November 29, 2013

Seraphina Parrish Trilogy Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Hi everyone! Today we have a stop on the Seraphina Parrish Trilogy Blog Tour. There is info on all three books, a review of Seeing Light and a giveaway for you all.

Title- Wander Dust 
Series- Seraphina Parrish Trilogy # 1 
By- Michelle Warren
Publication Date- November 30, 2013
Genre- YA/Fantasy/Time Travel/Romance

Ever since her sixteenth birthday, strange things keep happening to Seraphina Parrish. Unexplainable premonitions catapult her to faraway cities. A street gang wants to kill her, and a beautiful, mysterious boy stalks her.

But when Sera moves to Chicago, and her aunt reveals their family connection to a centuries old, secret society, she’s immediately thrust into an unbelievable fantasy world, leading her on a quest to unravel the mysteries that plague her. In the end, their meanings crash into an epic struggle of loyalty and betrayal, and she’ll be forced to choose between the boy who has stolen her heart and the thing she desires most.

Wander Dust is the breathtaking fantasy that will catapult you through a story of time, adventure, and love.


Title- Protecting Truth 
Series- Seraphina Parrish Trilogy # 2 
By- Michelle Warren
Publication Date- September 19th, 2012
Genre- YA/Fantasy/Time Travel/Romance 

Seraphina’s keeping a secret from her Wandering team: she’s perfecting her fighting skills. But telling Sam and Bishop the truth would only alert them to her plan: to go back in time, save her mom, and finish what she started. With the help of Turner, Bishop’s handsome twin, she progresses toward her goal but plummets deeper into dangerous territory where the lines of friendship and romance are blurred. One passionate kiss changes everything, leading Sera to unravel a shocking web of family secrets, heartbreaking ulterior motives, and sinister agendas. Love and lies collide in a haunting climax, where the truest souls may not survive.


Title- Seeing Light 
Series- Seraphina Parrish Trilogy # 3 
By- Michelle Warren 
Publication Date- October 10th, 2013
Genre-YA/Fantasy/Time Travel/Romance

As the corruption of the Society intensifies and the questions surrounding her mother mount, Seraphina Parrish embarks on a journey to find Terease in the terrifying Wandering city of Nocturna. But the information she learns there only sends her team on a dangerous mission to fulfill an ancient prophecy. Delving deep into the disturbing secrets of their world, the revelations quickly unravel, revealing shocking truths about the Society and Sera’s life. In the end, power and courage clash in a mission for freedom that may shatter the Wandering world completely.

My Review
Sera sets out to discover the secrets the Society has and to find her mother. She and her team go on dangerous journeys to see if they can fulfill a prophecy and she discovers more that she thought she ever would. With danger all around she still won't back down until she uncovers it all. It may just change her life in more ways than one.

I have really enjoyed the first two books in this series and this made the perfect ending to a great series. Starting up where the last book ended we continue Sera's journey. She really grew a lot on me in this book as she wouldn't back down and really went after what she wanted. I love all the adventure and twist this books take you on. You see more of the Society, Wanderers and more. Plus more time traveling that really intrigued me and kept me turning the pages. I never knew what the author would happen next. This book is really different than other books and the whole series will please many. I am being vague as to not ruin anything for anyone but you must read this. The author does a great job in this world she has created it is one while your happy with the ending your still sad it's over.

I think this is my favorite cover so far in the series and they are all beautiful!

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam


About the Author-
Michelle Warren is the author of the Seraphina Parrish Trilogy. She didn't travel the road to writer immediately. She spent over a decade as professional Illustrator and designer. Her artistic creativity combined with her love of science fiction, paranormal and fantasy led her to write her first YA novel, Wander Dust. Michelle loves reading and traveling to places that inspire her to create. She resides in downtown Chicago, not far from her imaginary Wandering world.


Pinterest Boards- 


Be sure to check out all the stops.
Tour Schedule
November 1st-
The Lit Loon- Review of all three books 

November 2nd-
Living in a Bookworld-Review of Seeing Light 

November 3rd-
Anny Books and Movies- Review of all three books 

November 4th-
Good Choice Reading- Review of Seeing Light 

November 5th-
YA Book Addict- Review of Wander Dust 

November 6th-
Me, Myself & Books Blog- Review of Seeing Light 
Paranormal Book Club- Review of all three books 

November 7th-
Once Upon a YA Book- Review of all three books 

November 8th-
Bookworm Betties- Review of Seeing Light 

November 9th-
Jenny Tolentino- Review of Protecting Truth & Seeing Light 

November 10th-
Bookish and Bushytailed- Review of all three books 
I Loves 2 Read-Review of Seeing Light 

November 11th
Brandee’s Book Endings- Review of Wander Dust 

November 12th-
Bookworm Betties-Review of Wander Dust 
Donnie Darko Girl- Review of Wander Dust 

November 13th-
Bookland Paradise-Review of all three books

November 14th- 
Motif Ink- Review of all three books 

November 15th-
Much Loved Reads- Review of Seeing Light 
Tammy’s Tea Time- Review of all three books 

November 16th-
Reading Bliss- Review of all three books 

November 17th-
Reading After Midnight- Review of Seeing Light 
Behind a Million and One Pages- Review of Protecting Truth & Seeing Light 

November 18th-
A Word’s Worth- Review of Seeing Light 

November 19th-
Roxy Kade- Review of all three books
Starry Night Book Reviews- Review of Seeing Light 

November 20th-
Petrichor-Review of Wander Dust
Manifestations of my Mind- Review of Wander Dust

November 21st-
Kristia S- Review of Protecting Truth & Seeing Light 
Becca Anne’s Book Reviews- Review of all three books 

November 22nd-
Tangled in Pages- Review of Seeing Light 
Book Bliss- Review of all three books 

November 23rd-
Queekie Girl Reads- Review of all three books 
Desert Rose Reviews- Review of all three books 

November 24th-
It Started with a Book Blog- Review of All three books

November 25th-
The Book Ninja-Review of all three books
Bookworm for Kids- Review of Seeing Light 

November 26th-
Bottles & Books Reviews- Review of Wander Dust 
Manifestations of my Mind- Review of Protecting Truth

November 27th-
Sassy Book Lovers- Review of all three books

November 28th-
Raizza’s Book Blogging Adventure-Review of Wander Dust
I Read Indie- Review of Seeing Light 

November 29th-
Dalene’s Book Reviews- Review of all three books 
Paranormal Reads- Review of Seeing Light 
Tam’s Book Blog- Review of all three books
Just Me, Myself & I- Review of Wander Dust 

November 30th- 
Candy Coated Book Blog-Review of all three books
Paperback Princess- Review of Wander Dust 
Manifestations of my Mind- Review of Seeing Light

The Last Bastion of the Living Blitz

Hey everyone! We have the Black Friday Blitz for The Last Bastion of the Living today on the blog. There is info on the book, a guest post and a giveaway for you all.

The Last Bastion of the Living by Rhiannon Frater
Publication date: June 12th 2012
Genres: Adult, Horror, Science Fiction

The Bastion was humanity’s last hope against the fearsome undead creatures known as the Inferi Scourge. A fortified city with a high wall, surrounded by lush land rich with all the resources needed to survive, protected by high mountain summits, and a massive gate to secure the only pass into the valley, the Bastion became the last stronghold of the living on earth. But one fateful day, the gate failed and the Inferi Scourge destroyed the human settlements outside the walls and trapped the survivors inside the city. Now decades later, the last remaining humans are struggling to survive in a dying city as resources and hope dwindle.

Vanguard Maria Martinez has lived her whole life within the towering walls of steel. She yearns for a life away from the overcrowded streets, rolling blackouts, and food shortages, but there is no hope for anyone as long as the Inferi Scourge howl outside the high walls. Her only refuge from the daily grind is in the arms of her lover, Dwayne Reichardt, an officer in the Bastion Constabulary. Both are highly-decorated veterans of the last disastrous push against the Inferi Scourge. Their secret affair is her only happiness.

Then one day Maria is summoned to meet with a mysterious representative from the Science Warfare Division and is offered the opportunity to finally destroy the Inferi Scourge in the valley and close the gate. The rewards of success are great, but she will have to sacrifice everything, possibly even her life, to accomplish the ultimate goal of securing the future of humanity and saving it from extinction.


Guest Post

The Badass Heroine
Rhiannon Frater

I’m not going to lie. I need to be honest with you from the start. The honest to God truth of the matter is that I hate/despise/loathe a lot female characters that fall under the “badass” heroine banner.  I often have to suppress the deep, dark desire to give them a roundhouse kick to the face.
Well, if I could actually manage to do a roundhouse kick. I’m not that limber.
Though there are plenty of amazing, strong female characters that I absolutely love with all my heart, there are a smorgasbord of female characters that really rub me the wrong way. The reason for this is simple. Badass has been confused with women who are just plain bitchy, self-centered, and mean.  
I didn’t really realize how ingrained the bitchy heroine had become in entertainment until I saw a script for one of my books. The heroine uttered a lot of really mean, nasty comments in the first few pages of the script and I was stunned by how awful she came across. I spoke to the scriptwriter about the added dialog and he answered, “Oh, I added that because I wanted her to come across as a strong.”
“Uh, strong doesn’t mean bitchy,” I said carefully. To my surprise, and relief, he agreed and those lines were removed.
But after that event, I realized that was exactly why some heroines really rub me the wrong way. To make a woman appear strong, a lot of writers have defaulted to making her really bitchy, egocentric, and often just plain mean. It hurts me whenever I see this trope in a book, movie, or TV show. A woman doesn’t have to be a bitch to be strong or badass.
A badass female character should be someone you can see as a friend. Someone you love, cheer for, and believe in. You understand they’re flawed, but that’s okay. As they keep working hard to overcome all their obstacles and achieve a happy ending, you’re invested in their journey.
Even when my heroines have something exceptional about them like Vanguard Maria Martinez in THE LAST BASTION OF THE LIVING, they exist realistically in their circumstances. Maria’s military training, intelligence, and determination to accomplish her mission all contribute to her badass factor.  But the power that compels her to do extraordinary things isn’t her anger at an unfair world, but her love for a man who loves and respects her. Maria not only serves The Bastion, but her own heart. She struggles with fear, suffers loss, and knows that she may lose her life in the battle against the Inferi Scourge. But victory means freedom from the undead hordes and the ability to build her life with Dwayne, the man who sees beyond her hard veneer to the women she is inside.  
My goal when writing my strong female protagonists is to create realistic women who have strengths and flaws just like everyone else does.  I don’t create perfect people that have nothing bad happen to them. Or women that all the men want to be with and all other women hate. I create women who could live in our own world very easily. They could be your neighbor, friend, or family member.
In the end, I think Maria Martinez is a badass heroine because her strength doesn’t come from being bitchy, but from being a woman willing to do her very best to overcame the most terrible odds.
Rhiannon Frater is the award-winning author of over a dozen books, including the As the World Dies zombie trilogy (Tor), as well as independent works such as The Last Bastion of the Living (declared the #1 Zombie Release of 2012 by Explorations Fantasy Blog and the #1 Zombie Novel of the Decade by B&N Book Blog), and other horror novels. Her next novel for Tor, Dead Spots, will be published in 2014. She was born and raised a Texan and presently lives in Austin, Texas with her husband and furry children (a.k.a pets). She loves scary movies, sci-fi and horror shows, playing video games, cooking, dyeing her hair weird colors, and shopping for Betsey Johnson purses and shoes. 

You can find her online at:
Email: rhiannonfrater at


The Last Bastion of the Living will be on sale for $0.99 on Black Friday. Be sure to grab your copy!

November 26, 2013

Death is but a Dream Blog Tour - Review & Giveaway

Death is but a Dream by Erin Hayes 
Publication date: Fall, 2013 
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Caught between life and death, all Callie wants is to live again.

Homicide detective Callie Saunders knows that death isn’t all pearly gates and angels. After being hit by a bus, she finds that it's the ancient gods and goddesses of Greek mythology who are in charge of everything.

So when Hades offers her a deal, she accepts. If she wants to be brought back to life, she’ll have to figure out who is trying to kill his son. But if she fails, both her soul and the world will be destroyed.

With the odds mounting against her, it’ll take everything she has within her to wake up from death. But the rules are constantly changing. And someone wants her to stay dead

My Review
Callie has missed her father for years. he is the reason she became a homicide detective. After she gets hit by a bus she gets offered a chance to live again. All she has to do is save Hades son and find out who is trying to kill him. Now she is in a world of Gods, Goddesses and more. If she can solve this mystery she will get her life back if she fails she will lose her soul and  the world will go into chaos. She has to solve this fast as she only has so much time and she is beginning to fall for Hades son.

Callie is a wonderful character. She is strong, smart and doesn't give up. She will do whatever she can to keep Plutus safe and she tries her best to fight her feelings for him. Plutus isn't like the other gods. He was born with a few disabilities that make him different. He is a god of something  I wouldn't have thought would be to bad but after seeing it through his eyes I see different. He is great as just when he is about to give up Callie gives him hope. Even with his disabilities he still tries to protect Callie as she does him.

I love books with mythology and this is a fascinating one. You get to see many gods and goddesses and see just how spiteful and selfish some of them can be. I love the addition of some minor characters as well like the Fury. I really liked her. From the start you know it's a mystery and you just have to keep reading to see who it is. I was surprised at who it was but it doesn't stop there. So much more happens you never know where danger is going to appear or who will show up next. I loved all the twist and turns. Not to mention the love that grows between Callie and Plutus. They have something very special and I was surprised at how the book ended. I wanted to know more. That is a sign it is a fascinating book. If you like mythology, action or just an amazing book be sure to pick this one up.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam


Sci-fi junkie, video game nerd, and wannabe manga artist Erin Hayes writes a lot of things. Sometimes she writes books, like the fantasy mystery Death is but a Dream and the sci-fi middle grade book Jacob Smith is Incredibly Average. You can reach her at and she’ll be happy to chat. Especially if you want to debate Star Wars.

Author Links:


Thankful Guest Post from Author Janiera Eldridge

We are happy to have Author Janiera Eldridge here with us today. We have a guest post from her and info on her book Soul Sisters

Guest Post
I’m Thankful For Authors This Thanksgiving!

This year has been extremely challenging and I’m not ashamed to say it hasn’t been the best one ever. There are three things though that I’m most grateful for:

My new, beautiful rescue dog Mua
My amazing readers and fans
And other authors

Yes, I’m an author screaming loud and proud “I’m thankful for other authors!” I mean I can’t read my own books over and over again right? That would get terribly boring! Books have helped me get through my most depressing days or through a bad Fibromyalgia episode. The chance to escape to another world without leaving your bedroom is absolutely priceless.

Of course books cost, but they usually provide hours of entertainment so the asking price is almost always fair!

Lately, there’s been a lot of drama in the book world. Indie and traditionally published authors alike have become extremely clannish. Many authors are currently only promoting who they think will get them to the top of the bestsellers list or authors that sell as many books at them. There’s been a huge loss of sharing and gratitude in the book community and that to me is really sad because there is enough room for everyone to be successful.

I for one want to say I’m thankful for ALL authors who write ALL different types of books! If these authors didn’t take time out of their busy lives to provide us with new worlds, characters and locations to lose ourselves in… we’d have to face reality. 

Really, who wants to do that?

I know readers are thankful for authors. Readers buying and reading our books is the best “thank you” in the world!

I encourage you authors, this holiday season to share your gratefulness for other authors instead of focusing on the more competitive side of being a writer. Why? Because “If you don’t have time to read you certainly don’t have time to write.” -Stephen King.

May my fellow authors and readers have an amazing Thanksgiving!

Soul Sisters is an urban fantasy novel about African-American twin sisters Ani and Dana who have a rather unique secret: one sister is human while the other is a vampire. While the sisters have lived peacefully with each other for many years one fateful night will change both their lives forever. When a drunken man tries to attack Dana (the human sister) Ani (the vampire sister) protects her sister with all of her ferocious power. 

However, when the vampire’s leader Donovan finds out about the public display he calls for the sisters to be assassinated for disobedience. Ani and Dana now are in for the fight of their lives to protect each other as well as the lives of their dedicated friends who have joined them on their mission for survival. If Dana and Ani can make it through this time of uncertainty, Ani can take her new place as vampire queen. Soul Sisters is expected to be a trilogy; The book also features a multicultural cast of characters that brings a new edge of chic to the vampire world.

Urban Fantasy

Release Date: August 18th, 2012

Buy Links:
(You can also read an excerpt of the book on Amazon)
Amazon (Kindle) 

About the author:

Janiera enjoys feeding her book addiction when she not writing. She is also a book blogger at Beauty and Books where she mixes being a book nerd with keeping things chic. When not reading or writing she is freelance writing in the entertainment industry. When trying to relax she likes a huge yard sale on a Saturday morning, rainy days to read by and nacho cheese is her kryptonite. Soul Sisters is her debut novel.

Connect with her:
Blog: Beauty and Books:

Make a video of your own at Animoto.

Title: Dark Expectations (Book 2 in the Soul Sisters Trilogy)

Author: Janiera Eldridge
Release Day: October 31, 2012

Synopsis: With Ani taking her place as queen, there are some enemies lurking she could never imagine! There's a secret compound in California that wants to know the secrets to making a vampire or werewolf. When they kidnap Ani during a trip back to California they might actually get what they want. Her sister Dana, her lover Diego and other vampires do everything they can to get her back. If they don't succeed, they face being controlled completely by the human race forever! Dark Expectations is the exciting sequel to Soul Sisters that's full of adventure, danger and what it means to be queen!

Buy Links:
Amazon (Paperback & Kindle)

November 21, 2013

Zoey Rogue - Review

Zoey Rogue (Incubatti #1) by Lizzy Ford

** Recommended for ages 17+ due to sexual situations, language and mature subject matter **

He only needs three nights to make her his …

With more heart than sense, fearless, beautiful Zoey has saved countless college-aged women from horrifying deaths at the hands of supernatural sadists. She may be a mere half-succubus in a society that views half-breeds with derision, but she still retains the highest rescue rate of any Hunter in the Sucubatti society.

As the calm, disciplined leader of the Incubatti Enforcers, Declan is the polar opposite of Zoey – and the sworn enemy of her society. Forced to rescue her one night, Declan realizes two things: he doesn’t need someone as wild and independent as Zoey in his life – and he can’t live without her. 

In this world, there’s only one incubus for every sucubatti and Zoey and Declan are stuck with each other. They’re just as likely to kill each other as they are to yield to each other’s sex magic.

She has authority issues and drinks too much. He is the irresistibly sexy incubus pre-ordained to tame her. Neither can fight their intense attraction, and yet trusting each other is out of the question. 

What happens when their worlds crash down around them?

Strike three. You’re mine.

My Review
Zoey takes it as her mission in life to rescue girls from the paranormal sadists. She has the highest ranking hunter in the Sucubatti society. She is a halfling and the society thinks very little of them. She meets Declan one night and the battle for her heart begins. She wants nothing to do with him as he is a Incubus and her enemy. They are meant for each other and no matter that they don't want to be together it can't be helped. Secrets come out that shake everything Zoey has ever knew and now a true battle has begun.

Zoey likes to party, takes chances and doesn't think before she acts. She is also very smart, sexy and there is more to her than even she knows. She is an excellent fighter and while she doesn't want to she can't help but want Declan. Declan is the sexy Incubus who I love. He is so yummy you can't help but want him. He doesn't like having someone meant for him any more than Zoey does but he knows he has to have her. He has a lot going on and tries his best to balance things and keep Zoey out of trouble.

I haven't read many books about Incubus or Sucubatti and this was a nice change of pace. The plot is a good one and you learn more as you read the book. There is plenty of fight scenes as Zoey is always after some action and saving people. I like how she did try to live a normal life in a way but it just wasn't for her. There is quite a few twist and turns a few I have to say I didn't see coming at all. Even meant for each other Duncan and Zoey don't instantly fall for each other. They do try and fight it and that is a nice touch. There is plenty of steaminess as they deal a lot with sex magic. I will definitely pick up the next book to see what happens next for Zoey. The battle it seems has just begun.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Countdown - Review

by Michelle Rowen

3 seconds left to live. Once the countdown starts, it cannot be stopped. 

2 pawns thrown into a brutal underground reality game. 

Kira Jordan survived her family's murder and months on plague-devastated city streets with hard-won savvy and a low-level psi ability. She figures she can handle anything. Until she wakes up in a barren room, chained next to the notorious Rogan Ellis. 

1 reason Kira will never, ever trust Rogan. Even though both their lives depend on it. 

Their every move is controlled and televised for a vicious exclusive audience. And as Kira's psi skill unexpectedly grows and Rogan's secrets prove evermore deadly, Kira's only chance of survival is to risk trusting him as much as her instincts. Even if that means running head-on into the one trap she can't escape. 


My Review
Kira has survived many things like her family getting murdered and living on the streets. She does good at getting by until she wakes up chained next to Rogan. Now she finds she has to play a game for the entertainment of some. If she wins she gets the life she has always wanted if she fails she dies. She doesn't trust Rogan but has to depend on him to get through some of the obstacles. With the help of her psi ability she discovers more than she thought possible in this game for her life.

Kira has an ability she really doesn't use a lot. She doesn't trust easy and at times feels a little guilty she survived and her family didn't. I will say I was surprised by her actions at times as I thought she would do something different. I really liked her and how she is strong and does not give up.Rogan is from the spoiled lucky ones in this new world and should have it made. He doesn't and has been thrown into the game as punishment. He has a fews secrets that he doesn't want to come out. He keeps trying to help Kira even if she doesn't trust him. I liked him a lot. He seems like the bad boy at first bur the more you get to know him the more you see beneath at what he really is.

I have read a few dystopian books like this one but it does stand out and is very entertaining. I didn't want to put it down as I had to see what happened next. It seemed like half the time they wouldn't make it off the show alive. I loved all the twist and turns you didn't see coming. The author does a great job keeping you on your toes. Kira really has no one she thinks she can trust and while she thinks her ability is nothing big. it comes in handy in this book. I like giving her a smaller power and seeing what she can do with it. I will say don't think you have it all figured out or who you think is good or bad because you may be wrong. If you love dystopian books try this one and the cover matches the book really well.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam 

Accidentally In Love With...A God? - Review

Accidentally In Love With...A God? (Accidentally Yours #1)
by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Trapped for decades, a powerful god seeks freedom . . . and revenge. But the only thing that can save him is the passion of a woman's touch . . . 

Emma Keane is your average city girl trying to get a date. There's just one thing holding her back: the disembodied male voice speaking to her through her mind. Sound kind of crazy? Maybe. But crazy turns downright deadly when the voice persuades her to travel to the wilds of the Mayan jungle. There she will free his body-his incredibly hot, muscled, naked body.

Humans are so frail, so undisciplined, so susceptible to love. And when this ancient being connects with Emma, the feelings she sparks drive him utterly mad. Protective, keep-her-close, never-let-her-go kind of mad. Which might not be such a bad thing because from the moment the beautiful, passionate Emma unshackles his body, they are hunted at every turn. Now he'll have to do everything in his power to keep her safe. But will it be enough? 

My Review
Emma has dealt with the voice in her head for years. It has put a big dent on her being able to date as the guy in her head always butts in. The guy in her head ask for her help in getting free and away she goes to get her life back not knowing t was fixing to change forever. Guy is actually a God who ha been trapped for decades and only Emma can free him. Once he is free he goes trying to get revenge on those that trap him. With Gods and more on the hunt for Emma it's going to be a hard to protect her when they can't get along. 

I have heard so many great things about this book. It sounded so good with ancient hot gods, revenge and more. For me I loved the plot, the action, getting to dig in and see what all had happened in the past and getting to see more of the gods. It has a great pace and is very well written. Emma does pretty good dealing with all that has been put on her. She has a witty remark for everything and I have to say she has a drive to survive. Guy is so hot and very powerful. Even after being in Emma's head he still doesn't know how to deal with her. At times he can be arrogant but hey he is a god so it's to be expected. This book is very entertaining and the only reason I didn't love it is I did not like Guy and Emma together. They fought so much and it was like they had no connection to me. When they had separate scenes I enjoyed the book more. I couldn't see them as a couple and while it is great there wasn't the whole instant love deal I just wanted more from them. They have a sexual drive to each other and the author does a great job letting you get to know both of them. Just for me I didn't care for them as a couple. I would still recommend this book to any lover of a great story that is well written and intriguing.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Inhuman - Review

Inhuman (Fetch #1)
by Kat Falls 
In a world ravaged by mutation, a teenage girl must travel into the forbidden Savage Zone to recover lost artifacts or her father’s life is forfeit.

America has been ravaged by a war that has left the eastern half of the country riddled with mutation. Many of the people there exhibit varying degrees of animal traits. Even the plantlife has gone feral.

Crossing from west to east is supposed to be forbidden, but sometimes it’s necessary. Some enter the Savage Zone to provide humanitarian relief. Sixteen-year-old Lane’s father goes there to retrieve lost artifacts—he is a Fetch. It’s a dangerous life, but rewarding—until he’s caught.

Desperate to save her father, Lane agrees to complete his latest job. That means leaving behind her life of comfort and risking life and limb—and her very DNA—in the Savage Zone. But she’s not alone. In order to complete her objective, Lane strikes a deal with handsome, roguish Rafe. In exchange for his help as a guide, Lane is supposed to sneak him back west. But though Rafe doesn’t exhibit any signs of “manimal” mutation, he’s hardly civilized . . . and he may not be trustworthy.

My Review
Lane has it good to compared to some. She lives in a safe place away from the Savage ZOne. The Savage Zone is what is left of America and full of mutated people and plants. Lane'e good life is soon in danger as she has to go into the Savage Zone to find an artifact or her father will pay with his life. Outside the walls she comes across Rafe who helps her. He agrees to become her guide for a price. Lane doesn't completely trust him and there is a huge danger to Lane as it seems something else may have plans for her.

Lane sometimes acts before she thinks and doesn't see danger a lot of times. She will do whatever to save her dad and does pretty good thrown into a place she knows some about and has some survival skills her dad taught her.. She is strong and a survivor and that is something she has to be in this new world. What I didn't like about her is how she could act stupid sometimes but it did make her more real. Rafe most of the time I didn't like. He is used to doing whatever he can to get what he wants. He a few times did a few good things but for the most part I couldn't see what Lane liked about him. Everson I have to say I liked more. He tries to do good and save people but he had a few moments of his own that had me shaking my head. I will say while I liked the characters I don't see what both of them saw in Lane. Yes she is the main character but is she the only girl left or something.

I liked this story as it was a little different than the other dystopian books out there. I like the idea of people getting mutated into animals. While the love triangle thing has got old I do like that all three have faults that make them more believable. There was several twist and turns that surprised me and I will say towards the end was my favorite part. I love all the danger that kicked in then and how it was really fast paced. It is a good book that kept me entertained and I look forward to see where it goes next. If you like dystopian books I would say give this one a try.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

November 20, 2013

Thankful Guest post from Author Sai Marie Johnson

Hi everyone we have Author Sai Marie Johnson with her top ten things she is thankful for and info on a great sounding book.

10 Things Author Sai Marie Johnson is Thankful For:

1) My family- Husband, and Children. They make my world worthwhile.
2) My Mac- without it I wouldn't be able to create my stories.
3) My faith- it has been what has kept me going at times I never
thought I could.
4) Education- without knowledge I don't think my creative process
would work as well.
5) My father- My dad taught me to always question everything, and it
has shaped me into the writer I am today.
6) My mother- My mom gave me the keys to success at a young age, and
made sure I learned how to apply them to the lock of life.
7) My stories- these worlds I create are what drive me daily, and I am
very thankful for them.
8) My creativity- It has been something that always entertains me even
when there is nothing else to do.
9) Books- I started reading books at such a young age that I believe
my appreciation for them is comparable to a chocolate addicts
appreciation for Hershey's.
10) Writing- I am thankful everyday that I am able to write to my
heart's content, and still enjoy it.

The Softer Side of Texas 
by Sai Marie Johnson
Ivanka Jessup is living a very boring, and monotonous life. After her brother, Brenton dies in a military accident Ivy, and her parents struggle to keep their family ranch afloat. Soon Ivy takes a job as a bartender, but a lucrative customer won't stop harassing her. Ivy's father decides he needs to hire a ranch hand so Ivanka can get a better job. Soon a handsome stranger arrives, and captures Ivanka's attention, but will an unexpected turn of events shatter the hope her family has for finding a softer side of Texas?

A mother of four children including a daughter, and three sons Sai Marie is a creative mind who enjoys a plethora of activities. Married to a Veteran, and owner of a dachshund she likes to spend her days writing, reading, and discussing the art of the quill, pen, or keyboard. With a wide variety of subjects Sai doesn't consider herself a genre writer, but rather an author of whatever happens to come to mind. With a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing as of September 2014 Sai writes everything from poetry to scripts in every category from Non-fiction to fiction including children's stories, erotica, historical romance, and sci-fi. She really is so varied that it's hard to put her in any category.

November 18, 2013

Soul Resurrected Blog Tour - Review,Excerpt, Giveaway & Scavenger Hunt

Hey everyone! Today we have a stop on the Soul Resurrected Blog Tour. There is a review of the book, an excerpt,a giveaway and a scavenger hunt for you all.

SOUL RESURRECTED (Sons of Wrath, #2)
By: Keri Lake
Release Date: October 31, 2013
Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance/Dark Urban Fantasy
ISBN: 978-0-9848517-5-1

As Wrath’s fiercest son, Logan carries the scars of fifty years spent in the most dreaded prison of the underworld, for a sin he’d kill to keep secret. Enduring decades of gruesome torture has left Logan feared by and detached from others, until a female Alexi’s blood resurrects his soul from death and, with it, the pleasures he’s been denied for so long.

Plagued by shame of her own, Calla is drawn to the ruthless demon, Logan, whose insatiable craving for her touch rouses buried passions and, for once, leaves her feeling desired.

A dark and dangerous evil has been reawakened, however, and when Calla is drawn too close to its breeding grounds, Logan vows to summon the violence of Wrath in order to keep her safe. First, though, Calla must save him from a past riddled with deceit and corruption … but only if she can accept the chilling consequences of unearthing his vilest skeleton.

My Review
Logan is forever haunted by his memories. He doesn't want anyone to know them and doesn't want anyone near him. He really doesn't want anything to do with Calla the Alexi who brought him back from the dead but he seems to be tied to her now. Calla has secrets of her own and everyone seems to be after her. She feels desire for Logan and that is the last thing she wants.  Both are being pulled closer into a battle with an ancient evil and need each other to survive.

Logan is hateful, mean and can be a huge jerk. He will do anything for his brothers. At first you may hate him but when you see what all he has been through you begin to see why he is the way he is. He really is a demon with a horrible past. Calla has only wanted to keep her brother safe and been a pan all her life. Now when she can either be tearful or weak she takes a stand to be strong. She is drawn to Logan and doesn't understand why. She really becomes strong in this book and an amazing character. She will not be left behind and doesn't want to be considered weak. Where most would cower from the things she faces she does her best to stand strong.

This is an amazing sequel. I strongly suggest reading the first book before reading this one so you know what has led up to this and because it is awesome as well. You get lycans, demons, incubus and so much more paranormal beings in this fantastic book. There is amazing fight scenes that make you fel you are in battle with them. An ancient that has come back that is really awesome. I know it's evil but the author does such an amazing job with all these characters. I love the demons as they kick ass but you also see how much they have suffered. You feel sorry for them and want to kick a little ass yourself. I know I would have for Logan. I look forward to seeing where the author takes this series as it is very addictive. You fall in love with some characters and hate others. If you love paranormal books with a great plot that keeps you ding to see what happens next pick this up.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam


Some lives just weren’t worth the trouble of saving …

The dark room swallowed Logan, as he lay sprawled on his bed—just as he’d been left after ditching his date with death. A stomach-turning sensation of thickened skin and tingles swathed his body, closing in on him, phantom sensations crawling over his flesh that kept him awake. Every five minutes or so, he willed an arm or a leg to move. No go.

Shadows danced across the wall on the occasions that one of the Catatones guarding the mansion passed through the floodlight below his window. He focused on them only because his neck had been propped in that direction and he had no choice. Good thing, though. She had been assigned to watch over him and slept somewhere beyond his periphery, the reminder heating his blood every time her sleepy moan drifted across the room.

The fury could’ve split him right down the middle.

Her blood ran through him—pumping in his veins, feeding his heart, keeping him alive.


The woman who’d gotten him stabbed with Demortis, the only element capable of taking down a demon, now swam through his body as the only element capable of saving him. Her blood. Pure. Probably the closest he’d ever come to being righteous.

The irony was enough to leave him scratching his own eyeballs out of his head—that is, if he could reach the damn things. Like a bitch slap from the gods, who probably sat around drinking beers over the shit, poking fun at him.

The side effect of returning from the dead?

Feeling like the fucking dead.

Logan tightened his lip, wishing he could kick his own ass for being so stupid. Not like he’d had to save her or anything. Hell, being a demon meant being the exception to human rules.

And being a son of Wrath meant never having to play by any species’ rules.

Yet for some reason, one lodged so deep inside his brain he couldn’t even begin to explain, he’d felt the need to intervene. Not so much for her sake, but because the little prick trying to rape her had taken a jab at the psychopath buried in Logan’s bones. Taunted him.

Then finally tripped his kill-switch.

Yeah, that’s what Logan told himself, anyway, because no other excuse could possibly justify why he couldn’t stir a single muscle in his body for anything having to do with her—Calla. The girl they’d picked up at some underground party, so high on Shine she’d have probably let every one of the brothers have a go at her if they’d been the ravaging bastardly types.

Lucky for her they weren’t.

“Should’ve walked away,” he muttered, his voice the only part of his body he could control.

A zing of pain shot through Logan’s feet, flexing them into an unnatural, paralyzed position. “Ah, shit!” Hadn’t his feet been numb just seconds ago?

Not even forcing his muscles to relax shook the sting away, one like a strike to the level of his bones, as if they shattered with impact.

He held his breath and clenched his teeth while the pain crept up his leg. “Motherfucker!” He spoke past gritted teeth, keeping his voice low to keep from rousing his babysitter, but damn, his back arched like one of those tetanus-infected bastards, his eyes squinting so hard they could’ve popped backward into his brain.

Black smoke curled behind his lids, and a deep laughter mocked him as the agony reached his spine. Trembling in the bed, Logan clamped his mouth shut and allowed the convulsions to run through him.

In silence.

He’d known pain—gut-turning, put-me-out-of-my-fucking-misery pain. Nothing compared to what wracked him at that moment, as if nightmares could invade the body and inflict injury. The burn, like molten lava oozing in his veins, seeped into his every cell, searing him from the inside. Sweat trickled down his temple at the same time as a chill burst deep inside his bones and swept through his limbs, leaving behind a wake of nausea.

That black smoke carried the familiar sensation he’d felt once or twice in his life—from the quick witted son of a bitch that brought the toughest demon males to their knees: absolute death. Stygius. The place in the underworld from where no soul ever returned.

With shallow panting breaths, he allowed the blackness worming its way into his mind to take over as something dark and wicked laid claim.

All Logan could do was let it take him.

Keri Lake Bio:
Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. She writes paranormal romance, urban fantasy and loves a good, tragic love story. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction whenever distraction manages to suck her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

When she isn’t toiling away on plots and protagonists, she enjoys reading, music and travel. If she could create mystical powers for herself, she’d have the ability to flash to anywhere in the world. And if she could flash to anywhere in the world at this very moment, she’d be staring at the ocean from her adirondack chair on the shores of North Carolina.

Keri Lake’s Social Media Links:

Throughout the tour, participating blogs will be posting a question for readers to hunt down on Keri Lake’s website. Questions can be found throughout the site: book pages, snippets, blog posts and glossary. Most questions will be related to the Sons of Wrath series. A few bloggers will have added bonus questions taken directly from Soul Avenged. 

You can visit Keri Lake’s Scavenger Hunt page by clicking on the button. Record your answers on the Answer Sheet. At the end of the tour, you’ll be able to submit your responses via Google Doc right on the Scavenger Hunt page. The individual with the MOST correct responses will win a MYSTERY PRIZE, valued at $125.

Here is the question assigned to this blog: 

In what abandoned building does the first scene of Soul Avenged take place? 

HINT: it happens to be the largest abandoned factory in the world – I blogged about this a short while back.

1st Prize: 
1-$30 Amazon Gift card
1-Signed Paperback Soul Resurrected (Sons of Wrath, #2)
1-Limited Edition Print signed by Julian Christian & Keri Lake
1-Property of Logan T-Shirt
1-Soul Resurrected Tote Bag
1-Soul Resurrected Notebook & Pen set
1-Sons of Wrath Wine Glass Charm set
1-Soul Resurrected Book Mark
1-Soul Resurrected Coffee Mug

2nd Prize: 
1-$20 Amazon Gift Card
1-Signed Paperback Soul Resurrected (Sons of Wrath, #2)
1-Soul Resurrected Tote
1-Soul Resurrected Notebook & Pen set
1-Soul Resurrected Purse Clip
1-Sons of Wrath Wine Glass Charm set

For those participating in the Scavenger Hunt: 
1-MYSTERY PRIZE (valued at $125)

Be sure to check out all of the tour.

November 16, 2013

A Man of Honor - Review

A Man of Honor (The Honor Trilogy #2) by J.P. Grider 

The second book in The Honor Trilogy finds Storm contending with his feelings for his brother’s girlfriend, while formulating a plan to finish off the evil empath out for Honor’s blood, once and for all.

Storm Sutherland is still trying to ignore the fact that he’s fallen for Honor Stevens. And now that she’s gone and brought him back to life, it’s even more difficult to get her out of his mind. With Ethan and Honor still going strong, Storm battles between his impulses to win her heart, regardless of his brother’s feelings, or walk away, leaving the only girl who’d ever breathed life into him.

But before he walks away, he must find a way to stop the man who is out for Honor’s blood, the result of a two-hundred year old vengeance against her grandfather that Honor must pay.

Will Storm come up with a plan to end this war before she pays the price?

My Review 
Storm is trying to stop the evil empath from hurting Honor. He Has to find a way to get him what he needs without Honor being involved. When that proves impossible he has to stay as close as he can to protect her. The problem with that is he is in love with her and she is his brother's girlfriend. While he tries to keep his feelings under control he finds it hard to do. He also has a few changes going on that Honor saving him brought on. Her grandfather started it years ago and now Storm will have to stop it.

I fell for Storm in the first book and in this second one I fell even harder for him. He will do whatever it takes to protect Honor. He also knows to give her some space.He shows a softer side in this book and you really get to see what makes Storm tick. Honor is as sweet as always. She has major problems wanting to help anybody she can with her powers. She doesn't care at the cost to her. Ethan I have to say really got on my nerves in this book. He showed is jealousy and how mean he can be at times. He is a good guy and I understand what he is going through but he acted like a jerk a lot.

I really enjoyed getting to read this book from Storm's POV. It gives the book a nice take on how he truly feels. He really has changed so much from book one. He cares about what others are feeling and you really get to see an insight to what made him the way he is to how he is now. The book has new light into why the bad guys are after the elixir Honor's grandfather made. You really aren't sure till the end who to trust and what their motive is. This book is different from others as you have empaths. Some are good and some are well evil. While there is a love triangle thing in the book it shows there may be a good reason for that. I can't wait to read the next one to see what is in store for Honor, Storm and Ethan. 

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam