January 30, 2014

Charmed Vengeance: Review

Charmed Vengeance (The Aether Chronicles #2)
by Suzanne Lazear 
In the Faerie realm, Noli Braddock's relationship with her best friend V has grown into something more. But V's mother, Faerie Queen Tiana, has ruled that they are forbidden to see each other. Returning to the mortal realm, Noli joins the crew of her brother's air-pirate ship, the Vixen's Revenge. There she discovers that her brother has hired the scallywag Faerie huntsman, Kevighn Silver. While serving as shipmates, Kevighn and Noli learn that the Earth Court King plans to find a forbidden artifact--one that will bring destruction to everyone Noli loves.

My Review
Noli loves V but do to the Faerie Queen Tiana they can't be together or even see each other. While Noli's mom would like to see her become a proper lady that just isn't in the cards. She goes aboard an air ship with her brother and discovers a new danger. Kevighn Silver is aboard and looking for an artifact. Her brother has been hired to find it not knowing it can cause horrible destruction.

I loved the first book in this series and I have to say I think I liked this one a little more. I would suggest reading them in order. Noli has never really been a weak character and in this book she has a lot to deal with. She has so much going on you may think she seems weak at times but the more you read the more you see that isn't so.. She has had her heart broke but goes on. I love how she doesn't want to be a typical girl and all the adventures she finds her self in. Her brother has a bigger part in this book and I enjoyed getting to know him better and Vix. Vix is a woman after my own heart. She is not a girly girl by any means. There is still Faerie, dangers and so much more in this book. It feels more fast paced and you really can't put it down as you have to see what happens next. I eagerly look forward to the next book.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Predatory: Review

by Alexandra Ivy, Nina Bangs, Dianne Duvall, Hannah Jayne
Out Of Control by Alexandra Ivy
Ph.D student Angela Locke has a crush on her sexy professor, Dr. Nikolo Bartrev. When she learns he's actually a Sentinel with extraordinary powers, she joins forces with him to catch a psychopath. But soon, their hottest pursuit is of each other... 

Ties That Bind by Nina Bangs
Cassie Tyler agrees to sub for her friend at the funeral home where she works. But she gets more than she bargained for when a group of men attack her and a vampire comes to her rescue. . . 

In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall
Immortal Richart d'Alençon can't forget the woman who rewarded him with a sensuous kiss after he saved her from a trio of vampires. While Richart knows that loving a human can only bring trouble, the taste of forbidden lust is too great to resist. . .

High Stakes by Hannah Jayne
When vampire fashionista Nina LaShay's design contest rival is found dead, she's the prime suspect. Sexy photographer Pike is number two. He's the kind of man who makes Nina salivate. But will she have to reveal herself to have him--and to save them both? Or does Pike have a secret of his own?

My Review
Out of Control
I really enjoyed this story as this is one of my favorite authors. Niko has to go undercover to watch over Angela and falls for her. Angela has a power and someone wants her to use her power. Niko and Angela work together and Angela really becomes strong. While Niko says he will look out for her she in the end to me is the strong one. I liked the chemistry between the two and the flow of the story. As always this is another great story by an amazing author.

Ties That Bind 
Cassie hates funeral homes but agrees to work for her friend one night. While her imagination is already in over time she is attacked by several men and Ethan comes to her rescue. Ethan is a vampire who is different in many ways from Cassie. Cassie is not brave and lets her imagination scare her a lot of times. Of course at times she should be scared. Ethan will do whatever to protect her. They work great together as a couple and the story has a good plot and flow.

In Still Darkness 
I have to say I looked forward to this story the most in this book. Richart has finally found the woman he cares deeply about. He saves her from a vampire attack and watches over her for days afterwords. Jenna is a female character after my heart. She is in her 30's with a grown sun and seems like a real person. It was very easy to get attached to her. I love how she and her son are close but she still has her own life and wants him to have his own. She is thrown into a new world she never knew about and handles it really well. her and Richart are perfect for each other. i look forward to seeing more about them in the series.

High Stakes 
I have to say this is my least favorite book in the series. I just couldn't connect with the characters and didn't like the plot. The author does a great job in writing the story it just wasn't for me. 

