are. Sara's family in a way has been torn apart by the new times they live in and she finds out more about her family later on in the book. There is also betrayal in this book as Sara doesn't know who she can trust and who is really there for her or her friend. I really liked the combination of fae, elves and more. The book has a dystopian feel to it that is nice and the hotness is a nice touch.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

September 25, 2013

Broken Dreams Cover Reveal

Hi everyone! Today we have the cover reveal for Broken Dreams by Rissa Blakeley. I love the sound of this book.
Elaina Cooper's world was turned upside down on her wedding day. She was about to marry Henry Daniels, the man of her dreams or so she thought. Just as she was to walk down the aisle, screams pierced the air and with that, the apocalypse had begun.

Elaina felt something was wrong; Henry knew far too much about the undead roaming the street and she was determined to get to the bottom of it no matter what it took. Henry's haunted past catches up to him in more ways than one. He must face his demons and Elaina must learn to accept him and his past. Henry is determined to fight to the very end to make their sexy, mercurial relationship work no matter what staggers in their path.

Along with their thrown together band of survivors, they must travel south to face Henry's haunted past. There will be joys and loss but in the end, can love hold them together?

September 23, 2013

Emblazed Blog Tour - Review, Giveaway & Excerpt

Hey everyone. We have a stop on the Emblazed Blog Tour today. There is a review of the book, an excerpt and giveaway for you all.

Emblazed Cover add-to-goodreads-button31


Three days. Three days seems like a lot of time, but not when you are racing to save the one you love. Not when time is against you. Three days is all Jace has to save Brielle, to prevent both of their deaths. Both have more to battle than they ever imagined while they fight for their lives, their souls, and their love. Will Jace be able to rescue Brielle, or will the fate of the world die with her?  

My Review
Jace has to save Brielle from Hades and the Underworld and he only has three days to do. He will have to have help from their friends and family and worries about their lives as well. Brielle struggles to survive and pull her powers to her. Being apart from her twin flame is wearing on her and she just knows she has to hang on. Hades isn't the only danger they have to worry about as they soon find out. There are many gods wanting part of the powers Brielle has and will go to any length to get them. Not only is their lives and love on the line but the fate of the world as well.

Brielle even being tortured and apart from Jace still remains strong and tries everything she can to fight back. She only continues to grow in power in this book. She truly cares for her friends, family and Jace. She feels a lot of guilt because they are always in danger. Jace will do anything to keep Brielle safe and he will stop at nothing to be with her. You see how far he will go in this book for her love.

I love the first book in this series and this book is a great follow up. You see Brielle and Jace both grow in power and see how strong their love is. They have to face Gods and unspeakable horrors as they fight for each other. These Gods will stop at nothing to get to Brielle and it causes both of them hurt. They still have time for lots of steamy scenes and it lets you se how powerful their souls are bonded. They can't seem to keep their hands off each other and it is somewhat a running joke between them. I enjoyed all the Gods that you get to see and the different places you go in this book. It has a good mixture of love, action, danger, mythology and so much more that makes it hard to put down. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys mythology, paranormal books or are just looking for something different to read. After the ending I can't wait for the next book.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Buy Envisioned (Book 1) Now:

Buy Emblazed (Book 2) Now:

Meet the Author:

Nikki Author Pic
My name is Nikki Narvaez. I was born and raised in San Antonio, TX, where I currently live with my husband, our two dogs, Bella and Oreo, and our cat, Cupcake. I have been teaching for four years, but I hope to become a full-time writer and stay at home mom one day. I am 27 years old, and have three older sisters who have blessed me with four nephews and one niece. In my free time, I love to write and play Texas Hold 'Em poker.


