March 28, 2013

Cover Reveal for Gilded Destiny

We are so excited to be participating in the cover reveal of Gilded Destiny by Nola Sarina. The cover looks awesome and the book sounds so good. I can't wait to read it. Nola has also donated some prizes but I will tell you more about those later. But first let's get to know Nola.
 
Nola is a mother, wife, writer, and giggle-a-holic, living in Canada and raising a pack of kids. In her spare time she can be found geocaching, guzzling coffee, or tending to her garden. Her VESPER series is on submission by her agent to publishers, along with WILD HYACINTHE, a paranormal romance co-authored with Emily Faith.
 
Stalker Links:
 
 
GILDED DESTINY is the first of three novellas in Nola Sarina’s dark fantasy VESPER series, represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. Follow Nola on Twitter @NolaSarina and on Facebook for awesome announcements, giveaways, and upcoming info about the second Novella in the series!
Now for the Cover Reveal:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A woman’s memory returns when she falls in love with the monster who took it from her.
Calli tattoos her skin to fill the holes in her memory, thanks to an accident that left her mind damaged and empty. But a nasty encounter with a fired employee leaves her in the arms of her unlikely savior: Nycholas, a predatory, serpentine Vesper on the run from his brutal master.
Nycholas’ clandestine world holds the secrets to mankind’s origin and survival… but he only wants one thing before his time is up: a few colorful nights with Calli, the fragile, tattooed, human woman he pursued and saved.
The more Calli learns about Nycholas, the more her own darkened memories return to her. Despite her haunted past, she loses herself to passion and desire with her immortal captor.
Now, Calli must overcome the demons of her past, or allow Nycholas to kiss her memories away and spare her the trauma of loving a doomed immortal. But each choice comes with dire consequences – some that endanger not only herself, but her family as well.
 
How awesome is that cover? I can't wait to read this book. I wanna thank Nola for letting us participate in her cover reveal. But before I leave there is a giveaway that Nola has doanted for 2 lucky people to win. Nola has doanted an ebook of  Gilded Destiny and a 3 pack of temporary custom-designed tatoos that go with the theme of the book. To win one of these prizes you need to follow our blog, go like Nola's facebook page, and then answer this question: What is the first paranormal book you ever read? Make sure you leave your email with your comment so we can get in touch with you if your the winner. Good Luck!!!
 
~Sabrina

 

March 27, 2013

Soul Sucker book blast - Excerpt & Giveaway

Hey everyone! Today we are taking part in the book blast for Soul Sucker by Kate Pearce. There is info on the book and author, an excerpt and a giveaway for you all.

Soul Sucker
by Kate Pearce

BLURB:
Supernatural Branch of Law Enforcement empath Ella Walsh sucks memories from people's heads. The job fills her mind with others' nightmares and leaves her with little time for love, but if she doesn't pair off with a mate of the government's choosing soon, the psychic blowback will destroy her powers and her sanity.

The last time shapeshifting SBLE superstar Vadim Morosov worked with an empath, he got her killed and himself assigned to a desk. He worries about taking on another partner, but helping Ella track down an empath killer might be his only chance to save his career.

Naturally, the government decides to throw them together.
They resist at first, but they can't deny the simmering heat between them. As the killer's strikes grow closer to home, their bond gets tighter. And when the murderer finally traps Ella, her developing link with Vadim might be the only thing that can save her.

Excerpt
“I think the question you should be asking yourself, Ms. Walsh, is why you feel so threatened by me.”

She screeched to a halt again. “Threatened, by you?”

“Yes. I think you’ve got used to getting your own way in that office, and you don’t like anyone else coming in and questioning anything you say.”

“And I think you’re talking out of your ass.”

“I don’t like incompetence, Ms. Walsh, and I don’t like working with empaths on the brink of a break- down. I’ll work with you because I have no choice, but I’ll be questioning everything that comes out of your mouth, double and triple checking it and, if necessary, taking my concerns to the very top to make sure I’m heard so I don’t get left holding the can when everything blows up.”

She stared into his eyes and for the first time in her life seriously contemplated drawing her weapon and shooting a fellow professional. But he’d probably like it if she did that, and she still had no way of knowing if he could actually be killed.

Instead, she gave him her best professional smile. “I’m glad you shared your concerns with me, Morosov. I appreciate your input and will consider each and every one of your points very carefully.”