This is a fantastic book with four short stories. I would recommend it to anyone who loves paranormal romance with action. If you have never tried these authors this is a good book to try four different ones in. You may find a new author to love.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Loving A Prince Charming:Review

Loving a Prince Charming (Fairy Tales & Ever Afters #3)
by Danielle Monsch

Honor and Integrity were more than words to Seth - they were the values he lived his life by. As Prince of a large kingdom, putting duty before desire was vital for the prosperity and wellness of his people. If sometimes he looked at Kira – best friend since childhood and his personal guard – and regretted his betrothal to the Princess of a neighboring kingdom, well, that was the price he had to pay for his people’s happiness. 

Even if that Princess was cursed and given the nickname Sleeping Beauty.

Seth discovers the way to end the curse and, against his father’s wishes, sets off on a perilous journey to free her with Kira by his side. But Kira represents a different type of danger… Only love can break the curse, but how can Seth keep his promise to protect Sleeping Beauty when every moment with Kira makes his heart damn duty and demand its desire?

My Review
Seth knows what he has to do as prince of his kingdom. He is betrothed to a princess who has been cursed. He knows he has to marry her and make the kingdom happy. What he really wants is his best friend and guard Kira. He sets out on a mission with Kira to break the curse on his princess who they call Sleeping Beauty. He finds it harder to fight his love for Kira along the way and he doesn't know how he will break the curse Sleeping Beauty is under when he loves another.

This is a quick read and a retelling of Sleeping Beauty as you can tell. I liked it as really no one was perfect in this book. Seth will do what he has to for his kingdom but it doesn't stop him from wanting what he shouldn't have. He stands up to his father and does show some backbone at times. I really like Kira as she is strong and not the one to stand by waiting for a man to protect her. You do have a villain type in the story in the form of to me the Kings. They don't care who gets hurt in their way to what they want. The story I hate to sound this way but is charming. If your looking for a quick read and enjoy fairy tale retellings you may enjoy this one. I love the cover of it.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

January 18, 2014

Cards & Caravans - Review

Cards & Caravans (Gaslight Chronicles #5)
by Cindy Spencer Pape

Belinda Danvers isn't a witch. But that won't stop them burning her at the stake…

Connor McKay can tell at a glance that Belinda's magickal powers are minimal at best. She can't be guilty of murdering village children. There's something suspicious about her arrest and lightning-quick sentence. Unfortunately, telling anyone how he knows would mean revealing his own powers. He's been sent by the Order of the Round Table to help and he can't just let her die.

Escaping from jail and running from vindictive villagers in her grandfather's steam-powered caravan is more excitement than Belinda's had in years. And despite the danger—or maybe because of it—she loves the time spent with her sexy rescuer. But there's more to his magick than he's letting on…

There's something going on that's bigger than the two of them. It's time for good to make a stand.

My Review
Belinda Danvers is set to burn at the stake for being a witch. Problem is the widow isn't one. Her only hope is Connor McKay. Connor is sent to see if she is behind the murder of children and soon sees she is not. She also isn't a witch. He can't just tell the people that without giving away his own powers. He helps her escape jail and they both try to uncover just what is going on. The only way Connor can protect Belinda is to marry her. He just has to convince her of that.

I liked Connor in a previous book and I did feel bad he got his heart broke by Wink. I was thrilled he was getting his own book. I did not see him being with Belinda. I was expecting someone who would really push his buttons and lead him on a chase. He and Belinda end up being a good match just not what I figured he would have. They really in some ways get thrown together and start out making the best of it. Yes they have lust between each other but not the real deep love. It was in some ways a to quick match. In other ways I loved this book. There is plenty of action as Connor and the other favorites of mine from this series set a trap to catch a bad guy. I love seeing the old characters and what they are doing and getting glimpses of romance I hope to come. The steampunk is as always wonderful in this book and so fun to read about. If you enjoy steampunk, paranormal or just a great story be sure to check out this series.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Dancing With the Devil - Review

Dancing with the Devil (Nikki & Michael #1)
by Keri Arthur
Private Investigator Nikki James grew up on the tough streets of Lyndhurst and believes there's nothing left to surprise her. All that changes the night she follows teenager Monica Trevgard into the shadows-and becomes a pawn caught in a war between two very different men. One fills her mind with his madness, the other pushes his way into her life-and her heart. Nikki knows how dangerous love can be, but if she wants to survive, she must place her trust in a man who could easily destroy her.

