May 31, 2014

Landlocked : Review

by C.S. Moore

Maribel dreams of the ocean, but has never been. 

Her overprotective aunt and uncle have kept her away from the place that calls to her at night. And trying to push them into taking her isn’t an option. She knows how much it hurts them to talk about the very thing that took her parents’ lives so many years ago in a boating accident. In fact Maribel never pushes anything with her loving adopted family, until she meets Jaron. 

He is unbelievably hot and the only boy that she has ever been attracted to. For the first time in her life she feels exhilarated and truly alive. She can tell that he feels it too, so why does he keep disappearing on her? And why is it that as soon as her secretive brooding knight shows up, her world is turned upside down? People are following her, she’s having terrifying nightmares, and she suddenly gets the feeling that her beloved aunt and uncle are keeping something from her. Can she unravel the secrets of her past without her life falling apart along the way? Will the truth forever change the way she sees the people that she loves?

My Review
Maribel would love to go see the ocean. It calls to her and she dreams of it. Her aunt and uncle won't let her go near it and are very protective of her. She has everything she could want and is very well taken care of. She just wish she understood her dreams. Then a new boy comes to town and for the first time Maribel is drawn to a boy. Jaron is a mystery to her and while he seems like he would do nothing to hurt her, he does have a secret he is keeping from her. Maribel has noticed she has people following her and she needs to know what her uncle and aunt are hiding. She is in danger she just doesn't know why.

Maribel is the pretty girl everyone seems to love. She isn't stuck up or snobby and isn't close to a lot of people. She knows something is being kept from her and she wants to know what. Jarod seems to always be around when she needs saving. He is keeping a big secret but it is for good reasons. I love these two characters as they are sweet at times but also have fire underneath. 

This was a very enjoyable book as you can tell it is about mermaids but in a different way. Most of the story lets you know Maribel and what type of person she is. You see her dreams and see what she wants to know. There is an element of danger as someone is after Maribel you just don't know why at first. Getting to know all the characters was a joy. There is the falling in love for the first time as well in this story and the author has written it in a good way. There is a reason Maribel is drawn to Jarod and she has to see how she truly feels. There are a few twist and turns that you may not see coming and I will say the ending really surprised me. I did not see it coming and need to know what happens next. If you like YA paranormal books, books about mermaids or just an engaging read I would recommend this one.

5 out of 5 Stars

Claimed by the Alpha : Review

Claimed by the Alpha (a BBW Werewolf Shifter Romance) (The Cull #1)
by ReneƩ George

*This short story contains explicit sex. It is not intended for readers under the age of 18. 

Anna Davis has accepted that her four-year battle with cancer is finally over. With only weeks to live, she makes peace with her life and makes arrangements for her death.

Twenty years ago, Anna fell in love with Conor Evans at the wrong place and in the wrong time. She’d had to make the toughest decision she’d ever faced—and let him go. Now at the end of her life, he’s offering her a chance to finally follow her heart. He has invited her to the cull—a tradition of transformation from human into a lycanosapien by “bite and blood.”

Anna has her reasons for refusing Conor, even if it means only living another month, but Conor refuses to give up on the only woman he’s ever loved—not without a fight. Anna has another tough choice—go back to her frail humanity or accept Conor’s invitation and…claim.

My Review
Anna has made her peace with dying. The cancer she has fought is about to win and she is ready to let go. All that changes with the arrival of Conor. She loved him many years ago but wouldn't leaver her unhappy marriage for him. Conor can change Anna and save her but she fights him. She has reasons for not wanting to live forever. Conor will not give up and tries his best to convince her to become a werewolf. They both love each other they just have to see if Anna is brave enough to fight to live.

This is a quick entertaining read. I liked Anna from the start. She is dying but still doesn't jump at the chance to live forever. She worries about her family and leaving them behind if she becomes a werewolf more than she worries about dying. She could have had Conor years ago but she would not cheat on her husband. Se is a very amazing person. Conor has for years tried to cure people using his werewolf blood. Anna is his mate and he just has to show her she can become one of them. They have tons of sexual sparks between them. It may be short but it is a hot, good read.

4 out of 5 Stars

Jenny Undead : Review

Jenny Undead (The Thirteen)
by J.L. Murray
Warning: This book contains strong language, zombies, knives, guns, and violence. 

In a world ravaged by disease and chaos, Jenny has a secret. She and her brother were part of a gruesome experiment conducted ten years earlier in an attempt to stop the zombie apocalypse. If the rumors are true, her mother was the hated pathologist who released the disease in the first place, leading to the destruction of government, civilization, and life as we know it.

Despite the constant terror of the undead, Jenny is as happy as a post-apocalyptic girl can be. She has friends, she's good with a knife, and she has Declan Munro by her side. But when she hears her brother might still be alive and living with the Underground, a religious group hiding in the now-defunct subway, Jenny jumps at the chance to find him. She infiltrates the group to right the wrong she caused when she ran away, leaving him in that lab.

When she finds him, though, Casey is not at all what she expected. He's been turned. And the impossible happens when Jenny is bitten. She and Casey are dead, but they're not like any other rotters. Their minds are still intact. And there are others: Thirteen children survived the mysterious experiments, and it’s up to Jenny to find them and bring an end to the plague. But not everyone wants the chaos to end. 

Between battling her hunger for living flesh and the all-encompassing rage that goes with it, and the realization that a killer is stalking both the living and the undead, Jenny has her hands full. Coming between a dead girl and the people she loves is a big mistake. Because if you can count on one thing, it's this: 

You wouldn't like her angry.

My review
Jenny is living in a world of rotters. She is trying to stay alive and find her brother. She ran away years ago and now wants to find him and hopes he is safe. She is tough but she is also scared someone will find out her secret. Her mother is rumored to be the reason for the zombies and she did experiments on children looking for a way to stop the zombie apocalypse. Jenny and her brother Casey were some of the children she experimented on. Jenny also had to deal with more horror than the rest. She puts herself in danger to find her brother and when she does she is in for a surprise. Casey has been bit and died but he isn't like the other zombies. He has kept his mind and is just like people still alive. Jenny gets bit and finds she is the same way. There is thirteen of them that were experimented on and now may be the key to saving the world. Jenny is different than the others and everyone seems to be after her. She is the key to fixing it all. She won't take threats lying down and goes after those who harm her loved ones.

I really enjoyed this book. I have read a few zombie books were they kept their mind but Jenny is a great character. She rushes into things and even when she gets turned and hungry she does everything she can to keep from hurting others. She is in love but would rather he stay away than risk her harming him. She is being told all kinds of things and doesn't know who to trust. Declan loves Jenny and seems to be the guy most are afraid of. He isn't afraid to kill and usually kills any zombie he sees. I will say I worried he would kill Jenny when he saw her. He does go a little crazy but only because he loves her. He is a great guy no matter what others think as he wants to stay near Jenny even when she is changed. There is so much going on in this book. Like you would think there is always danger or something happening and now they have to deal with people wanting them and government secrets. I loved every bit of this book and yes even the sad parts. They show you Jenny's softer side. I will be looking for the next book as I have to see what happens next. If you enjoy books with zombies be sure to pick this one up.

5 out of 5 Stars

May 24, 2014

Author Interview with Kenra Daniels & Azure Boone

Hi everyone! Today we have an interview with author Kenra Daniels and Azure Boone  along with info on their soon to be released book. Kenra is the one who has filled out the interview!

What is your book(s) about?
Archangels Creed is about an elite group of warrior Archangels who are sent to Earth to combat Satan's new plan to win in the war against good. They've found a way to use the passion of a couple in love to create a Holy Warrior, allowing them to live and fight on earth. The only problem is, humans don't act as they were predicted to, and the first Archangel sent ended up falling in love with a human woman. To protect the balance of the mission, all the other Archangels must take wives.

These books are filled with flawed, realistic characters, sizzling intimate scenes, and various battles between the two factions.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?
Kenra is in Kentucky, married almost 28 years, with one adult child and raising her 3 young grandsons. Azure is in Louisiana, married 22 years, and has 9 children.

We're both in our mid-40s and when we met on a tiny little writing forum 5 years ago, we found we had a great deal in common besides writing. We quickly became critique partners, helping each other with our writing, as well as very close friends. The natural progression of our relationship was to become co-authors, and Archangels Creed gives us that.

What started your interest in writing?
Kenra started writing at a very young age, and dabbled at it over the years. When chronic illness left her unable to continue her teaching career, she turned to writing.

Azure began writing a few years ago, hoping to make tons of money. She didn't count on all the hard work it took to write well. But she kept at it.

What are your currently working on?
We're working on "Summon Zool" right now, the 5th novel-length book in Archangels Creed. We also have 5 novellas in the series, and more, both novels and novellas to come.

How long did it take you to get your rough draft finished on your latest release?
About 6 weeks.

If you could be any paranormal creature what would you be?
I think we'd both be Archangels, lol.

What was the first book you remember reading?
I remember a few childhood books, but the book that hooked me on reading was "Mustang, Wild Spirit of the West" by Marguerite Henry. I was in 3rd grade and got in trouble for checking it out from the library too many times. The librarian pointed me toward Ms. Henry's other books when she realized I was re-reading and re-re-reading, lol, and I was hooked.

How did you come up with your title?
Ummm, not sure! It just sort of appeared out of nowhere.

Who is your support team?
Both our husbands do what they can to help out, and we also have our exceptional Street Team. Our War Chamber, a few of our most active supporters, is an amazing group. Amanda Muller creates our teaser images, and Tracey Moore Presley creates amazing bling swag and jewelry items for us. Seregon O'Dassey is our media advisor. Other members, Sandra Wilcher Goudie, Adrienne Allem-Samson, Denise Gardner, Kathy Moore, Miya Grubaugh, Marci Paralez, Lisa Jester Pearson, Cynthia Morgan, Libby Barnes and a couple of others, are awesome at finding pimping opportunities and other ways to promote Archangels Creed. And none of it would work without our PA, Gloria Esau. She's a wonderful friend and goes above and beyond to help us.

What do you do when your not writing?
Azure is fully occupied with homeschooling the 6 children she has still at home. Kenra stays busy riding herd on three rambunctious boys, the eldest being almost 6.

What was the lastest book you read?
The Meat Market by James Chalk

Where did you get the idea for your book(s)?
I think a video game character was the initial inspiration for Kassern, the first of the Archangels. From there, everything around us became fair game to be incorporated into the stories.

Are any of your characters like you?
I think every writer puts parts of themselves into some of their characters, but we make a conscious effort to keep ourselves out of our characters.

What genres do you write in?
Paranormal Romance and Erotic Romance

Is there anything you will never write about?
We'll tackle most things, no matter how taboo, but neither of us is comfortable writing same sex couples. It's a mindset we just can't achieve.

Do you have a favorite quote from your book(s)?
Sex, within a loving and committed relationship, is a divine gift intended to be fully enjoyed by both partners. - Paraphrasing Archangel Uriel from "Summon Kassern"

Is there anything you would tell aspiring writers?
Write and write. Always strive to improve and don't get 'hooked' on your own words. Read everything, good or bad, and any genre. There's something a writer can learn in it all. Analyze books to find what works, what doesn't, and how incorporate it into your own writing. Learn good writing mechanics. Bad grammar and punctuation is not a style. It simply confuses readers. When you know the rules, you can judiciously break them to achieve specific effects.

The most important is to make time to write. If you don't write, you aren't a writer. It might mean reducing the time you spend watching TV, or playing online games, or on social media, but if you're going to write, it has to be done. By the time you watch a 2 hour movie, you could have 2000 words written on your book. Priorities.

If zombies attacked what kind of supplies would you want?
Other than the usual survival gear and weapons, paper and pens to write and books to read. 

Who designed your cover(s)?
Azure designs most of our covers, with input from Kenra.

Have you learned anything from writing your book(s)?
We've both learned to trust our instincts for the story, and to complete projects.

What was the hardest part of writing your book(s)?
Making sure we don't sound preachy with some of the moral and religious elements, and justifying how the Archangels have sex without breaking Divine Law.

If you could sit down with any author dead or alive who would it be?
JR Ward is the obvious answer, but we'd both choose each other as well, simply because after about 5 years of being close and constant friends, we still haven't met in real life.

If you cowrite a book with any author who would it be?
Again, we'd choose each other. Our working relationship is unique, in part because we're totally honest with one another. If one of us doesn't like something, we work it over until we arrive at a compromise. We keep our egos entirely out of the process and gladly accept criticism from one another.

What is your favorite paranormal being?

How do you react to a bad review?
It depends. If the review is legitimate and the person truly just didn't like the book, okay. But if they leave a bad review because they didn't read the description, etc, we're annoyed by it. But either way we don't respond publicly.

Do you keep a notebook near your for when new ideas pop into your head?
Yes, and we also keep a running list of ideas in a document.

If you write a series do you reread your previous books before you begin the new one?
Sometimes, if we need to work closely with a character that starred in an earlier book, it's necessary to reread to get the voice right.

Does much research go into your novels?
Sometimes. We use current events, and sometimes regional settings that must be researched. And we often check details.

Is there anything you wish to say to your readers?
We appreciate you more than words can say. You inspire us to continue the series even when other work would be easier and make us more money. 

Further information:

Twitter: @ArchangelsCreed

Description for "Summon Zool" coming May 31

12 Archangel Warriors are to be sent to Earth to prevent their Fallen Brethren from setting off Armageddon prematurely.

Zool, the Onyx Warrior, approaches the Mission from a different point of view than his Brothers who've already arrived. Kassern's lack of discipline might have doomed the entire Brotherhood of War to Holy Matrimony with female humans, but Dorn, Toren and Lyght carried equal blame. They had surrendered to the weaknesses of their human flesh, and to the women they selected as brides.

A former Fallen Angel, Zool has no intention of going that route. Even if it kills him, he will dominate. The bride he chooses will be an obedient woman, dedicated to the their mission and willing to fight at his side. If only the infuriating Tina would get out from under his skin!

And his couple, recently rescued from a Satanic Coven, could make things a bit easier. The opinionated male insisted Tina would make a formidable warrior. It was true, but Zool didn't need anyone to tell him that. And the woman acted as if Tina becoming the final member of his Quad was a foregone conclusion. 

A lesser Warrior might be tempted to give in, but not Zool. He'd learned all about resisting temptation as the prisoner of a demonic warlord bent on breaking him. A mere human woman was nothing compared to that.

May 12, 2014

Wolf With Benefits : Review

Wolf with Benefits (Pride #8)
by Shelly Laurenston

Ricky Lee has no plans of getting serious about anyone, but he will protect Toni Jean-Louis Parker. Not just because he’s been hired to do so, but because it’s the right thing to do. And if that means traveling around the country with one complicated She-jackal, dealing with chocolate-eating wild dogs, instigating trouble between his brothers, and having the most amazing sex he’s ever had…well, who said his job didn’t have perks?

Toni doesn’t know how she keeps getting herself into these situations. But even she has to admit there’s something about Ricky Lee Reed that she finds kind of interesting…and downright sexy. Now they just have to survive long enough to figure out if what they have is worth fighting for…

My Review
Toni comes from a big family of Jackal shifters. She is the only one of the children who really doesn't have a gift. She is the oldest and tries to keep her siblings in lone and in order. Never really having a chance to be on her own she welcomes the chance to be director of travel for a hockey team. She only has to deal with Ricky Lee the wolf shifter hire to protect her. Ricky Lee is always down for a good time and he would love to have a good time with Toni. They have much to deal with from bear shifting hockey players to humans after Toni's family. The more he is around Toni the more Ricky Lee wants more than just fun with her.

I have read a few books in this series and enjoyed them all. This one is a great one not really for the romance in it as that just didn't click for me. It was more about all the amazing characters. I liked Ricky Lee and his charm and how he seemed kinda laid back. He has so much more going on than what you see and believe at first. Toni always seemed to feel left out in the gifted department but she is so great at trying to keep everything together. I loved her siblings and anyone who reads this book as well. From the start you see just what a handful they are. Get ready to laugh from the start with them. This book is packed full of laughter and danger at times. All these shifters play a great part in this book. I also like the fact that the shifters don't stick to just being with there kind. Who would think a jackal and a wolf. The author does a good job pairing them. I just didn't connect with them as a couple. I look forward to more in this series and all these characters. If you like a paranormal series that has romance, laughter, danger and so much more give this one a try.

4 out of 5 Stars~Pam 

May 04, 2014

Interview With Author Stephanie Summers

Hi everyone we have an interview with Author Stephanie Summers today and info on her book!

What is your book(s) about?
Craving is the first book of The Willow Creek Vampires Series. As of now, I have three books planned in that series. Craving introduces Sabine Crowley. She lives in the town of Willow Creek, where vampires and the founders of the town have struck a deal that’s been upheld for the last 200 years. In exchange for protection from other vampires and supernatural creatures drawn to the area, one human is chosen every ten years to live with the vampires and provide sustenance to the vamp they’ve been paired with. This time, Sabine is chosen. She’s devastated even though she’s known most of her life this was most likely going to happen. She is paired with a vampire, Remy, who would rather be anywhere else in the world but Willow Creek. He’s been summoned by his maker who happens to be the vampire lord in town. There is an instant attraction between the two, though neither one can stand to be around the other, or at least try hard to convince themselves of that. Craving explores a little about the town, but mainly focuses on the interactions between Sabine and Remy and allows the reader to watch as their relationship forms and grows. The next book in the series, tentatively titled Haunting, will explore more of the town’s background along with Sabine and Remy’s trials and tribulations. 

What started your interest in writing?
I’ve always had what I would call a creative brain and I’ve always had very vivid dreams. Some scenes from dreams I’ve had have stayed with me for years because they were so detailed. I also find myself lost in thought in my own world at times, mostly when I’m trying to fall asleep. I decided one day a little over a year ago that maybe I could put some of these thoughts and ideas on paper and make something others would enjoy reading. 

What are you currently working on?
I’m currently working on Haunting, which is book #2 of The Willow Creek Vampires Series. I also have an untitled rock star romance in the works as well that I’m about half finished with. I’m aiming to have both of them released later in 2014. 

How long did it take you to get your rough draft finished on your latest release?
It actually only took me a month. I participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). This is held every November, and the goal is to write a full 50,000 word novel in one month. I somehow managed to complete that and spent the next three months revising and editing until I got to a version of the story I was satisfied with. 

If you could be any paranormal creature what would you be?
Either a vampire or a witch. 

What was the first book you remember reading?
I’m sure there were others before, but the first one I remember reading and falling in love with was Interview with the Vampire. It was not long after the movie came out, and I think I was maybe 12 years old. I bought the book for my sister for Christmas, and hurried up and read most of it before I gave it to her! Then I took it and finished it before she had the chance to read it! Not a bit selfish at all… 

How did you come up with your title?
Willow Creek came about because I wanted to have a series revolving around a specific town. I always loved weeping willow trees and decided to use the word willow. I then just sort of ran through a list of words to see what willow sounded best with. As far as Craving, I was listening to a song and the words kept coming up and it just fit the theme of the book. 

Are any of your characters like you?
I think my main characters tend to have a little bit of me in them, but I try not to make them identical to myself. I don’t think that would be any fun to write. 

What genres do you write in?
Currently I write in the paranormal romance and contemporary romance genres, but I’m considering branching out at some point. 

Is there anything you will never write about?
I would never write about a situation where a person is raped and they end up enjoying it. I know in some romance novels, more so in the 70s and 80s than more modern ones, there were story lines where the heroine is raped by the hero and she gives in to him and it’s just fantastic and they fall deeply in love. I’m sure there are people who enjoy reading those types of stories, but I won’t write one. Rape doesn’t lead to love.

Is there anything you would tell aspiring writers?
Just keep writing. Simple as that. 

What is your favorite paranormal being?
I’m a sucker for vampires. 

How do you react to a bad review?
I try not to focus on them too much, and weed out the ones who have nothing constructive to say from the ones who do offer suggestions. If a reviewer points out a specific flaw or point they didn’t like, I look at it and see if it’s something I can improve. If the reviewer just says something along the lines of, “This sucks, story is horrible,” I tend not to take them as seriously because they aren’t really saying anything constructive. 

Do you keep a notebook near your for when new ideas pop into your head?
Absolutely. I carry it to bed with me in case something strikes me in the middle of the night and it’s on the table beside me when I’m lounging around in my living room.

If you write a series do you reread your previous books before you begin the new one?
Yes. Even though I wrote the story and have been over it a hundred times, there are still minor details I might forget. So not only do I read through it before I begin the next one, I also do a skim through again somewhere near the middle of writing the next one to make sure there is continuity. 

Does much research go into your novels?
If I write about a place that actually exists I try to look into it to make sure I’m describing something correctly. I also research places and eras of history if I have characters from that place and time.

Is there anything you wish to say to your readers? 
Thank you! Thank you for taking the time to be interested in me and my writing. Thank you for giving me the chance to entertain you. 

Craving (Willow Creek Vampires Series) by Stephanie Summers
A small, idyllic town nestled in the Appalachian Mountains is home to a thriving community. People are happy, crime is practically nonexistent, life is good…unless you’re Sabine Crowley, who has been chosen to be the next blood bag for the vampire lord who has protected the town from otherworldly creatures for 200 years. 
Sabine has big dreams for her life, and none of them include becoming a vampire’s concubine. On her 18th birthday, she seeks solitude to process the cruel turn her destiny has taken. As she sits alone in Cleary Park, a sexy stranger approaches her. He’s tall, mysterious, handsome, and a complete jerk. He soon reveals himself to be a vampire and she’s terrified of him and her strange attraction to him. She wants to get as far away from him as possible, yet finds herself wondering if she’ll see him again. 
Remy, the cocky newcomer vampire, has been summoned by his maker, Bastian, to take his place beside him in the hierarchy of vampires inhabiting Willow Creek. He’s none too thrilled to be stuck in a boring little town in the middle of nowhere where he’ll have to feed exclusively from the girl he’s been paired with. He’s repulsed by the whole situation. 
When Sabine tries to run away from her fate, Remy is forced to follow and bring her back. They’re unwillingly thrust into each other’s lives and reluctantly find an undeniable attraction between themselves. Will they ever look past their contempt for one another and act on their urges? Or are they destined to hate each other forever?

Interview with Author Cindy Ponds Newell

Hi everyone! Today we have an interview with Author Cindy Ponds Newell.

What are my books about?
 They are all about ghosts, with the exception of One Grave Secret, which is a serial killer thriller. My latest, Attached, also includes a demon. 

What started my interest in writing? 
I've always been fascinated in ghosts, so why not write about them?

 What do I do when I'm not writing?
 I love going to yard sales, thrift shops, crafting and reading. I also love working in flowers and being with my three children and my husband of twenty years.

 How long did it take me to write my first manuscript?
 The norm for all of my novels is about two to three weeks. When the mood to write hits me, I'm on a roll! 

What am I currently working on?
 Two Grave Mistakes, the sequel to my psychological thriller, One Grave Secret. I plan to release this one in the fall, maybe sooner. 

The first book I remember reading? 
Gus The Friendly Ghost. I also read many of Carolyn Keene's Nancy Drew books. My fascination with ghosts and mysteries goes way back!

The Kept: A Ghost Story by Cindy Ponds Newell
Carrie Lemoine isn't very happy about moving from her home in Maryland to a small, quiet town in North Carolina. Things seem to worsen for her when she realizes this home must be haunted. She's the only one who seems to hear the whispers or see the shadow hiding in the darkest corners of her new home. But this home isn't so new and has a history of its own. Unravel the mystery of the old Redding home place as Carrie and her family begin to struggle against the evil that lurks there.

Attached by Cindy Ponds Newell
Marla Danner wants nothing more than to start a family with her husband, Dennis. But things don't always go as planned. In a moment of desperation, Marla invites the spirits of two young children into her home, using a Ouija board. It proves an easy way to communicate with these new children in her life, Anna and Benjamin. 
Everything appears perfect for Marla until things start to turn upside down and she soon realizes she might have opened a door that seems to lead straight to hell. 
Now, she will have to solve the mystery of the murders of both Anna and Benjamin, the ghosts that have attached themselves to her, while fighting an on going demon possession. 
This story is based on true events. Some creative license has been taken by the Author.

One Grave Secret by Cindy Ponds Newell
Freddy Lee, a typical boy growing up in rural North Carolina, finds himself alone and different throughout his childhood. He Falls in love with a beautiful young woman and everything seems perfect for Freddy. 

When a horrific accident occurs, Freddy can no longer have his sweet Lori. His special inside-voice helps him create a demonic plan to replace the only girl he ever loved. What lengths will Freddy go to in order to find the next Lori? The small town of Wadesboro will never be the same, if anyone should discover his One Grave Secret. 

May 03, 2014

Interview with Author Zabe Truesdell

Hi everyone we have an interview with Author Zabe Truesdell and info on his book.

What is your book(s) about?
-It's about Thomas Salazar's death, and his discovery that the after world was nothing like he thought it would be. Now he's finding himself caught between forces that could have serious effects on the worlds of the living and the dead. 

What started your interest in writing?
-I've always loved telling stories, from the time I was a little kid. All my toys were stars of many a weird tale. As I grew up I started playing a lot of Role Playing Games, which I found to be another great means of story telling. The older I got the more I got into writing down some of the stories I came up with. 

What are your currently working on?
-The sequel to Waking Up Dead, which is tentatively titled "The Glacier of Gods and Monsters".

How long did it take you to get your rough draft finished on your latest release?
- It took roughly a year, start to finish. During that time there were about 8 major rewrites, and who knows how many minor ones. I finally had to stop and say "It's good enough. It's time for it to go out into the world" then move onto book two. Every time I read it, I found something I could improve on. Still do, but since it's out in the world now I've convinced myself to let it go.

If you could be any paranormal creature what would you be?
-Dragon. Flight, Thousands of years life span, and love of art? Why not?

What was the lastest book you read?
-The Emperor's Soul, which was a short story by Brandon Sanderson. Before that it was Neil Gaiman's Ocean at the End of the Lane.

Is there anything you would tell aspiring writers?
-Write. Then read it then rewrite it. Then have other people read it, then rewrite it. It's great to get that first draft down, but there's always room for improvement!

Who designed your cover?
An amazing artist from Malaysia named Greg Bain. Great guy, You can check out his work at

What was the hardest part of writing your book(s)?
-Marketing! Writing is the easy part. Getting people aware that your book exists... that's tricky!

If you could sit down with any author dead or alive who would it be?
-Alive would be Neil Gaiman, but dead, well I think I would have to go with Mark Twain. How amazing would his conversations be?

Does much research go into your novels?
-I grew up reading mythologies from around the world, and work a lot of them into my books. I do go back and research many of them as I write to make certain I get some of the details accurate. 

Is there anything you wish to say to your readers?
-Enjoy the book, and by all means feel free to send me feedback! I love hearing from readers! Thanks!

Waking Up Dead (River Sanctuaries) by Zabe Truesdell
"You know, I thought when I died.... I really thought at the time that was the end of my goodbyes. Either the Good Book was right and I was headed to a place of endless happiness, or it was complete rubbish and I would just cease to be. Either way I was prepared. But this... after all this time I am still not prepared for this." 

Thomas Salazar didn't know what to expect when he died, but itcertainly wasn't Jack Macintyre. Yet here he was, dead, with Jack standing there offering him a job. 

In a world where reality can respond to your every thought, a job that offers endless surprises can be enticing. Leaving life behind, however, isn't easy and the job holds its own risks. To complicate matters, the more souls he meets, the more Thomas realizes that everybody, including Jack, has an agenda they're not fully disclosing. Even Thomas's childhood pet seems to have secrets.

"How is it that death is so much more complicated than life?"


Author links

Top Ten With Author Eden Ashe

Hi everyone! We have author Eden Ashe with her Top Ten Romantic movies to watch and info on her books.

Eden Ashe's What is your top ten Romantic movies to watch?
(No particular order)

1. Moulin Rouge! I've seen it a hundred times and it still rips my heart out. 

2. Imagine Me & You
I love the idea that in an instant you can lock eyes with someone and find your soul mate. That it's their heart and soul you fall in love with, not their looks or gender. That it's about finding that person and connecting with them, loving them, on every level. Plus: YOU'RE A WANKER NUMBER NINE!

3. Pitch Perfect
I don't care about the romance, really, up until that final performance and he raises his fist in the air. And that kiss. Love that kiss.

4. The Lord of the Rings trilogy
Because Aragorn and Arwen and THAT KISS. Good Gawd.

5. Stardust
Not sure why, I just really love this movie.

6. The Princess Bride
As You Wish. Enough said.

7. Amelie
Fun. Quirky. Sweet.

8. Say Anything
Because Lloyd Dobler, why else? 

9. Benny & Joon
The love scene. The window scene. Johnny Depp.

10. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
I can, have, and do watch this over and over again. The idea that no matter what obstacles you throw at them, certain people will always find their way back together. 

Honorable Mention: Juno, 10 Things I Hate About You



The Dragon's Heart (Dragon Lore)  by Eden Ashe
“We’re dragons. We don’t do the mushy friend thing.” - Daniel

The dragon-shifter king will do anything to keep his mate alive…even if it means war.

After millennia as king of the dragon-shifters, Daniel Ashborne wants a little peace and quiet, especially from the beautiful Hollywood starlet who haunts his memories. His escape tactics end abruptly when he is called to the ER to save the one woman he wants to forget, but who now bears his mark.

Shelby Kincade’s life and movie career were nearly destroyed when Daniel vanished a year ago. Now he’s back, claiming they have been accidentally mated. Getting over him once was hard enough, but she must choose either the life of her dreams or the man she can’t live without.

With peace finally on the horizon between the dragon-shifters and the Hunters, an assassination attempt on the dragon king and his mate shatters everything. Tensions rebuild as Daniel and his loyal team of shifters try to discover who put out the hit. Enemy and ally lines are crossed, but in the end--after the battle ash has settled--no one could have foreseen who has plotted for their own gain.

CONTENT WARNING: Graphic fight scenes, lots of great sex, and hot, hot, hot dragon men.
The Dragon's Heart on Amazon: 

Ever Mine (Dragon Lore) by Eden Ashe
Release June 2nd
Can a kidnapped fairy and a human find love despite all odds?

Nathan Alexander’s batty aunt has done it again. This time she’s sent him a rare plant he doesn’t want. Imagine his surprise when he finds a kidnapped fairy hidden within its leaves. As a man who heads a non-profit organization for abused women and children, Nathan makes it his mission to help her find her way home.

All her life Katenia was warned about the evilness of humans. Never was that proved more true than when she was kidnapped from her quiet valley home. Thrust into the human world, Katenia must fight her very instincts to trust Nathan if she ever hopes to return to her rightful place…and to her normal thumb-sized fairy form.

But with their lives in danger, finding home…and love…will be a journey worthy of a fairy tale.