Hades walked in with that stupid smirk on his face, which I couldn't wait to remove. When he reached me, he sneered as he said, “I'm going to give you one last chance to surrender your power to me. I shall spare you and you can go back home. If not, you can stay here while I continue to torture you until you beg me to take it.” I snorted. “That will never happen. I would never give you my power, even if I knew how, which I don't.” “Not even for the life of your flame?” Hades asked smugly. I stiffened as fear spread over me. Had he found Jace? He couldn't have – Jace just got here. I could still feel him, and he wasn't in the building yet. Hades directed his attention to the door, which opened to two minotaurs dragging Jace between them. No. No, no, no! I concentrated on talking to Jace in my mind, but he didn't respond. He still felt like he was somewhere else in the Underworld, not standing right in front of me. I knew our connection was having issues from being apart, but shouldn't it be back to normal since he was in front of me? He barely struggled against his captors, and he wouldn't even look at me. Jace, look at me! Look at me! He still didn't respond. Something wasn't right. This couldn't be Jace – all my senses but my sight told me it wasn't, but how could I deny it when he stood before me? He looked like my Jace, and given I was probably delirious from everything I'd experienced down here, I didn't put much weight on not being able to hear or feel him. Our bond was probably all fucked up from being down here in another realm anyway. “Last chance – submit your power to me or he will die,” Hades threatened. “But, I don't know how. Please, don't,” I begged. Fuck, I didn't want to resort to begging, but this was Jace. I'd do anything for him, even damn humanity. I didn't care whether I was being selfish or not, Jace was my world, the only one that really mattered to me. Then, my nightmare sprang to life before my eyes. The minotaurs moved away as the demons and skeletons from the walls converged on Jace. “Jace!!! Nooo!!!” I pulled and fought against my bonds as tears blurred my sight. I couldn't feel anything that was happening to him, further confusing me as to what was transpiring with our bond. All I could focus on was Jace fighting off demons in front of me, and desperation and rage pulsed through me. I used it to empower my Akasha, but I was so consumed with emotion that I had no control over the tremendous power that streamed out of me. It erupted from my body, engulfing the room in light while wildly shooting in all directions, including upwards where the invisible bonds imprisoned me. I fell to the floor in a heap, finally free. I looked up, frantically searching for Jace among the piles of charred bodies that had been in the path of my Akasha. Chandeliers sat in fragments in between the multitude of bodies and their strewn parts scattered across the floor. The thrones were on opposite sides of the room, embedded in the walls. Piles of ash smoked in various places throughout the room. Hades was nowhere in sight, and I hoped that I had obliterated him to one of those mounds of dust, even though he probably fled like coward when everything started happening. I tried to stand, but I was too weak to support myself. Dots spotted my vision as I dragged myself down the stairs, praying that I could find Jace in the carnage in front of me before I blacked out. I was still alive, so that meant he was too, right? Our bond couldn't be that fractured, could it? I saw the red tips of his hair beneath a mass of blackened bodies. I crawled over the smoking remains of the demons, the stench of which caused me to vomit on one of them. I continued crawling over bodies until I finally made it to Jace. I pushed the bodies on top of him weakly, but they wouldn't budge. I sobbed as I continued, only freeing his face and chest before I collapsed from my efforts. My head rested on his chest, which wasn't rising and falling with breath. I couldn't hear his heartbeat, my most cherished sound in the whole world. My heart shattered as I took in his charred face, his dead eyes staring back at me. Darkness crept in, and the last thought I had before I was pulled into nothing was that Jace couldn't be burned.  

Giveaway (US ONLY):

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway (US & INT):

a Rafflecopter giveaway   Emblazed Button

September 21, 2013

Crimson Reign Promo

Hi everyone! We have a promo for Crimson Reign by  J.T. Cheyanne  and V.L. Moon. This book sounds really good and I like the cover.

A pulse of light preceded the gift of life breathed into the coldest and darkest of souls. Bathed in the glow of celestial love and swathed in a blanket of black satin wings nestled a king among kings, a vampire born to destroy the decay threatening to eradicate the race he was destined to save.

An angelic heart torn by yearning, suffering and pain throbbed to the rhythm of the life he created; a life prophesied in the scriptures by the Creator’s own hand. A vow of servitude given in blood sealed the fate of a Seraphim's heart and tied it eternally to the creation he craves, protects…loves. 

Ancient treaties are lost and reborn, rising from the ashes as the Nephilim ravage the vampire race. The deviant desire that soared in Malachi Denali's blood threatens to bring Rome to its knees when Malachi's world, his soul and his heart are brutally shattered and torn apart. 

Will purity born of an angel's love be enough to calm the savage mind of Malachi Denali? Or will Laziel be doomed to a life of purgatory for loving the life he was gifted to create…

This is not a HEA, or even a HFN....Who knows what will happen to seal their fate...only time will tell. Vampires, angels, demons and wolves together with love, betrayal, sadness and yearning make up the ongoing story that is... 

The Crimson Nights Saga.

Buy Links:

All Romance:

ARC Review Darkness Rises & Swag Giveaway

Darkness Rises (Immortal Guardians, #4) 
by Dianne Duvall
Krysta is used to getting the drop on vampires. Her "special abilities" aren't much, but the plan is simple -- she plays helpless pretty young thing to lure them in. Then her shoto swords come out and it's bye-bye, bloodsucker. Until one night she finds herself with an unexpected ally. He's a vampire, all right, but different. Mysterious. Handsome. And more interested in saving her skin than draining it.

Étienne has been an Immortal Guardian for two hundred years -- long enough to know that Krysta is special. He can't stop thinking about her long legs, even more than her short swords. Then he discovers the vamps she's exterminating have friends in high places, and the Guardians are in danger, too. He'll have to accept Krysta's help to save them. The stakes for a mortal are high. But the cost to his heart might be higher . .

My Review
Krysta hates vampires and spends her time killing them. She has a special ability and uses it to her advantage. After years of luring vampires in she finds herself with more vampires than she can handle. She suddenly finds she has help as a stranger helps her take out the vampires. She soon realizes he is a vampire as well and maybe all vampires aren't as bad as she always thought. Étienne has been watching Krysta and doesn't know why but she doesn't leave his mind. They both save each other and Krysta comes to know he is an Immortal Guardian. When she and her brother find themselves in danger from an old enemy of Étienne they realize they are in for the battle for their lives. As Étienne and Krysta begin to develop feelings for each other they both realize they will have to change. Étienne can't win this fight without Krysta and he is afraid to put her in danger and fears losing her.

Krysta is one tough woman. She may be afraid but she doesn't care to run into a fight or use her poor little me act to take down vampires. She is also very caring about her brother and all those that she loves. I love that she doesn't wait for a man to save her and is willing to give her life for others. This is how a female character should be. Étienne is a tough guy as well. He has lived a long life and Krysta changes his world. He will do anything to protect her but he doesn't try to put her in a bubble. he lets her take chances and lets her make up her own mind.

I love this series and learning more about each Immortal Guardian. Krysta and Étienne make a wonderful couple and I loved reading about how they learned to trust each other. You also get to see many of the other great characters you already know if you have read the previous books. This book has the danger and action you need to make a wonderful book in this genre. There is a few mysteries to solve as enemies appear that you think have already been took care of. The action scenes are amazing one I really loved involves Krysta and a helicopter. You also have humor thrown in that gives it that personally touch to were you get a feel for the characters personality. I love what all they do to Étienne's phone. Besides these two you also get to see more of characters you might have wondered about and I look forward to continuing this journey when the next book comes out. Lets not forget you also get the steamy side as well. Krysta and Étienne work well together in that area as well. The author does a phenomenal job in create the perfect blend of all things to make a wonderful book. If you haven't tried this series yet do so now.However I will say it is very addictive so be warned

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

I have swag packs to give away to 5 winners. It is open international simply comment below thanking Dianne for it and a way to contact you in case you win. Open for one week.

September 20, 2013

A Night at the Asylum Blog Tour - Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the A Night at the Asylum Blog Tour. We have info on the book and a giveaway for you all.

Sara Featherstone is a loser. At twenty she is still indentured to her parents, her best friend is a closet clairvoyant, and her long-time boyfriend has just dumped her and refuses to tell her why. Five years ago her world ended with her brother, Tommy, running his motorcycle into a tree, and the life she might have lived had never started. 

Catapulted into the dark streets after a "visitation" from Tommy, Sara has no idea that all that wasted time is about to catch up with her. A chance encounter with a man wielding a knife sets in motion a chain of events so bizarre that Sara will soon question everything she has ever believed. From her boyfriend's fidelity to her best friend's innocence to what her brother knew about a missing classmate, irony is about to make Sara its bitch, and the next twelve hours could be her last.
Links (on sale for 99 cents with coupon code YG36F) (Amazon, paperback and ebook)


Wildfire Cover Reveal Release Day!