Michael Kelly has come to Lyndhurst determined to end the war between himself and another brother of the night. For 300 years he has existed in life's shadows, gradually learning to control the life from death cravings of a vampire. Nikki not only breaches his formidable barriers with her psychic abilities, but makes Michael believe he may finally have found a woman strong enough to walk by his side and ease the loneliness in his heart. But will his love be enough to protect her from a madman hell-bent on revenge? Or will it drive her into his enemy's deadly trap?

Only together can they overcome the evil threatening to destroy them both. But the secrets they keep from each other might prove to be the greatest threat of all.

My Review
Nikki has a power of her own but in some ways is still surprised when she comes face to face with a vampire. Michael is after Jasper a very powerful madman and he ends up being close to Nikki. She challenges him and can be very head strong. She has been hired to find a missing teenage girl and the man behind it is the same man Michael is after. While Michael wants Nikki to stay safe she has a job to do and Jasper seems to have secrets she wants to know about Michael. They have to see if they can stop Jasper and if things will work between them.

There is things I liked and things I disliked about this book. What I disliked is sorry to say at times Nikki. She acted tough many times and you heard how she grew up on the streets. However many times she showed no street smarts and put herself in danger. She is attracted to Michael and wants him and at other times in some ways she is scared of him. Understandable since he is a vampire. I guess you can say at times she got on my nerves. Michael I really liked. He is a vampire but doesn't want to live as one. He wants to stop evil not become it. Jasper is a crazy madman to put it simply. I love the action and flow of the story as something is always happening and you keep turning pages to see what next. There is some steamy scenes but not a whole lot. It is more about the plot and that is good. I think this book really just laid the ground for the next books in this series and we will see Nikki and Michael grow closer but that is my guess. If you like a book with a good plot, lot of action and paranormal beings you may enjoy this one.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Dark Wolf - Review

Dark Wolf (Spirit Wild #1)
by Kate Douglas 
Sebastian Xenakis is still coming into his power as a wizard. He can shapeshift by magical means and runs as a wolf using the power he draws from the elements. But young women are dying—raped by a human and then slaughtered by a wolf. Suspicion falls on the shapeshifting Chanku, but Sebastian wonders if he might somehow be guilty of the crimes. 

Then he meets Lily Cheval, the uncrowned princess of the powerful Chanku, and realizes he will do whatever it takes to clear his name and win her love. But evil walks where Sebastian goes, and there are mysteries neither Lily nor her father, the powerful wizard, Anton Cheval, cannot unravel. Is Sebastian the perfect mate for Lily, or is he instead, one she should fear?

My Review
The Chanku are being blamed for the rape and murder of several young woman. Sebastian wonders if he is to blame as he is a powerful wizard who can turn into a wolf with magic. He meets Lily a Chanku and falls for her. He has to figure out if he is the one doing these evil things before Lily or anyone else gets killed. Lily is the daughter of a powerful wizard and Chanku Anton. They want to help Sebastian but there is a mystery to him and the crimes they can't figure out. Lily has to decide if Sebastian is her mate or if she should stay away. The crimes have to be figured out not just because of their growing love but because the Chanku are in danger as well.

I love the Wolf Tales series and was delighted to see this series had a spinoff. I have to say it didn't disappoint me in the least. Lily is a woman who is very aware and in control of her sexuality as to be expected considering her Chanku blood. She isn't one to back down and when she meets Sebastian she is sure he is her mate. She wants to trust him but she has her doubts. I have to say during one scene I wondered myself about him. Sebastian is really a mystery to not only the reader but to his self at times. You aren't sure about him at times. He is very sexy but in some ways not used to that. He knows he wants Lily. He may powerful but he still is learning things about that power. This book has a good plot as it isn't just about the sexual nature of the Chanku but has a mystery plot as well. I will say if you aren't comfortable with erotic books, books with same sex or multiple partners than this book isn't for you. There is a lot of that and the author has her own style to writing those scenes. They are a big part of the Chanku. If you enjoy those type of books be sure to read this one and the Wolf Tales series. They are wonderful!

I have to say I love the cover of this book. I believe it is my favorite of all the books by this author.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

January 16, 2014

Pure & Sinful - Review

Pure & Sinful (Pure Souls #1)
by Killian McRae 


When it turns out your ex was actually a sexy demon sent by the devil to seduce you to evil, you'd think the next guy, no matter what he's like, couldn't be a worse decision. Enter Father Marc Angeletti, a smooth talking piece of forbidden fruit with onyx eyes and a razor wit, and Riona Dade may as well start packing her luggage for damnation now. But come Hell or... well, Hell, Marc, Riona, and demigod Dee Zitka have a mission: serve as a Pure Soul and vanquish Lucifer's minion scum from the face of the Earth to protect humanity from evil. 

Oh, and don't get seduced into sin yourself, because a fallen Pure Soul is one of Lucifer's biggest thrills. As long as Riona and Marc can keep things professional and north of the sheets, no problem, right? 

Yeah, that worked out great in the Thornbirds, too...

My Review
Riona is a witch with a Pure Soul. She also has a girlfriend, an ex who is a demon and along with two other Pure souls she has a mission. Wipe out Lucifer's crew and make the world a better place. Father Marc can't help how he feels about Riona. He knows he can never have her and if anything happens between them they both will be sent to hell. Demigod Dee tries to keep them on the straight and narrow path and keep them from crossing the line. It should be easy to follow one rule but temptation is great.

I really enjoyed this book and the characters. Riona has a do what she wishes attitude and sometimes doesn't think before she acts. She has an interesting love life and loves to drive Marc insane. She isn't aware he likes her in any way as he is always on her case. Marc knows he should stay away fro Riona as he wants her and even he doesn't know why. They are constantly arguing. Dee tries to keep them both in line. Lucifer knows if he can get them to have sex they will be his. Being Pure Souls will make them that much a stronger Demon and Marc would be really powerful being a Priest if he fails. They are always together trying to stop evil and you can see the tension between them. I really enjoyed this book as it has wonderful characters and a great plot. The book ends on a cliffhanger making you need the next one right away. There is several humorous moment as well in this book making it an all around good book to read. If you like a good sexy story about angels, demons, witches or any kind of paranormal you may try this one. 

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Pretty Dark Nothing - Review

Pretty Dark Nothing (Pretty Dark Nothing #1)
by Heather L. Reid 

It’s been twenty three days since Quinn has slept for more than minutes at a time. Demons have invaded her dreams, stalking her, and whispering of her death. The lack of sleep and crippling fear are ruining her life. Energy drinks and caffeine pills don’t make a dent. When Quinn dozes off in the school hallway, Aaron, an amnesiac with a psychic ability, accidentally enters her nightmare. The demons are determined to keep them apart, and Aaron from discovering the secret locked away in his memory. Together, they could banish the darkness back to the underworld for good. That is, unless the demons kill them first.

My Review
Quinn does everything she can go to keep from sleeping. Every time she sleeps demons haunt her dreams. Her life has really went down hill and she sees no end in sight. Aaron manages to get into her nightmare when she falls asleep at school. The demons don't like them being close to each other and do their best to keep them apart. All the while Quinn is wanting her old boyfriend back. Between high school drama and demons Quinn has a rough life.

I have to say I didn't enjoy this book as much as I would have liked. For me it was an ok book. It is written very well and the author does a great job adding creepy parts. However Quinn is so annoying that I really couldn't like the book because of her. What should have been a thrilling book about Demons ended up being high school drama with a few demons. Quinn is always after her ex boyfriend Jeff. He treats her like crap lets his girlfriend run over the top of Quinn and just to me wasn't a catch at all. At times Quinn acted like a beaten down dog. I did like the ending and the parts where Quinn and Aaron where together. The cover is a great one and I can't say if I will read the next one or not. It's a maybe for me right now.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

And All The Stars - Review

And All the Stars
by Andrea K. Höst 

Come for the apocalypse. Stay for cupcakes. Die for love. Madeleine Cost is working to become the youngest person ever to win the Archibald Prize for portraiture. Her elusive cousin Tyler is the perfect subject: androgynous, beautiful, and famous. All she needs to do is pin him down for the sittings. None of her plans factored in the Spires: featureless, impossible, spearing into the hearts of cities across the world - and spraying clouds of sparkling dust into the wind. Is it an alien invasion? Germ warfare? They are questions everyone on Earth would like answered, but Madeleine has a more immediate problem. At Ground Zero of the Sydney Spire, beneath the collapsed ruin of St James Station, she must make it to the surface before she can hope to find out if the world is ending.