Text Copyright © 2012 by Kate PearcePermission to reproduce text granted by Harlequin Books S.A. Cover art used by arrangement with Harlequin Enterprises Limited. All rights reserved. ® and TM are trademarks owned by Harlequin Enterprises Limited or its affiliated companies, used under license.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:
Award winning author, Kate Pearce was born into a large family of girls in England, and spent much of her childhood living very happily in a dream world. Despite being told that she really needed to 'get with the program', she graduated from the University College of Wales with an honors degree in history.

A move to the USA finally allowed her to fulfill her dreams and sit down and write her first romance novel. Kate is published by Signet Eclipse, Kensington Aphrodisia, Ellora's Cave, Carina Press, Cleis Press and Virgin Black Lace/Cheek.

you can find her at:
Twitter as Kate4queen


Buy Links: 

Giveaway
Kate will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B&N GC, winner's choice, to two randomly drawn commenters during the tour. Be sure to follow the tour and comment below with your email for your chance to win.

March 21, 2013

Pretty When They Collide - Review

Pretty When They Collide(Pretty When She Dies 0.5)
by Rhiannon Frater
Blurb
An exciting new novella set in the world of Pretty When She Dies...

Cassandra is a dhamphir-the offspring of a vampire and mortal woman-and a thief of occult relics. 

Aimee is a full-blood witch that is bound to a powerful vampire who traffics in the slavery of supernatural beings.

Both are powerful, lonely, and trapped in the dangerous world of the vampires. 

When Cassandra steals a relic from Aimee’s vampire master, he targets her as his next acquisition. What he doesn’t realize is that a chance encounter between Cassandra and Aimee ignited a spark between them that they cannot deny. 

To survive, the women must find a way to band together and fight against the ruthless evil that conspires to enslave them forever.


My Review
Aimee is a full blooded witch who is blood bonded to Frank a horrible vampire that deals in slavery of supernatural people. He also loves to collect relics. Aimee has to create spells to protect Frank and do what ever he says. She really just wants to be free. Cassandra is a dhamphir which is a rare supernatural. Her does odd jobs stealing relics and other things people ask her to get. When she steals a relic that was supposed to go to Frank he finds out what she is and wants her for his collection of supernaturals. Cassandra is drawn to Aimee and when they touch she feels a spark. She finds herself drawn to Aimee and will do whatever it takes to get her free. Aimee knows Cassandra is the one who can free her from Frank and she also realizes she is drawn to Cassandra for different reasons. Will these two manage to be free to explore what seems to be a growing spark between them or will Frank capture and control them both.

Never think Aimee is weak. She really grows stronger the more you read this and you really get to see her grow and become stronger. She is treated horribly by Frank sometimes on the verge of dying. She doesn't give up and keeps trying to break free. I love how she reacts when she meets Cassandra. You can see she is confused by her feelings for another woman. Cass is simply fantastic. From taking care of her mom, getting over an ex, to doing her job she is amazing all the way around. She is willing to fight for someone she has only bumped into because she feels something stronger. This kinda shows you how she will protect those she cares about. Her mom while she has problems is great. She loves Cass so much and it is nice to see the sweet side of Cass's life. Frank is a horrible monster that I kept hoping would die. He is truly evil. If you have read this series you get to see some more familiar faces in this book.

I am a huge fan of this author and always enjoy reading her work. This book has plenty of action that keeps you on the edge of your seat and shows you just how tough these two girls can be. It had a few twist in it I didn't see coming and I couldn't tell at times whose side one character was on. This book has plenty of paranormal creatures in it that fans will love. It is nice to see the sparks between Cass and Aimee grow as the book moves along. Having read the Pretty When She Dies series I was wanted the background on these two and the author did a fantastic job on it. I want to see more from these two and eagerly look forward to reading more. Pretty please write more about these two. If you haven't read this series yet you should it is awesome.
5 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy Links

March 19, 2013

Bringer of Fire - Review

Bringer of Fire by Jaz Primo
Blurb
Bringer of Fire is high octane urban fantasy at its best!
Logan Bringer is a tough as nails ex-Special Forces war hero who survives experimental cancer treatments and suddenly finds that he can move objects with his mind. When his treatment center is destroyed in a massive explosion all hell breaks loose! While struggling to control his strange new abilities, he’s targeted by powerful corporations, terrorists, and the FBI. But when an assassin targets Logan’s family he shifts into high gear with a vengeance.
Bringer of Fire is an action-packed thriller that sweeps you up from the first chapter and carries you off!

My Review
Logan Bringer is a man who has done his bit in the army and has to battle cancer that should have killed him. On the day he was to go to one of his last treatments he is sick with a cold and can't go. Luck seems to be with him as he narrowly misses a tragedy. Things soon turn strange when he finds he is able to move objects with his mind. Seems the experimental drug he took to cure the cancer may have done more than cure him. He works with the FBI to try and figure out who is behind some horrible crimes using his new found powers. He may find he has closer ties than he knows to who is behind it and discover the battle may just be beginning.

Logan stole my heart from the first. He ha had a rough time but really doesn't let it get him down. He fights every fight he can to survive and live. His body may be weak but his heart is strong. I loved when he got powers because he doesn't seem to be the type to abuse them. He also has a good sense of humor that plays out in some funny scenes. Marie is a nurse who plays a part in this book and I liked her as well. She seems to have her patients well being being her number one option. She tries her best to help Logan and does question what all is going on where she works. FBI agent Megan is so awesome she is what you want an agent to be. Tough but she does have a soft side and you even get to see the green eyed monster come out every so often even if she tries to hide it. She helps Logan in every way she can and she ask him to help as well.

I am a huge fan of this author as I love every book I have read by him. He puts a different spin on books that I really enjoy. This book is no different from page one I was hooked. You get to see from the beginning what kind of person Logan is and all he has been thru. This truly is an action packed ride you don't want to end. You get to see Logan's powers grow as he helps the FBI figure a crime out.Seeing the action as he faces danger is so amazing. You never know what to expect and this has twist to it you don't see coming. I can not hardly wait to see what comes next for Logan. If you like an original supernatural book that keeps you on your toes pick this one up. It has a touch of romance that you want to see grow as well.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy Links

Dualed - Review

Dualed by Elsie Chapman
Blurb
You or your Alt? Only one will survive.

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Elsie Chapman's suspenseful YA debut weaves unexpected romance into a novel full of fast-paced action and thought-provoking philosophy. When the story ends, discussions will begin about this future society where every adult is a murderer and every child knows there is another out there who just might be better.

My Review
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review. In the city of Kersh. Life is pretty good. You are safe, have things, and it is a pretty good life, that is if you manage to kill your Alt. Everyone is born with a twin raised by another family. Before your 20th birthday you have to kill you alt to get the good life. If your Alt wins they get the good life. It is the way to make sure the strong survive and the weak are gotten rid of. 15 year old West has been preparing for when her month comes to kill her Alt. She thinks she has a good shot at doing it. A tragedy changes the way she thinks and she does some things against the rules to better her chances. Now she has to face old ghost, her twin, and someone who loves her. Can she let go of the past to face what must be done to have a life?

West is an intriguing character. She is tough you have to be to survive in this world, she has had loads of tragedy in her life so far, she is smart as she hides from her Alt and still does her job and she is sometimes blind to what is in front of her. I liked getting into her head seeing the many different things she had going on.Chord is a favorite character of mine he tries his best to protect West as he told her brother he would. She constantly fights with him but he still sticks around and watches her back. 

This book keeps you on the edge of your seat as you read and read trying to see what will happen. Will West or her Alt win the battle they must face. It can at times get really tense as they face each other and learn they are pretty even on everything. You get to see flashes of the Alt's life and that was a nice touch. I would have loved to know more of how this all came to be where everyone has a twin and you have to kill them that would have made the story even better. You do get plenty of action as West works her job and as there is always someone trying to kill there Alt. This is a highly entertaining book to me. West does a lot of things that show you just how far she is willing to go to live. At times it makes you wonder what you would do in this situation. I eagerly look forward to the next book to see where this story goes because even tho it ended nicely you still want more.
4 out of  Bats~Pam
Buy Links

Phantom Shadows - Review

Phantom Shadows (Immortal Guardians #3)
by Dianne Duvall
Blurb
Dr. Melanie Lipton is no stranger to the supernatural. She knows immortals better than they know themselves, right down to their stubborn little genes. So although a handsome rogue immortal seems suspicious to her colleagues, Sebastien Newcombe intrigues Melanie. His history is checkered, his scars are impressive, and his ideas are daring. But it's not his ideas that have Melanie fighting off surges of desire . . . 

Bastien is used to being the bad guy. In fact, he can't remember the last time he had an ally he could trust. But Melanie is different — and under her calm, professional exterior he senses a passion beyond anything in his centuries of experience. Giving in to temptation is out of the question — he can't put her in danger. But she isn't asking him . . .

My Review
I was sent a copy of this book for an honest review. Dr. Melanie loves her work with the supernatural and knows a lot about them. She helps all of those that she can even the ones that the other supernaturals want to kill or don't trust. She fights to protect  those she cares about. The other doctors don't like Sebastien Newcombe and the supernatural have reasons to hate them. Melanie is attracted to him even if tho she knows she shouldn't she sees more in him than the others do. Bastien is used to everyone not trusting him or liking him. Melanie is different than the others. She treats him different but he still tries to keep a wall up and not let her in. She may just fight him tooth and nail to get over that wall. 

Melanie is one of those characters that I loved right away. She is tough, doesn't let anyone boss her around and takes up for the ones other people want nothing to do with. She also has a soft heart but she has plenty of backbone. Even while Bastien fights to keep her away she fights to show him all she is. I love her she is amazing. Bastien has so many layers to him. He has to face people daily that don't like or hate him. He has done many things wrong in the past but doesn't hide them or try to explain them away. He lets people think what they want. He is afraid to let Melanie get close to him because he has been alone so long. He also is afraid she will be hurt some how. I loved getting to know him as I read this book.

I have not read any of the other books in this series but I didn't get lost reading this one. I will be reading the other books because I really enjoyed the story line of this book. The battle you get to see unfold in front of your eyes is incredible. I loved all the fight scenes and all the action this book has in it. It really has the perfect mixture of action and love in this book. It really was a pleasure to read Bastien and Melanies story as they have a wonderfil chemistry that you just know they will be perfect for each other.  I really enjoyed all the secondary characters as well. I need to pick up their books to see their story. This book is just jammed packed with awesomeness that left me craving more books by this author. If the rest of the series is like this book I recommend it to all paranormal lovers.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy Links

Who Done It? - Review

Blurb
A star-studded anthology with a devilish hook, whose proceeds benefit 826nyc: the fabulous literacy non-profit founded by Dave Eggers.

Can you imagine the most cantankerous book editor alive? Part Voldemort, part Cruella de Vil (if she were a dude), and worse in appearance and odor than a gluttonous farm pig? A man who makes no secret of his love of cheese or his disdain of unworthy authors? That man is Herman Mildew.

The anthology opens with an invitation to a party, care of this insufferable monster, where more than 80 of the most talented, bestselling and recognizable names in YA and children’s fiction learn that they are suspects in his murder. All must provide alibis in brief first-person entries. The problem is that all of them are liars, all of them are fabulists, and all have something to hide...

My Review
Who Done It is a collection of alibis from over 80 authors. They each add there reason why they couldn't have been the one to kill the worse editor in the world Herman Mildew . You get to hear some of the mean and awful things he did or said to them. They all have a reason for doing it and you just have to figure out which one actual did it.

I liked most of the alibis the author came up with in this book. Each one has a unique and different reason for wanting to kill this man and a way they would do it. Most of the stories are around 3-5 pages for each author and you can see each ones style shine thru in the story telling. A few that stood out to me is the author who didn't need an alibi because she was to short to be a suspect but thunks they need to interview her as well. Another favorite of mine was how a twitter conversation causes one author to become a suspect. The cheese the editor loved to eat finds it's way into a lot of stories and they each give the cheese story a twist to make it theirs. There is tons of fantastic authors that contribute to this book and really to many stories to tell about each one. If you are looking for a light hearted Who Done It mystery by some fab authors give this a try. Some stories are wonderful and some of them fell flat all in all a good read.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam
Buy Links

March 18, 2013

The Beginning of the End Blog Tour

Hey everyone! We are very happy to take part in The Beginning of the End Blog Tour. We are here to tell you all about Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse. Settle in while we share some info with you all!


Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse or (OUAZA) as the fans call it, is a short story episodic saga written by K.B. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright. The first episode is from both Jade and Kylee's perspective and is two separate novella's. The same story, but from two different characters. It is done this way with the first episode only, so that you can meet our girls and really get to know and love them like we do.
Each following episode will be written solely by one of the authors and available through their links.

Novella 1. KB. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 2. Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 3. K.B. Miller
Novella 4. Jennifer Malone Wright
Novella 5. K.B Miller
and so on...

Once Upon a Zombie Apocalypse 
~ Kylee 
K.B. Miller
Blurb
Chemical Warfare has turned most of the world’s population into flesh eating Zombies. These are the accounts of two survivors.

Kylee and Jade are on their way from one author convention to another. After saying goodbye to all their friends, they never dreamed the plane would land with them fighting for their lives.

Kylee Mahafferty lived a life of luxury, jet setting to big cities around the globe, high dollar shopping sprees, and downing copious amounts of her favorite fu-fu-non-fat lattes'. But, that life's suddenly been replaced by one with a simple objective, survival. Kylee's best friend, Jade is the only thing holding together the slippery tendrils of her unraveling mind.

With their first mission being to find their families, will the girls manage to save their families while trying to save each other?

Excerpt
August 2, 2013

Just a few days ago, my biggest worries in life were whether, or not I was spending enough time with my family, and if my doctor was going to shit a brick again because of my caffeine habit. Sweet Jesus, what a difference a day makes. 

I'd never fed into all of that end-of-the-world doomsday nonsense my best friend, and co-author, Jade used to go on about. I mean, it was all just fodder for the fantasy stories that we wrote; Aliens raining down from the skies to take over the world, beautiful creatures lurking in the shadows of the night to suck the very life from you, or my personal favorite... gorgeous, shirtless angels falling from grace to save the damsel in distresses soul from an eternity in purgatory. None of that was real though, right? Yeah... that's what I thought up until two days ago when all hell broke loose.

Thankfully she and I were together, headed to another book convention when it all started. Unfortunately, we were separated from our families by hundreds and thousands of miles. Getting home is our first priority. Killing as many of those "things" as we can is just a bonus. 

Jade and I made an agreement, because we earned our living telling stories, we're going to document our journey by putting pen to paper. That way, if the unthinkable happens and we don't survive this insane new world─ our stories will. They'll be timeless... gross and graphic, but timeless. 

Our nightmare has only just begun, and we've already been through the mill, but I have no doubt that the road ahead will be paved in endless fear, terrifying anguish, mind-shattering pain, and more of those creatures... those zombies. I'm petrified at how this could end. 

May God be with all of us and keep us safe.

P.S. Coffee sucks during the apocalypse!

Kylee Mahafferty

Buy Links
Kylee

SMASH

Once Upon a Zombie Apocalypse
~Jade
Jennifer Malone Wright

Blurb
Chemical Warfare has turned most of the world’s population into flesh eating Zombies. These are the accounts of two survivors.

Kylee and Jade are on their way from one author convention to another. After saying goodbye to all their friends, they never dreamed the plane would land with them fighting for their lives. 

Jade Warwick has been preparing for the end of the world for years, but she never thought the world would end with zombies. The only thing salvaging her almost lost sanity is the fact that she is with her best friend, Kylee
With their first mission being to find their families, will the girls manage to save their families while trying to save each other?


Excerpt
I always knew the world was going to go to shit, I just never thought it would be this way.

The part that pisses me off the most is that people like me aren’t supposed to be surprised when the shit hits the fan. I have been preparing for the next world war or natural disaster to happen. But never, ever in my wildest dreams did I actually think that mankind would end with zombies.

It’s so ironic. As writers, we create these horror stories for others to read about. All of it is simply fiction, stories that rot our minds and entertain us, but are never really a possibility. 

When it happened, Kylee and I were together, thank God, and we managed to survive the first day. We promised each other that we would document the days of our journey so that our words would become immortal … because we are not. No one is safe now. Anybody can turn if they aren’t careful. The zombies aren’t our only fear either. The people have become something just as bad, maybe even worse. When disasters happen, people lose their humanity as the will to live drives them into survival mode. I’ve seen enough TV shows and read enough books to know what happens to people, but that is something to worry about later. Right now, my only purpose is to find my family. Well, we kind of have to find Kylee’s family first because they are closer, but still, the mission remains the same. 

I don’t have a clue how we are going to do this. My preparations included shelter, food, water, and weapons. They never included my being on a freaking airplane and landing on a side of the country that I’ve never even been to. I have nothing, nothing that I expected to have when this happened. 

Our journey has only begun. I’m just glad that I’m not alone.

Buy Links
Jade

SMASH

To join in on the zombie fun, visit Jade and Kylee on their fanpage


Author Bio
K.B. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright are both authors of the paranormal and urban genres. Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse came about after many discussions on how they would survive the zombie apocalypse. Their survival strategies were so different from each other on some accounts; they decided it would be fun to see the two differences trying to survive together. K.B. and Jennifer met as mere acquaintances and have now formed a life-long friendship.

K.B. Miller is best known for her best selling series The Moon Coven. She has several other works in progress which will release in 2013. At home, K.B is a full time writer with a very supportive husband and son who is too smart for his own good. In her free time K.B. likes to read, dabble in graphic design, watch her favorite shows, and spend time with her other love … coffee! She is also an owl enthusiast and swears she will someday ride a unicorn.

Jennifer Malone Wright is best known her YA paranormal series The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter. Her other works include the follow up to The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter called The Arcadia Falls Chronicles and her other vampire novel The Birth of Jaiden. Jennifer is the mother of five crazy kids and wife of a soldier. Jennifer also loves coffee, talking on the phone with her equally crazy friends and has a passionate affair with Red Bull.

Jennifer Malone Wright
K.B. Miller

Giveaway

March 15, 2013

Pretty When They Collide - Cover Reveal

Hey everyone! I am happy to be a part of the cover reveal for Pretty When They Collide. I love this series and I love the cover.
Here is the covers for the first two books.


Pretty When They Collide by Rhiannon Frater
Series: Pretty When She... Novella
Publication date: March 15th 2013 
Genre: Adult Horror

Synopsis
An exciting new novella set in the world of Pretty When She Dies...

Cassandra is a dhamphir-the offspring of a vampire and mortal woman-and a thief of occult relics. 

Aimee is a full-blood witch that is bound to a powerful vampire who traffics in the slavery of supernatural beings.

Both are powerful, lonely, and trapped in the dangerous world of the vampires. 

When Cassandra steals a relic from Aimee’s vampire master, he targets her as his next acquisition. What he doesn’t realize is that a chance encounter between Cassandra and Aimee ignited a spark between them that they cannot deny. 

To survive, the women must find a way to band together and fight against the ruthless evil that conspires to enslave them forever.

Now for the cover!!
AUTHOR BIO
Rhiannon Frater is the award-winning author of the As the World Dies trilogy (The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Siege,) and the author of three other books: the vampire novels Pretty When She Dies and The Tale of the Vampire Bride and the young-adult zombie novel The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters. Inspired to independently produce her work from the urging of her fans, she published The First Days in late 2008 and quickly gathered a cult following. She won the Dead Letter Award back-to-back for both The First Days and Fighting to Survive, the former of which the Harrisburg Book Examiner called ‘one of the best zombie books of the decade.’ Rhiannon is currently represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry + Literary Media agency. You may contact her by sending an email torhiannonfrater@gmail.com.


Rhiannon's Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

Author Spotlight with J.L. Vallance

Hey everyone! Today our Author Spotlight is shining on author J.L. Vallance! We have an interview, book blurbs, quotes and a review for you all.

Interview
Current books released: Deep Into the Soul, Revelations of the Soul

Where are you from? 
I’ve lived in Northeast Ohio for most of my life. When my husband and I first married, he was in the USAF and we were stationed in San Antonio, TX for a few years. 

Tell us your latest news?
 Revelations of the Soul, book two of The Guild Series released at the end of February. 

When and why did you begin writing? 
I began writing about a year ago. For most of my life, getting my mind to shut up so that I could go to sleep has been a chore. So, I began creating these fantastical stories in my mind as a way to help me fall asleep. Every night, I’d pick up where I left off the night before. A year ago, I decided I wanted start putting things to paper. 

When did you first consider yourself a writer?
 I suppose it was when I was spending all hours of the night parked in front of my computer, typing. And constantly carrying a steno pad to jot notes on the fly.


Do you have a specific writing style? 
No. I write what comes, when it comes. 

How did you come up with the title? 
I was having the hardest time settling on a title for the first book of the series. The book was nearing completion and I still had not landed on anything that was fitting. While I was writing Deep Into the Soul, I had been listening to Trivium a lot. They have a track titled “Black” which I have always felt is Aedan’s song. I was riding along in the car one day, singing along and doing my own guitar moves, and when I sang the words “so deep into the soul, so deep into the soul” it hit me. That’s it! That is the perfect title--Deep Into the Soul. 

What books have most influenced your life most? 
In high school, I absolutely loved Rebecca and Jane Eyre. 

What book are you reading now? 
Wuthering Frights: The Dulcie O’Neil Series by H. P. Mallory

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
 Michelle Valentine and her Black Falcon Series. I’m also hoping to have time to break into her Demon at My Door soon.

What are your current projects? 
I’m currently working on book 3 in The Guild Series, as well as a novella for the series. 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 
I don’t think so. I absolutely love Revelations of the Soul and the direction it went. 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Revelations of the Soul, The Guild Series II

“What do you want, Aedan?” I asked flatly, pushing the clothes on the rack.
“What is the reason for your foul mood this morning?” he asked and I could feel his eyes at my back as I continued searching through the clothing.
“Do I really need to answer that?” I replied in a heated tone.
“Why are you always so angry? I give you everything you could possibly want—good food, good wine, access to plenty of men. Yet you are still unhappy.” I looked back to him, unsure that I’d heard him correctly.
“Are you being serious right now?” My voice rose slightly as I walked closer to him. “Why am I angry? I want the fuck out of here! I am not at the fucking Hilton; I am your goddamned prisoner!”
His eyes flashed crimson momentarily as he took a slow and steadying breath. But I wasn’t finished and I wasn’t going to give him a chance to respond.
“And furthermore, I don’t want your food or your wine. And I sure as fuck don’t want your men. I want to be home with my own family, and friends, and Calum.” I pushed his chest slightly, knowing I was treading into dangerous territory. “Why don’t you let me go?”
“I see that today will not be a good day to attempt leaving the estate with you, perhaps in another week or so.” He turned and walked out the door, leaving the roses on the table. My temper flared with the sound of the lock clicking into place. I grabbed the roses from the table and hurled them as hard as I could at the door.
“Jackass!” I shouted, knowing he was already gone.
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? I really love Dannika Dark’s Mageri Series. Dark has a brilliant writing style. She has a way of making you feel connected to her characters, of making you emotionally vested. 

Who designed the covers?
I designed both covers. 

What was the hardest part of writing your book? 
Deciding on the title and cover design! Once I created the world and characters, the story took on a life of it’s own. I’m not in the driver’s seat, the story is. 

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
 The English language is a tricky beast. 

Do you have any advice for other writers? 
Write what comes, don’t force the story. And keep writing, the more you write, the better it becomes. 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Thank you! Thank you for entertaining my crazy ideas and entering into my world. 

How can we stay up to date with you and your books? (i.e website address, facebook page, blog link etc) 



Deep Into the Soul (The Guild Series #1)

At age sixteen, Vivienne Drake’s life completely changed in one devastating moment with the murder of her mother. Now at age thirty, she continues to struggle with the aftermath of that day and the nightmares that began to haunt her following it- nightmares where she is forced to watch the torture and murder of a new victim, all while she endures their pain and terror; prisoner to her own subconscious.
Her life becomes more complicated after meeting the mysterious Calum McCort and learning of a world she’d never imagined existed; a world of Daemonium, Guardians, Lucifer, and The Guild. Not to mention Aedan, Lord of the Daemonium who’s on a mission to abduct her.
Now she’s running from demons she never knew she had, hiding from demons she never knew existed, and searching for the answers to her mother’s past to find the key to her future.
Revelations of the Soul (The Guild Series #2)

“Evangeline had prayed Spiro would be able to protect Vivienne, prayed that he’d keep her safe. The truth was, no one would be able to protect her from what was coming, and Evangeline knew that now. She knew that Vivienne was going to have to fight if she wanted to survive.”

Aedan, Lord of the Daemonium, has claimed Vivienne Drake as his prize and will stop at nothing to keep her. As his captive, Vivienne is forced to spend her days interacting with the monster that’s haunted her dreams for the past fourteen years.
Truths of her mother’s past continue to surface, bringing to light the reality of who Vivienne Drake truly is. All the while, Vivienne can do nothing but watch as the fa├žade of the carefully constructed life her mother fashioned crumbles around her; leaving devastation in its wake.
Will secrets and lies be her ruination, or can Vivienne overcome her pain in order to become the salvation The Guild and Humanity needs?



Review:
J.L. Vallance does it again! Her words are purposefully written to draw you into Vivienne’s world, to hold you captive making you want more and more of the story. You find yourself breathing heavier and heavier from page to page in fear that the story will end and a cliff hanger will have to hold you until the next book. Seriously she loves her cliff hangers! 
Book two continues Vivienne’s struggle for truth and trust. She wakes now in the Daemonium environment, surrounded by evil. She is a prisoner; her life threatened on many occasions and has no idea if she will ever be free again. She is fed information strategically, just enough to doubt her once beliefs, but through it all she seems to hold true to believe in good… until a deep betrayal changes everything! 
We really start to see Vivienne grow in this book, she starts to develop her gifts and learn of the worlds she now is immersed in. I enjoyed watching this character evolve, although I did find myself getting a little annoyed with some of the choices she made. At one point she reminded me of the silly lady from horror movies…I wanted to shout at the book “NO don’t go in there what are you thinking!” I’m hoping she learned great lessons from all that happen in book two, and we see that first hand in book 3. 
I did greatly enjoy the plot development, the action and continued story line. I however wished we would have learned more of the mystery. I’m at the edge of my seat waiting, yet not much was revealed or maybe there is just still so much to learn I’m not sure. I gave this book 4 out of 5, there was so much about this book I enjoyed and I have already started bugging the JL Vallance for book 3.  ~Candice, Paranormal Reads


Quotes
Deep Into the Soul:

"Anger, frustration, bitterness, and betrayal were eating at me. Adam was right, I had been broken. All I want is something to hold onto, something to have faith in. But, I always lose. In the end, I'm left alone, either by the heart shattering betrayal of someone who is supposed to care for me, or by the cold and painful reality of death, and the cold realization that nothing lasts forever." 

"Hey Cal, what do you say we just torch this twat and be done with it? I've grown bored with this 'who wants the girl?' and 'fuck you' game already," Calum's friend imitated as he stood next to the car, looking every bit as bored as he claimed to be. Rhys Morgan

"So of a bitch, I'm getting tired of this demon bull shit. Fine, are you ready? Because if he is a Cruciatum and the fucker zaps me, I swear on all that is Holy, I will cause you bodily harm," I threatened, walking out of the garage, placing my things on the ground close to the house. Vivienne

"I do not believe I am meant to endure a life of nothing but pain and sorrow, Spiro. I believe I am meant to fight like hell to break free of this never-ending nightmare, to someday find paradise." Vivienne

"And I must say, your pretentiousness is rather nauseating." I knew I was playing a dangerous game, but couldn't resist the urge to poke the beast. Vivienne

Revelations of the Soul:

"Yeah, sorry for not being all Betty Bad Ass; fighting isn't exactly a requirement for jazz singers." Vivienne

"Look, she was wearing a black leather mini dress, and like, ten inch heels and fish-net stockings. Plus, it was like five in the morning. Who in the Worlds is out at that time of the morning dressed like a hooker?" She finished zipping my dress, but held onto my shoulders as she peered around to look me in the eye. "Oh, that's right...a hooker." Padma Singh

"I'm sorry, I wasn't aware that flattery was a part of Captive 101." Vivienne

"And fairy tales are make-believe. They are the tales we tell to small children to make them believe the world is a far better place than it really is." Vivienne

"I want you to make a choice about who you can trust and who you cannot. I want you to see that everybody lies. Everyone has a reason to use you. And they will, Vivienne." Linux

"He moved in rapidly, pressing his lips to mine, the world shattering around us. As he retreated, I followed, needing to taste and feel every inch of him. His hands pulled at the fabric of my dress as he pressed my body against the smooth stone of the building.
'Vivienne,' he breathed against my lips, his hands cradling my face once more."

"You can't spend all of your time sulking about a life you were never meant for." I glowered at him from across the table, fantasies of hurling the butter knife toward his shoulder dancing in my mind. Calum

"There truly isn't any other demon available?"
"Daemonium, demon sounds much too uncivilized."
"Right, you are quite the civilized species, what with your kidnapping and murdering," I muttered under my breath.

"You do something to me, Vivienne. You do something that for once, I'm not afraid of," he murmured against my lips before crushing them with his own. Calum


We would like to thank J.L. Vallance for being our spotlight Author today!

Translate