Hey everyone we have the cover reveal and release news for Wildfire by Mina Khan. I'll let Mina tell you all about it and be sure to check out the teaser and giveaway. I will have a review of this great book up this coming week.

Cover Reveal & Book Release Announcement
Wildfire: A Paranormal Mystery with Cowboys and Dragons

It’s so great to be celebrating my new release with Paranormal Reads! Woot! I’m thrilled to share my novel, Wildfire: A Paranormal Mystery with Cowboys and Dragons, with you and your readers. Check out my cover:


Lynn Hana Alexander is a 25-year-old Japanese American shape-shifter haunted by guilt. She’s been questioning herself and her dragon abilities ever since she failed to save her grandmother.

When her best friend is threatened by mysterious fires burning up acres of West Texas, Lynn rushes to the rescue determined not to fail again. However, with a tempting firefighter, a flirty city developer and dragon pheromones distracting her, how is she going to find the arsonist?

And worse: is her primary suspect a malicious rogue dragon or the love of her life?

Want a taste? Here’s an excerpt:

Closing her eyes, Lynn Hana Alexander inhaled the dank smell of the bayou and summoned the change.

Heat crackled across her skin, filled her mind, as blue-green scales rippled over her body giving her tan a bronze sheen. Lynn’s core dissolved to molten lava, reformed and hardened. Muscles stretched and grew stronger, bones pushed and molded flesh. Nubs emerged from her back, elongated and flared into wings. A deep burn spread from her gut, igniting cell after cell, until she shook like a live wire juiced on raw power.

Her leathery wings flailed behind her as she stumbled around a bit before settling into the new weight. One would think a five foot one and half-inch Asian American woman would transform into a delicate, miniature-poodle type of dragon. Not so. In dragon-form, Lynn was seven feet of sharp scales, sinuous muscle and steely strength.

She raised her face to the moon and launched from the roof. Below her, Buffalo Bayou wound through downtown Houston glittering like a net of diamonds under the silver moonlight. The tremendous beat of her wings drowned out her worries for a moment.

Buy Links: Smashwords  Amazon  B&N  ARe  Kobo


If you’d like a signed paperback copy of Wildfire, check out my Goodreads giveaway!

Also, I have created a special giveaway to celebrate Wildfire release with dragonlicious prizes! Check out the raffle copter.

Author Bio:

Mina Khan is a Texas-based writer and food enthusiast. She writes about djinns (genies), dragons, hunks and whatever else sparks her fancy. She also writes a weekly food column for the San Angelo Standard-Times as Rashda Khan. Originally from Bangladesh, she is now a proud West Texan.
Her first published work, The Djinn's Dilemma, won the novella category of the 2012 Romance Through The Ages (published) contest. A Tale of Two Djinns won the 2013 Readers’ Crown for best paranormal romance.

For more information check out her:

To sign up for Mina’s quarterly newsletter with release updates and inside information on the stories, please check out:  

Ward Against Darkness - Review

Ward Against Darkness (Chronicles of a Reluctant Necromancer #2)
by Melanie Card
The last thing Ward de'Ath wants is more trouble. On the run from both the law and the criminal underworld, Ward and Celia flee Brawenal City only to stumble into the mansion of a powerful evil necromancer. And when Ward discovers the man possesses a dangerous grimoire, his duty leaves him no choice. He can't allow the necromancer to keep the grimoire. But the mansion is filled with monsters--human and undead--and Ward has no way of telling who's friend or foe. The only person he can trust is Celia who dominates more of his thoughts and feelings everyday. But there are still laws in the way of anything but friendship. She's still dead and he's still alive . . . for now.

My Review
Ward and Celia are on the run. They find shelter at mansion that a powerful necromancer owns. They don't tell who they are and are just looking for a place to hide. What they find is this is a strange place where everyone acts funny and you can't tell who is good or bad. The necromancer has a dangerous grimoire and Ward knows he has to get it from him. Along with all this Ward has to figure out how he brought Celia back from the dead and just what they feel for each other.