My Review
Spires have appeared out of the ground and a dust has settled on the city. Maddie was put side when it happened and now with the survivors she is trying to survive and figure out what is going on. No one know for sure if it is aliens or what the purpose of the spires. Maddie is being cover in blue patched that show different stars. She has lots of power and doesn't know why. There is some like her with blue patches and some with green each is affected very different. Joining with new friends Maddie is bound and determined to figure it out.

The cover will pull you in on this book. You wonder about the blue on her face and what it means. I have to say after reading the book it fits it perfect. At first you know something has happened but you aren't sure what. The more you read the more you start to figure it out. I love how Maddie begins to make new friends and allies during this time. She is confused and at times scared but she doesn't let it get the best of her. She works her best to see what is going on and to fix it. I love the interaction with her and the others. This story just gets better as you read. By the halfway point you don't want it to end. Of you have never tried a sci fi YA book or just like them I will say you should pick this one up. I don't hear a lot about it and I think more people should know about it.

4 out of 5 Bats~ Pam

January 15, 2014

An Erie Halloween - Spotlight

Hi everyone! Today we have a spotlight on An Erie Halloween. It sounds really good!
An Erie Halloween by V.L. Locey

Templeton Reed has been hiding his inner polecat since he was a child. Keeping his animal secreted is hard for a shifter, especially when one is living in a secret community of mystical beings. It`s the wolf shifters that cause Templeton the most trouble with their darned sensitive noses.

Templeton has a run-in with the Lake Erie pack and their alpha, Mikel Lupei, at the Office for Transmogrification Registration (OTTER). Templeton has a desk job checking registration papers and dealing with wolf shifters is not part of his job description. After that upsetting meeting the meek and mild office worker suddenly finds himself in the center of not only civil unrest among the shifter community, but a violent plan for a coup aimed at rousting Mikel.

Templeton and Mikel, a skilled tracker of rogue shifters, are soon not only fighting for their lives, they`re also fighting the rigidly archaic rules of their kind, as well as the person responsible for trying to take over Mikel`s pack from the inside. Can this magical odd couple turn a passionate attraction into a full-fledged love affair?

Author Bio:
V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, belly laughs, anything romantic, dairy goats, Greek mythology, comic books and coffee. (Not necessarily in that order.) She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a steer named after an NHL goalie, and a flock of assorted domestic fowl. 

V.L. is a self-published and conventionally published author. She is proud Torquere Press and Secret Cravings Publishing author. When not writing romantic tales, she can be found enjoying her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in hand. She can also be found online on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.

Buy Links:

January 14, 2014

The Nightmare Affair - Review

The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1)
by Mindee Arnett

Sixteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.


Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder.

Then Eli’s dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

My Review
Dusty is different from others in her school and that is saying a lot in a school with paranormal beings. She is a Nightmare. She also is compared to her mother and people expect her to live up to her mom. She gets more than she bargains for when she sits on the sleeping hotty Eli's chest to work her nightmare magic. She sees he is dreaming of a murder. A murder that comes true. Now she has to keep going into Eli's dreams to find clues and look around the school. She needs to solve this murder before someone else gets killed.

From the moment I heard about this book I looked forward to reading it. I haven't read anything about Nightmares and I love YA books taking place in schools. This one is a very good read to me as I liked getting to know Dusty, Eli, Paul and the rest of the characters. The author does a good job setting up the world and the book is very easy to follow. Dusty isn't a weakling waiting for a guy to save her and wants to do what she can to solve this no matter. She is put in an odd situation with Eli but she does learn to make the best of it. There is some action as after all their is a murderer on the loose. Moira Dusty's mom I have to say I am not sure about yet. She does many things to make me not like her but she is still kinda a mystery in some ways. i hope in the next book we learn more about her as I would like to see just what makes her tick. There is a kinda romance going on but is not the main focus of the book. I think it's just enough for this type book as it doesn't take away from the story line. If you enjoy a YA paranormal book you may like this one.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

January 11, 2014

After The Ending - Review

After The Ending (The Ending #1)
by Lindsey Fairleigh
The first book in the emotionally charged post-apocalyptic series, The Ending.

The Virus spread. Billions died. The Ending began. We may have survived the apocalypse, but the Virus changed us.

When people started getting sick, “they” thought it was just the flu. My roommate, my boyfriend, my family…they’re all gone now. I got sick too. I should have died with them—with the rest of the world—but I didn’t. I thought witnessing the human population almost disappear off the face of the earth was the craziest thing I’d ever experience. I was so wrong. My name is Dani O’Connor, I’m twenty-six-years-old, and I survived The Ending.

The Virus changed everything. The world I knew is gone, and life is backwards. We’ve all had to start over. I’ve been stripped of my home, my dreams…all that is me. I’m someone else now—broken and changed. Other survivors’ memories and emotions haunt me. They invade my mind until I can no longer separate them from my own. I won’t let them consume me. I can’t. My name is Zoe Cartwright, I’m twenty-six-years-old, and I survived The Ending.

We’ve been inseparable for most of our lives, and now our friendship is all we have left. The aftermath of the Virus has stranded us on opposite sides of the United States. Trusting strangers, making sacrifices, killing—we’ll do anything to reach one another. Fear and pain may be unavoidable, but we’re strong…we’re survivors. But to continue surviving in this unfamiliar world plagued by Crazies and strange new abilities, we have to adapt. We have to evolve.

And more than anything, we have to find each other.

My Review
A flu virus is wiping out the world and the survivors are looking for others to work with. Zoe and Dani are best friends who are trying to get to each other. With the help of Zoe's brother Dani begins the journey She has always had a crush on him and has to face the fact he may not be for her. Zoe is haunted by the past and feels guilty at times. They both have a hard journey ahead and that is just the beginning. It seems the virus left people with strange powers.

Ok I love these type of stories and I did enjoy this one somewhat. It at times was hard to get into I will say. I put it down several times as I would get bored with it. The plot has a great appeal to it and from the blurb you expect so much. However I have to say I would have loved it if they had killed Dani. Sorry anyone who gets over her boyfriend and doesn't seem to care should be killed off. I love the paranormal twist in giving the people different powers. it adds a good twist to the book. I believe without it it would have been a flop all together. There is plenty of action as hey lets face it people have died off and you are going to have some bad seeds left. I will read the next one as I want to see how their powers develop more.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

I received a copy via Netgalley for an honest review.

Towering - Review

by Alex Flinn

At first, I merely saw his face, his hands on the window ledge. Then, his whole body as he swung himself through the window. Only I could not see what he swung on.

Until, one day, I told my dream self to look down. And it was then that I saw. He had climbed on a rope. I knew without asking that the rope had been one of my own tying.

Rachel is trapped in a tower, held hostage by a woman she’s always called Mama. Her golden hair is growing rapidly, and to pass the time, she watches the snow fall and sings songs from her childhood, hoping someone, anyone, will hear her. 

Wyatt needs time to reflect or, better yet, forget about what happened to his best friend, Tyler. That’s why he’s been shipped off to the Adirondacks in the dead of winter to live with the oldest lady in town. Either that, or no one he knows ever wants to see him again.

Dani disappeared seventeen years ago without a trace, but she left behind a journal that’s never been read, not even by her overbearing mother…until now. 

My Review
Rachel has been locked in a tower by her momma to keep her safe. She spends her time reading, singing and watching her hair grow. She is very lonely and just wants a friend. Wyatt has been sent to live with his mothers best friend to help him forget. He is in the mountains with nothing to do. He goes into Dani's room and finds her journal. He hides it and reads it. All the while he is unraveling a mystery that happened years ago. He explores and finds Rachel. They have to finish the puzzle of Dani's journal to have a chance at a happily ever after.

I love retelling of fairytales and looked forward to reading this one about Rapunzle. It was an ok book that I had a few issues with. Sometimes in the beginning I had to go back to reread thinking I had missed something cause the story wasn't to clear. The more I read the more I understood what was going on. I liked how the author made this her own version. At times it seemed a little to instant love but I understand Rachel is starved for attention and Wyatt is lonely his self. There is more than he saves the girl in the tower. There is an element of mystery trying to see what happened to Dani and also an element of danger as it seems drugs are tied up in the story plot. This book moved at a decent pace. If you like fairy tale retellings you may enjoy this one.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley for a honest review.

The Sweetest Dark - Review

The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark #1)
by Shana Abe 

The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

My Review
Lora is being raised in an orphanage in London, England 1915. In these time the sixteen year old knows she has to stay out of sight and to keep quiet about her ability to hear music when others don't, the voice in her head and her dreams. While she tries to blend in she does stand out and gets the attention of a charity. She is sent to a boarding school where she clearly doesn't belong. Jesse a groundskeeper and Armand both notice her and want her for there own. Lora's powers seem to be growing and there is a danger near. She has to learn to use her powers quickly if she and her friends want to survive.

This book does stand out as different and is very well written. It just didn't seem to be my thing. I know other people will love it. I liked Lora she is a good character that is surrounded by rich spoiled girls and makes the best of it. She has to understand what is special about her and learn to control it. She has two guys who want her but she doesn't go back and forth. She knows what is in her heart. I really liked Jesse. He seemed really special to me. I guess I am a sucker for the working and poor people in this story. At times I will say this book was very easy to put down and then I had to go back a few pages to refresh my memory. I just didn't get into it like I had hoped. I enjoyed the time period and what paranormal aspects the books has. If you like historical, paranormal YA books or are wanting to try one you may want to give this one a try.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

I received a copy via Netgalley for a honest review.

January 10, 2014

The Appeal of Evil - Promo & Giveaway

Hello everybody! Today we have a promo for a book that is soon to release. The Appeal of Evil sounds wonderful and I love the cover. We also have a giveaway where you can win one of 6 ebook copies of the book.

Katie wants to invest her heart and soul in love, but she may lose both to Hell.

Katie, a senior in high school, is torn between loving the “good” guy, her childhood friend Wes who makes promises he doesn't keep and abandons her when she needs him the most, and the “bad” guy, the new kid at school Josh who is also a real demon from Hell. Katie wants someone who pays attention to her and puts her first, but what is she willing to give up to find him?

Pembroke Sinclair is a literary jack of all trades, playing her hand at multiple genres. She has written an eclectic mix of fiction ranging from horror to sci-fi and even some westerns. Born in Rock Springs, Wyoming--the home of 56 nationalities--it is no wonder Pembroke ended up so creatively diverse. Her fascination with the notions of good and evil, demons and angels, and how the lines blur have inspired her writing. Pembroke lives in Laramie, Wyoming, with her husband, two spirited boys, a black lab named Ryder, and a rescue kitty named Alia, who happens to be the sweetest, most adorable kitty in the world! She cannot say no to dessert, orange soda, or cinnamon. She loves rats and tatts and rock and roll and wants to be an alien queen when she grows up. You can learn more about Pembroke by visiting her at http://pembrokesinclair.blogspot.com/ on Twitter @PembrokeSinclai and on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/jessicarobinsonauthor


January 03, 2014

Seeress Cover Reveal

Book Title: Seeress
Series: A Runes Novel #3
Author: Ednah Walters
Expected Release Date: April 2014
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Firetrail Publishing
Presented by: As You Wish Tours
Banner Made by: Julia Hendrix


I love Torin St. James...
I crave his touch...
I need his strength...

Raine Cooper is certain of two things: her love for Torin St. James and her destiny to be a powerful seeress. But when she starts having premonitions, they are unclear and disturbing. Worse, they involve Torin. Not sure what to do, she keeps quiet.

But when the visions are about her and another man, Raine realizes she needs to talk to someone. Just her luck two new students arrive at her school and they seem to have answers. When with them, her powers are enhanced and her visions become clear. There is only one problem: Torin does not want Raine to have anything to do with the two girls but he won't explain why.

Can their love survive the secrets they are keeping from each other?

EDNAH WALTERS grew up reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and dreaming of one day writing her own stories. She is a stay-at-home mother of five humans and two American short-hair cats (one of which has ADHD) and a husband. When she is not writing, she’s at the gym doing Zumba or doing things with her family, reading, traveling or online chatting with fans.

Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released by Pill Hill Press in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, was released March 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN. Visit her at www.ednahwalters.com.

Ednah also writes YA paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. IMMORTALS is book 2. She just released book 3, GRIMNIRS December 2013. Read more about this series and the world she's created here www.runestheseries.com.

Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published five more books in this series. She's presently working on book seven. You can visit her online at or www.ebwalters.com.