I have not read the first book in this series and while that would have probably been a big help, I still enjoyed this story a lot. The author gives you enough insight so you don't get to lost. That being said once I got the base of the back story down I settled in and found this a very entertaining book. Celia was a great character and I like watching her try to figure out just what she is. She is there to help Ward in any way she can and she struggles to talk to him about how she feels. She is also faced with an ex and has to deal with her feelings over that. Ward has to try and figure out his magic and hide that he isn't all knowing and work on improving. He also knows he can't let the evil one keep the grimoire and has to figure out how to get it away. He is also struggling with talking to Celia about what he feels. These two just don't know how to really talk to each other. This book has all kinds of action and lots of danger and magic. You see some monsters and not just the ones that were made. I look forward to getting the first to see how they got here and look forward to the next book.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

September 14, 2013

2013 Debut Authors Bash with Elsie Chapman

Debut Authors Bash at

Hey everyone! We are taking part in the Debut Author Bash and we have an interview with Elsie Chapman Author of Dualed which is a wonderful book. It has a very fresh idea and really makes you think. You would not guess it is her first book. I will post info on the book after the interview.

Where did the idea for Dualed come from?
My son, actually. He asked me about the possibility of everyone having an unknown twin out there, and the question eventually led to Dualed.

Is it hard to decide which will live and which will die?
It sounds heartless, but no, not really. Sometimes the answer is obvious, but when it’s not, I choose the character whose death will hurt the most.

How many books will be in the series?
It’s a duology, as far as I know.

What do you do when you’re not writing?
Making gifs for my personal tumblr or thinking about writing. Most likely both at the same time. Trying to whittle down my massive TBR pile, as well. Movies!
Is there a type of book you will never write?
I think I can safely say a western.

Do any of your characters share the traits with you?
POC. My characters are all of mixed ethnicities. I also knew I didn’t want to specify what races they were, so I just made them live in a world where they are everything.

What are you working on now?
Edits for Dualed’s sequel, which is called Divided. I also have a couple of other manuscripts lying around, each about halfway done. So I need to gear myself up for finishing at least one of those.

Where can fans stalk you at?
My website,author tumblr,twitter,facebook.

What is the first book you remember reading?
It’s not the first, but The Golden Phoenix by Marius Barbeau is a book I really loved as a kid.

In the city of Kersh, everyone must eliminate their genetic Alternate twin, raised by another family, before their twentieth birthday. West Grayer, 15, has trained as a fighter, and has one month to hunt and kill her Alt. A tragic misstep shakes her confidence. Guilty, grieving, she feels unworthy, runs from her Alt and from love - both can destroy her.

You can also see my review of the book here.

We would like to thank Elsie Chapman for being with us today and be sure if you get the chance to check out her amazing book!

Bound By Night - Review

Bound By Night by Larissa Ione
Nicole Martin was only eight years old when the vampire slaves rose up in rebellion and killed her family. Now she devotes her life to finding a vaccine against vampirism, hoping to wipe out her memories—along with every bloodsucker on the planet. But there’s one thing she cannot destroy: her searing, undeniable attraction for the one man she should hate and fear the most . . .

A member of the renegade vampire MoonBound Clan, Riker is haunted by demons of his own. When he recognizes Nicole and remembers how her family enslaved his loved ones, his heart burns for vengeance. But when he kidnaps Nicole and holds her in a secret lair, his mortal enemy becomes his soul obsession, his greatest temptation, and, perhaps, his only salvation—a hot-blooded lover who could heal him with her touch . . . or bury him forever.

My Review
After a vampire attack when she was 8 years old Nicole Martin hates vampires. Now that she is grown she is working on a vaccine for Vampirism. She wants to clear out all of them and make the world a better place. Her family kept vampire slaves for years bu she doesn't like being around them. Riker a member of MoonBound Clan part of the renegade vampires still free sets out on a desperate mission and comes across Nicole. He remembers her from the past and only wants to use her to help get his revenge against the ones that hurt and enslaved his loved ones for years. They both have reasons to hate each other and want each other dead. However the more they are together they find they can't help but be drawn to each other and seem to be falling in love. That in itself is a dangerous thing as a war between clans and humans seems to be drawing closer and time is running out.

Nicole is a smart woman with horrible memories from her attack. While she hates all vampires she still has fond memories of one woman vampire. She watched that woman get killed by other vampires and will not let that go. She tries to stay in control but other things seem to always take her control away. She isn't afraid to step up and do the right thing either. She has to adjust her way of thinking about many things and does a great job at it. Riker is a brooding, sexy, loner vampire even if he is a member of a clan. He is tough and really cares for those he loves. He is scared of loving anyone cause they might be killed and doesn't know how to talk to people. He will do anything to do the right thing as well and sometimes has trouble letting go of the past. These are the two main characters but there is so many other great ones you get to meet.

I have to say if the rest of the series is like this book we are all in for a fantastic series. You get a great new world that has an amazing theme with fantastic characters. I wanted to read this book when I heard about it and it didn't let me down. The author has done a wonderful job with it. You get lots of action as human vs vampires and sometimes vampires against vampires. You keep on the edge wanting to know what is going to happen and if it Riker and Nicole can get past everything and be together. Be prepare for lots of surprises as the true evil of people comes to light. You won't see some of these coming and Riker has one huge surprise he never expected. I think it adds a great touch to the book. If you are looking for the next thrilling vampire book here it is. I eagerly and impatiently await the next book.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

End of Dreams - Review

End of Dreams by Kim Faulks
A vicious killer hunts a young pregnant woman. He wants more than her blood--he wants her baby too. 

Young Eve dreams of being a good mother to her unborn son, that dream is shattered when child killer, Edric Hasting finds her in the middle of the night.

Haunted by the images of black wings on her baby’s ultrasound and the killers last words Eve knows her only hope of survival is to run. 

She soon finds hard-bitten detective Adley Scott who dreams of justice for a string of murdered children which hit too close to home. 

A group of Immortals are drawn into Eve’s battle for survival as events are played out across the globe by two opposing factions of immortal beings. 

The fragile, divine balance of all things is at stake, and the world is the ultimate prize.

Against a background of universe-changing events and an ensemble of vivid, unforgettable characters, Eve and Adley will have to fight to survive as they begin to learn the truth of The Immortal Destiny.

My Review
Eve is young and pregnant. All she wants is a good life for her her unborn child. However a killer that that like to kill children has her in his sites. Edric wants her baby and her blood and he has to have it. As Eve sees her only chance is to run she has help from Adley Scott who wants the killer brought to justice almost more than anyone. Eve also can't get her ultrasound pictures out of her mind. She knows she saw black wings in the picture but doesn't know what it means.Eve's survival means a lot to many people including a group of Immortals who have two sides. Good and evil are playing out a war and Eve may play an important part in the war for the world that most people don't know is going on.

Let me start off by saying this is a hard book to read. Not hard in it is written badly but hard as it has some very harsh scenes. From the beginning you see how evil the killer Edric is. He loves to kill children and nothing is held back. If you can't stand to read about this subject this book is not for you. If you can get past that or you can read that let me say this book is very dark and twisted but is masterfully done. The author does a great job create a dark place that will haunt your mind. There is many characters you get to meet in this book and all play a part in the battle for the world. There is plenty of suspense in this book even if you already know who the killer is you still don't know what will happen next for Eve and Adley. There is many more characters you get to see and several you get to read the book from their POV. This is not a book you can read quickly. You need to take you time with it because a lot is going on and you don't want to miss anything. This book would be a great one even without the Immortals but add them in and it gives it a great touch. It adds a whole new twist that you have to keep reading to see what will happen next. I would recommend to anyone who likes a dark book and can read books that deal with a child killer. If you can't read a book with these don't bother to pick this one up.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Awaken The Fire - Review

Awaken The Fire (The Adventures of Star Lite #3)
by Naomi Bellina
To stop an evil force she must learn to unleash her fire while dealing with a shape-shifter, dangerous men and a mercurial, magical lover.

Along with rewards, magic breeds danger. Star, Adam and Tristan submit to study with the secret authoritarian group, the Vigilar, in preparation to reveal the existence of magical beings to the world. But will this knowledge be used for good or evil?

Doubts creep in when Star is assigned to work with Lucas—a man from Adam’s past—a man known to have dangerous ideas. Bigger problems arise during a sensual ménage when they discover a shape-changer dragon in their midst. Lucas claims the Vigilar plan to use shifters, especially powerful beings like dragons, for malevolent purposes, which puts Star and her special abilities in danger. Adam must devise a strategy to thwart the Vigilar and learn more about this controlling entity. While implementing their plans, Star struggles with the fear of unleashing—and learning to control—all the powers within her.

She struggles, too, with her feelings for Adam. Should she fight against her deepening love for a man who could desire power more than he loves her? The combustion of a potent sexual ritual forces Adam to face the question of their love and for Star to awaken the fire within.

My Review
Star, Adam and Tristen have agreed to help the Vigilal in the preparation that the world will soon know about magical creatures. What they hope is that the Vigilal will use the knowledge they gain from them will be used for good and not evil. Several things soon show signs evil is what they have in mind. They have Star paired up to study with Lucas a man from Adam's past who can be dangerous. There is also the problem that when the three have to test there love magical a creature from the past comes out. It seems dragon shifters aren't extinct and one is there now. The Vigilal may want Star and her power for their own evil plans. Star also has to figure out what is going on with her and Adam. Are they in love or is Adam wanting power more?

Star is a character that is easy to like. She thought herself as normal at one time and now she has powers that grow all the time. It seems we still haven't seen all she can do. She loves Adam but is really afraid to show it. She doesn't care to do what she thinks is right and uses her power for good. She also cares for Tristen but not in the same way as Adam. Adam is great as usual but you have to question what he will do a few times. Instead of making you like him less you actually feel for him as you get to see more inside his head and what is making him tick. The chemistry and heat between he and Star is something you can see. Tristan is charming as always and you also get to see how even he can fall for people. 

This whole series has been great so far and I think this is my favorite so far. There is so many more elements that get added to the story. You get more magical and paranormal things that aren't just thrown in but add a great touch to the story and you get to see an awesome dragon shifter that most of the time can be meek when senses her mate can be deadly. You also have intrigue as you try to figure out just what the Vigilal is after. Let's not forget the sexy side of this book as it plays a part as well. This also for me stepped up a notch and I love reading about them getting steamy together. That the sex adds powers to their magic is just a bonus for me. I believe anyone who like a steamy paranormal book that has a great story line will enjoy this book.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam
This review is the property of Pam and not be shared or copied unless by the publisher or Author or unless credit is given.

September 12, 2013

Falling For Grace Cover Reveal

Hey everyone! Today we have the cover reveal for Falling For Grace and an excerpt. It sounds great and the cover is awesome. First some about the book.

Falling for Grace, book two in the Four Winds series by Anne Conley
Release date: October 15, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Rafael is one of God’s Four Winds, the Archangel of Healing. He has answered the countless prayers for healing of loved ones, wondering what it was about the emotion that made humans willing to sacrifice so much.

Grace is a lifeguard who has been on Rafe’s radar since she lost a little boy three years ago. What she doesn’t realize is the green haze that comes over her during a rescue is actually a diving presence who’s about to give up his celestial body to become a very real entity in her life.

While Grace is trying to overcome her own demon, Rafe is discovering his own sexuality, but there’s a darker presence making himself known. The Deceiver wants what Rafe is getting, and he’ll do whatever it takes to have her.

Excerpt from Falling for Grace:
Rafe was in the bathroom, brushing his teeth the next morning, reflecting on his corporeal body.

Teeth brushing. That wasn't a normal thing for him. Neither was showering. Or shaving. 

Usually, his work was done on a different realm. He traveled in the cosmic soup, visiting people in their dreams, subconsciously, or their conscious minds. He became a temporary part of their psyche. He dropped in on surgeons during surgery, to help guide shaky, sleep-deprived hands. Rafe had passed out ideas to the stumped healers, in a sudden flash of brilliance. He visited dreams. He was responsible for many 'Eureka!' moments. 

Rarely, had he come to earth in a human body. He'd been visiting Grace during saves for the past three years in her mind, allowing her to do her job the way she had been trained to do, only providing moral support. He hadn't had to step in with her, yet.

Head-hopping was one of his many talents. He had the ability to jump inside of another person's head and sense what they were thinking. He didn't get clear visions, only vague perceptions. As tempting as it was to be inside her mind all the time, he hadn't done it to Grace.


He enjoyed having a body. It felt good. He stood in front of the mirror, a towel wrapped around his waist, sensing his body. He could feel the muscles in his arm and shoulder flex as he brushed, enjoyed the feel of the bristles against his teeth and tongue. He flexed his toes against the bathmat, scrunching them into the thick pile, feeling his calves bunch. He rubbed the sleep out of his eyes, delighted at the various ways that the human body secreted by-products. Marvelous.

The delight in feeling himself was interrupted by Grace opening the bathroom door, surprising him. He turned to her, and gaped, undone by what he saw.

She was standing there, bleary-eyed, wearing nothing but a knit camisole and a pair of the tiniest bikini panties he'd ever seen on a woman in the flesh. He was frozen, eyes wide, toothbrush in his mouth, toothpaste foaming and dripping, looking like a rabid dog. He was aware of his groin muscles tightening, his testicles shrinking abruptly.

Grace was frozen too. He saw her jaw drop, framing her wide luscious mouth in a perfect O. Her blue eyes widened, and an attractive blush crawled up her chest to her cheeks. Her wide eyes traveled from his face down his torso, to the towel wrapped around his waist before dropping to her feet, where they began the climb up her own body.

She snapped her mouth shut, and she began to sputter as realization dawned.

"I-I'm so sorry. I should have knocked." Her hands went to cover herself. "I'm not used to a man living here." Turning, she tossed over her shoulder as she darted out of the bathroom, "I'll just use the other one!"

Chuckling to himself, Rafe looked down, noticing his erection, making a tent out of his towel. The tightness in his groin should have been a give away, but he'd been so taken aback by her appearance in the doorway that he hadn't taken in the implications of his blood flow altering its course from his testicles to other places. 

Spitting out the toothpaste and rinsing his mouth, Rafe whistled as he went into his room to dress for the day.  It would be exciting, he was sure.

Contact the author:
Twitter: @anneconley10

About the author: 
Anne Conley lives in a small town in East Texas with her husband, two kids, and thirty goats. She writes all day, reads all night, and is prides herself on not being in the running for Mommy of the Year, as her kids are lucky to make it to school with socks and underwear on. She brazenly stole her pseudonym from her great-grandmother, a true pioneer woman who raised seven kids alone: churning butter, plucking chickens, knitting clothes, and putting coal oil on every visible wound.

Buy links for Book one in the Four Winds Series, Falling for Heaven, which is .99
Barnes and Noble:

September 10, 2013

Trapped In Stone - Review

Trapped in Stone (Dark vs. Light book 1) by Linda Thomas-Sundstrom
Trapped in Stone... (Dark vs. Light book 1)
The forces of God and Evil are vying for the soul of one man on top of Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. The woman who loves him has vowed to change his fate.

My Review
Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris is the place lots of people love to visit. What everyone doesn't know is it is the center for a war between good and evil. Izzy has come back hoping she can help save Tristan the man she had a part in trapping in the Cathedral. She also loves him and will do anything to help give him his life back. Tris remembers Izzy and her love keeps him going. He doesn't realize how things have changed. Both sides seem to want part of him and he wants to keep Izzy safe. She however will fight to the death to protect him. How will the battle end?

Izzy is supposed to be on the bad side. She has done many bad things but she has had reasons for doing them. She fell in love along time ago with Tris and will do anything to make up for her part. She is one heck of a fighter and will take on anyone. Tris has many secrets of his own and fell in love with Izzy to his surprise. He wants to help her and will sacrifice anything for her. They both are very protective of each other and are truly soul mates I believe.

I really enjoyed this story. It is a quick fascinating book. Set in a place that has always fascinated me this book made me look at the Cathedral in a whole new light. You get some of it all in this book. You have lots of action as it is a battle of good versus evil. You really get to see more of the darker side than good. I love all the different creatures in this book, You have gargoyles, witches, demons, angels and so much more. You also get some nice steamy scenes when Tris and Lizzy get together. The sure do heat the pages up. I was surprised at the ending as I didn't know what to expect. I tried to figure it our but I had no idea at the secret was revealed. If you love paranormal books with a great mixture of creatures pick this one up.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam