February 28, 2014

White Hot Kiss Blog Tour : Dream Cast & Giveaway

Hi everyone! We have a stop on the White Hot Kiss Blog Tour today. There is info on this wonderful book, a Dream Cast from the author and a giveaway. 

One kiss could be the last. 

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses. 

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever. 

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul. 

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.


You can see my review of the book here.

Here is the dream cast the author has sent to us!

About Jennifer L. Armentrout:
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Giveaway is international and is for one print copy of White Hot Kiss.

Be sure to check out the rest of the tour.
Blog Tour Schedule:
February 26-MundieMoms

February 27-Vilma’s Book Blog

February 28-Paranormal Reads

March 6-Novel Novice

March 7-Reading Teen

February 21, 2014

Promise of Shadows : Review

Promise of Shadows
by Justina Ireland

Zephyr Mourning has never been very good at being a Harpy. She’d rather watch reality TV than learn forty-seven ways to kill a man, and she pretty much sucks at wielding magic. Zephyr was ready for a future pretending to be a normal human instead of a half-god assassin. But all that changes when her sister is murdered—and she uses a forbidden dark power to save herself from the same fate.

Zephyr is on the run from a punishment worse than death when an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend (a surprisingly HOT friend) changes everything. Because it seems like Zephyr might just be the Nyx, a dark goddess made flesh that is prophesied to change the power balance. For hundreds of years the half-gods have lived in fear, and Zephyr is supposed to change that.

But how is she supposed to save everyone when she can’t even save herself?

My Review
Zephyr is hiding out in the underworld to keep her self safe from the gods. She used a forbidden power to kill one when her sister was murdered. She had her Harpy wings cut off and now she is alone but for one friend she has made. She soon finds out there may be more reason the gods are after her. She may be the Nyx a dark goddess who is said to be the one to change everything. She is pulled form the underworld by old friends and finds she is the only hope they have against Hera. She will have to believe the trust others have in her to do the right thing.

I love books with Mythology and who wouldn't want to read a book about a Harpy. This book has many things I liked about it and some I din't like. I didn't like how weak Zephyr was at many times. Here it is she can kill gods but she is afraid to use it and doesn't want to believe she can be the Nyx even when all signs point to that she is. She has had her harpy wings took from her and mourns the loss of them but many times she has said she would have liked a normal life as a human. However the more I read and saw how she was treated growing up I could see why she thinks so little of herself. She was always told to keep her power a secret and never use it. She did turn it around and become a better character towards the end but it took a lot to get her to believe in herself. Tallon is another thing that got on my nerves at times. He loves Zephyr but pushes her away one minute and the next leading her on. I just wish he wouldn't put distance between them at times. I love reading this book and figuring things out and the Nyx power was very awesome. Cass was a favorite of mine. Everyone didn't trust her but Zephyr saw good in her. All the different creatures, powers and the mythology made it a great read. It started a little off to me but once I got into it I had to see what would happen next. I will say this was about a three until near the end when it got bumped up to a four. If you like mythology or just want something a little different be sure to give this one a try.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Fates : Review

Fates (Fates #1)
by Lanie Bross 

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people's fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again--this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

My Review
Corinthe made a mistake and lost her life in Pyralis Terra. She must live in the human world and make sure people get the fate they are planned for. She has lived for years doing what she is told to do until she meets Lucas. He makes her feel different thoughts and if that wasn't bad enough her next assignment is to kill him. If she does it she gets her old life back. What she doesn't know is someone else has a plan and plans to use her to fulfill it. She has to decide if love or her old life is more important. One of them has to die and one must live or it could change the universe.

I saw the cover of this book and fell in love. I read the blurb and thought ok this could be as good as the cover. When you read a lot of books your always looking for something different to stand out to you. This one just didn't quite make it to the great point for me. It is just ok book for me. The main reason is the main character Corinthe. Where she could be such a great one for me she just fell flat. For one she made a mistake and is punished to the human world to make up for it. It was the first mistake she had ever made. All she wants it to get back to her own place and while she has in a way helped many people die because it is their fate she has a problem when it comes to Lucas. She has to kill him her self and that she doesn't want to do that. She just seems so Blah for most of the book. Lucas one minute you feel sorry for him, the next you see he can be a huge jerk. I just didn't like him much either but for the fact he will do anything for his sister. He is loyal to her. There is some danger as they face a few things trying to get to Pyralis Terra. I just had a hard time connecting to this book and the characters. While some may like it for me it was just ok.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Tangled Tides : Review

Tangled Tides (The Sea Monster Memoirs #1)
by Karen Amanda Hooper

Yara Jones doesn't believe in sea monsters--until she becomes one.

When a hurricane hits her island home and she wakes up with fins, Yara finds herself tangled up in an underwater world of mysterious merfolk and secretive selkies. Both sides believe Yara can save them by fulfilling a broken promise and opening the sealed gateway to their realm, but they are battling over how it should be done. The selkies want to take her life. The merfolk want something far more precious.

Treygan, the stormy-eyed merman who turned Yara mer, will stop at nothing and sacrifice everything to protect his people--until he falls for Yara. The tides turn as Yara fights to save herself, hundreds of sea creatures, and the merman who has her heart. She could lose her soul in the process--or she might open the gateway to a love that's deeper than the oceans.

My Review
Yara doesn't have any idea that sea monsters are real. When a hurricane hits she finds out soon they are very real and now she has been turned into a mermaid. Not only are the merfolk real but, selkies, sirens, gorgons and more exist and they all have plans for Yara. She is the key to unsealing the gateway to their realm. The selkies and merfolk are fighting over how it needs to be opened and Yara is yanked into the middle. Her whole life she has been lied to and now she has to figure out how to save them without dying herself. The merman who saved her also has his own plans for opening the gate. Treygan is all about saving his people until he falls for Yara. Now their hearts are on the line along with the welfare of the sea people. They may have fallen for each other but is their love worth the sea peoples lives.

At first I didn't care for Yara. She whined and acted like a child for a while. Then I thought well she is only 18 years old. I can see she doesn't want all this thrown on her and could see why the author made her the way she did. However as I read I saw her slowly becoming a better person. She really became someone who was not selfish and really used her head to try to make everyone safe and happy. Treygan seems standoffish and wasn't really nice at first. Then as you got to know him and his secret you see he is a person who will do anything for the merfolk. He cares deeply for them. Once he falls for Yara he will also do anything to help her even if it breaks his heart. I loved him.

This is a different type mermaid book as it isn't just about merfolk. You also have selkies. They are also different as they are different from others I have read about. They are a darker selkie than I have read about. I like how the author makes the merfolk different colors to show their rank. As you read you discover more about these sea creatures and their world. Yara has been lied to her whole life and now has to face the fact she is the key to saving all these people. She learns to love some of them and learns not to trust others. There is an element of danger in this book as the selkies want her dead and there is also the danger of the sea. I really enjoyed this book and discovering all the secrets. It kept me interested all the way through it. If you like books with mermaids or selkies or just looking for a different type paranormal book to read give this one a try.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Such Sweet Sorrow : Review

Such Sweet Sorrow
by Jenny Trout

Never was there a tale of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo…But true love never dies. Though they’re parted by the veil between the world of mortals and the land of the dead, Romeo believes he can restore Juliet to life, but he’ll have to travel to the underworld with a thoroughly infuriating guide.

Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, may not have inherited his father’s crown, but the murdered king left his son a much more important responsibility—a portal to the Afterjord, where the souls of the dead reside. When the determined Romeo asks for help traversing the treacherous Afterjord, Hamlet sees an opportunity for adventure, and the chance to avenge his father’s death.

In an underworld filled with leviathan monsters, ghoulish shades, fire giants and fierce Valkyrie warriors, Hamlet and Romeo must battle their way through jealousy, despair, and their darkest fears to rescue the fair damsel. Yet finding Juliet is only the beginning, and the Afterjord doesn’t surrender souls without a price…

My Review
Juliet is dead but Romeo won't give her up. He has survived the poison and now following the clues a witch has given him he goes to find Hamlet who is the key to getting him into Afterjord and bringing Juliet back. Hamlet doesn't have the crown of his murdered father but he does have his gift. When Romeo ask him for help getting Juliet back Hamlet agrees as he wants some adventure and maybe the chance to avenge his father. The underworld doesn't let it's souls go back easily and finding Juliet is only the beginning. They must fight Valkyrie warriors, fire giants and many more monsters. They also all learn something about their selves.

This was a very interesting book as it has many twist and turns. Romeo is very headstrong and stubborn. He will let nothing stop him from getting Juliet back. He jumps in a lot of times before he thinks and it shows. You can't deny he loves Juliet with everything he has but I have to say I didn't care for him a whole lot. Hamlet has an ability to go into the Afterjord and he is dealing with his father being murdered, his mom remarrying and so much more. He likes an adventure and once he likes you he will have you back through anything. Juliet for me was the highlight of the book. She saves the guys many times and is a really strong female character in this book. She may be scared but many times it doesn't show.

I enjoyed this book after I got past the first couple of chapters. At first for me the book was slow but once in the Afterjord it really picked up and I loved all the different creatures they have to face their. It is full danger and they all have to dig deep and look inside to find the drive to really push through everything the underworld can throw at them. Once the action started I didn't want it to end. You get to see different sides to these characters and the bonds that they grow. If wanted more of these characters or ever wonder what happened or what if you may enjoy this one.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

February 19, 2014

Dance of the Red Death : Review

Dance of the Red Death (Masque of the Red Death #2)
by Bethany Griffin

Bethany Griffin continues the journey of Araby Worth in Dance of the Red Death—the sequel to her teen novel Masque of the Red Death.

In Dance of the Red Death, Araby’s world is in shambles—betrayal, death, disease, and evil forces surround her. She has no one to trust. But she finds herself and discovers that she will fight for the people she loves, and for her city.

Her revenge will take place at the menacing masked ball, though it could destroy her and everyone she loves…or it could turn her into a hero.

With a nod to Edgar Allan Poe, Bethany Griffin concludes her tragic and mysterious Red Death series with a heroine that young adult readers will never forget.

My Review
I would recommend reading the first book in this series before this one. If you don't you will be confused in this book. The world has been ridden by plague. Araby must try to find a cure and stop the ones from spreading it even more. Her life and the life of her friends are in danger and she has to find her father before it is to late. She also has to sort her feelings about who she really loves.

I am going to do a shorter review so I hopefully don't have any spoilers. This book picks right up where the first ended. I love the darkness of this book. It isn't like others where it has dark and light sides. If anything it gets darker as you read. The author does an excellent job of writing this as she describes everything to where you can see it clearly from their hunt to find a cure, to the plague victims and so much more. you actually feel like you are along with them on their journey. Araby to me got so much better in this book. She grows up and has to face facts about her life. She feels like in some ways the plague is her fault and she has to deal with those issues. She stands strong as she has to stop the plague and find a cure. The only thing I didn't like about the book was Will and Elliot. I know some people are team Elliot and some team Will.For me neither really stood out as the perfect one. They both had faults which in some ways is good as the author didn't try to make them seem perfect. I just didn't care fore the romance part. For me the action and darkness is the great part of this book for me. I couldn't get enough and I had to see what would happen next. If you like Edgar Allan Poe's work you will like this book. 

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Big Bad Beast : Review

Big Bad Beast (Pride #6)
by Shelly Laurenston

When it comes to following her instincts, former Marine Dee-Ann Smith never holds back. And this deadly member of a shifter protection group will do anything to prove one of her own kind is having hybrids captured for dogfights. Trouble is, her too-cute rich-boy boss Ric Van Holtz insists on helping out. And his crazy-like-a-fox smarts and charming persistence are making it real hard for Dee to keep her heart safe...

Ric can't believe his luck. He's wanted this fiercely-independent she-wolf from day one, but he never expected teamwork as explosive as this. And now is his last chance to show Dee what she needs isn't some in-your-face Alpha male-but a wily, resourceful wolf who'll always have her back in a fight…and between the sheets.

My Review
Dee-Ann Smith is an ex Marine who will stop at nothing to protect other shifter and hybrids. She won't back down from any fight and never backs down from danger. The only thing she has trouble with is Ric Van Holtz. He is her boss and not like the shifters she is used to. He is smart and charming and while he won't back down from a fight he is more a lover than a fighter. When they have to work together to save the hybrids from the dogfights and figure out who is behind taking them. Ric has always known Dee is the one for him. Working together may give them the chance to see that they are perfect for each other.

I liked this book as all the different shifters and hybrids were a joy getting to know. Dee is one of the toughest female shifters I have read about. You would think she belongs with a tough male shifter everyone is afraid of but Ric actually seems perfect for her. He is the one who gives balance to the relationship. While she may be tough he is tough but he is also the one who uses his head and keeps calm. He shows his tough side a few times but for the most part Dee is the head one in the pair. They are opposites in many ways and their families don't see eye to eye but they work great together. They have lots of chemistry in the bedroom. Dee has to see it's ok to show a softer side at times. There is plenty of action in this book as Dee and the others try to save the hybrids and even take on each other at times. If you enjoy paranormal romance books with shifters you may want to give this book a try.

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

The Girls’ Guide to Dating Zombies : Review

The Girls’ Guide to Dating Zombies
by Lynn Messina

Hattie Cross knows what you're thinking: Zombie sex? Ewwwww. But she also knows that since a virus turned 99.9999 percent of human males into zombies, it's statistically impossible to meet-let alone date-the remaining 0.00001 percent. So she writes "The Girls' Guide to Dating Zombies" to help her fellow single women navigate the zombie-relationship waters. Her practical how-to impresses the CEO of the largest drug company in the world, and before she knows it, Hattie, a reporter for a downmarket tabloid that specializes in conspiracy theories, is sitting down with the woman who single-handedly invented the zombie-behavioral-modification market. Granted access to the inner sanctum of zombaceuticals, she meets an actual, living, breathing M-A-N. Now Hattie, the consummate professional, is acting like a single girl at the end of the twentieth century: self-conscious, klutzy and unable to form a coherent sentence without babbling. Worst of all, the human male appears to have impaired her ability to think clearly. Because all of a sudden she's convinced a conspiracy is afoot at the drug company and it seems to go all the way to the top!

My Review
There is very few men left in the world after a virus turned all men into Zombies. Hattie Cross has written a book called The Girls' Guide to Dating Zombies to help other women into the new world of dating zombies. How to train them, what to do and not to do and what kind of drugs they may need. Her book gives her the chance to interview the CEO of the largest drug company in the world. There she meets something she didn't think she ever would. A real life man who isn't a zombie. Now the deeper she digs the more it seems there is something behind this drug company and the zombies. As she looks into it her life may be in danger as some may not want the men to come back but stay zombies.

I love books about zombies and if I see one with them in it I have to read it. When I saw this one I figured it would be one of the funnier books and it does have several laughs in it. It also has a mystery which turned into more than I expected it would. Hattie is a reporter and while she wants to be more than just one for a tabloid she doesn't get many chances until her book gets a lot of notice. She is a loner and has been burned and betrayed by a friend in the past and while she writes books about dating zombies she hasn't dated one in a while. When she meets a real man she doesn't know how to act. She falls for him but doesn't know if he can trust him. As she looks into the drug company she finds a lot of info that leads her to wonder about his motives. I will say there was a few little twist didn't see coming and wasn't expecting. If you like books with zombies you may enjoy this one. It isn't a horror zombie book but one with laughs and a lighter side.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

February 13, 2014

Born In Blood: Review

Born in Blood (The Sentinels #1)
by Alexandra Ivy

Born In Blood

Sergeant Duncan O’Conner has seen it all before. A beautiful erotic dancer is found murdered in her home—no suspect, no motive. But there’s one clue: she’s missing her heart. It’s enough to make the hard-bitten Kansas City cop enlist the help of a necro—one of the dead-channeling freaks who live in the domed city of nearby Valhalla. It’s a long shot, but desperate crimes call for desperate measures. 

Unlike the other “high-bloods” in Valhalla, Callie Brown considers her abilities a gift, not a curse. But when she reads the dancer’s final thoughts, she senses a powerful presence blocking her vision. This is no ordinary homicide. This is the work of a legendary necromancer who controls souls. A ravenous force that will put Callie’s skills to the test, O’Conner’s career at risk, and both their hearts on the line…literally.

My Review
Duncan has a corpse missing her heart and has to call in the help of Callie. She is what the normal people like to call a freak but Duncan doesn't see her that way. Callie uses her abilities to look into the dead girl's memories to see her last memory. She has done it before and never thought this would be any different. She doesn't see her memory but a necromancer who Callie knows she will have to stop. Duncan and Callie have to work together to find and stop the evil necromancer. They both like each other and as they work together they see it may be more than just liking each other. They will have to open up not just their hearts but will have to dig deep down into their own powers to stop this evil.

Callie is used to being called a freak by normal people. She doesn't let it bother her as she is proud of her gift. She helps people and enjoys her life. She isn't one to stand by the side either. She is willing to get her hands dirty and even while she may be afraid she fights through it. She also isn't afraid to let Duncan know what she wants even if it;s to let him know she isn't onto commitments. Duncan is a great character. He seems to have several qualities that make him stand out. Unlike others he doesn't call the people who live in Valhalla freaks. He respects them and works with them. He is out of his own element a few times and even with his job is on the line he still does what he thinks is right. He is very sexy and while he can be pushy sometimes and not being perfect makes him that much greater. He also has a few secrets of his own he isn't sure he wants to come out. Both work well together and try their best to protect each other.

I really enjoyed this book as it built the world up as you read. You learn more about this new place you find yourself in and you learn about the new characters. The main characters Duncan and Callie themselves are great and when you add in the other characters you see just how wonderful this series will be. I am already looking forward to reading the side characters stories. This book has lots of action and you keep wondering what next. It definitely kept my attention the whole book. You also have love as Duncan and Callie see that they care deeply for each other even if Callie isn't sure where she wants it to go a few times. I did get a few laughs as I read as well as Duncan likes to make a some remarks to who he calls Lurch. This is a great start to a series and if you like paranormal romance I am sure you will like it as well.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

White Hot Kiss: Review

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1)
by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

One kiss could be the last. 

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses. 

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever. 

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul. 

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

My Review
Seventeen year old Layla has always been treated different. She is half demon half gargoyle and doesn't belong in either world. She can do things others can't and most of the Wardens don't want her around or alive. She has to stay out of the way and keep the demon side of her under control. She has always crushed on Zayne and always hoped they could have a future. He is the one of the few Wardens who don't look down on her and he is always there for her. Roth enters her life and she doesn't know what to expect. He is a demon and he seems to know all about her. Things that the Wardens have kept secret from her. Now the demons seem to be coming more often and it looks like Layla may be the reason they are coming. She has to see who she can trust Roth or Zayne and she has to be careful cause she may just cause the world to end.

I have to say I love Layla. At times you can see the teen she is and others you see just what she really is. She isn't afraid to help the Wardens in the hunt for demons even if in some ways it is going against part of who she is. She is confused, scared and doesn't know who to trust at times. It all makes her a great character. Zayne has always been there for Layla and isn't afraid to be near her or help her when she needs it. He is the one she has always liked and dreamed about. He is sweet at times and the bad thing about him is sometimes I can see him treating her like a little sister. That isn't to bad a thing but for Layla it is. Roth may be a demon but I love him. He is the bad boy but yet he in a lot of ways is a wonderful guy. He tries his best to protect and to help Layla as well. The more I read about him and learned about him the more I fell for him I think.

Ok I read the prequel to this book and loved it. I just couldn't wait to read this book. Demons and Gargoyles and a wonderful plot makes this an amazing book. I have read a few books about Gargoyles and I have to say i believe this is my favorite one. The author has created a fresh take on both paranormal creatures that have left me dying for more. Layla stood out in some ways in the prequel and I thought I knew where it would go in this book. I was so wrong. I loved her story and the author created twist and turns that kept me intrigued. I was surprised numerous times and I like when a book can do that. There is tons of action as the demons and the Wardens fight. Layla has so much she learns in this book and she does take it pretty good considering she is young. I have to say Roth was a favorite to me I love how he shows a sweet side at times and how he stands up for Layla. If you want something to read you can keep wanting to read over and over till you get the next one here it is. Be sure to pick this book up as it is a favorite of mine.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

I would like to thank Harlequin Teen for the review copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
The exclusive excerpt at the end of the novel will ONLY be available in the PRINT EDITION of WHITE HOT KISS.

Dark Spirit: Review

Dark Spirit (Spirit Wild #2)
by Kate Douglas 

Romy Sarika has spent much of her life suffering at the hands of a sadistic cult leader. Twenty years earlier she watched him kill her mother, and now she awaits the same fate. But when the self-proclaimed prophet orders Romy killed, the wolf part of her rises up and for the first time she shifts. Managing to save herself, she leaves death and chaos in her wake.

Alone in the woods and badly injured, Romy is found by Jace Wolf and Gabe Cheval, two powerful and striking Chanku who help her heal and simultaneously unleash sensual desires in her that are as new and intense as her wolf-like abilities. But just as Romy’s opening herself to this new erotic world and the passionate connections she’s forming with both men, danger is closing in.

Bent on revenge and driven by bloodlust, cult members are pursuing the trio. Discovery could mean not just Romy’s death but destruction of the Chanku way of life. With their lives at stake and the Chanku race in jeopardy, the three must fight to save themselves and the future of their proud race.

My Review
Romy has lived her life in a cult. She has been treated horrible and has to walk a thin line so she doesn't get killed like her mother did. When the leader demands Romy must be killed she finally has enough and her wolf side comes through. She manages to escape by killing and is now on the run from the cult. They will stop at nothing to kill her and she is badly injoured. Jace and Gabe come across an injured wolf and begin to heal her. What they find is she is Chanku like they are. They begin to teach her the ways of the Chanku and teach her her new desires are natural. The cult is still on Romy's tail and the three will have to stop them before they are killed or before the Chanku way of life is put in danger.

Romy is a character your heart goes out to from the start. She has lived through unspeakable horror and while she could have let it defeat her she doesn't. She opens up her Chanku side and Jace and Gabe show her it is ok to have sexual feelings. Jace is an amazing healer and wonderful person. He sees right away Romy is the one for him. He is afraid of spooking her so he does take his time. Gabe knows he isn't Romy's mate but is there to help her and tries to protect her as well.

I love this series by Kate Douglas and love seeing the kids all grown and finding their mates. I have to say Romy has one of the most horrible stories I have heard. I don't know how she survived as long as she has. She is one of the strongest females I have read so far in this series. I mean her inner strength. She finds ways to face her fears and does whatever she can to put those who have done wrong away. She also while a new wolf isn't afraid to protect those she has just met and consider her family. Jace and Gabe have a bond that you can clearly tell. However right away you can see that Jace and Romy are meant for each other. The only thing I would have to say bad about this book is at times I thought it would have better without Gabe. He seemed to have a big part in some ways but in others I wonder how the story would have been without him. There is the sexy scenes you are used to and come to expect from this wonderful author. If you love a sexy paranormal story be sure to try this series.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

February 08, 2014

Uninvited: Review

Uninvited (Uninvited #1)
by Sophie Jordan

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

My Review
In this future time they can tell by looking at your genes whether you will be a killer or not. If you have the HTS gene you are marked as different and are watched closely. Davy is a girl who goes to a good school, is talented, very smart, with a boyfriend, friends and a loving family. All that changes when it is found she has HTS. She is took away from all she has known and has to live a different life than she has ever known. All but her brother have abandoned her. She makes some new friends and she just has to hope they are enough to help her when things begin to go really bad.

Davy at first you will think this girl has it all. She is from a good family and seems to have everything going for her. When she is found to have HTS her whole life changes. I have to say she could have given up but she doesn't. She settles in pretty good and even tries to make some new friends. These friends aren't like others she has known but she does try to see the good in them and even help them. I really liked her and how she adjust to everything. She is stronger than even she knows and really grows up in a short time. Sean has the HTS as well. He seems like a lonely moody guy at first but as you soon see he does everything he can to protect those he cares about. He is there when Davy needs him and not afraid to stand up for others. These are just two of the fascinating characters you will meet in this book.

Just when you think every dystopian book seems to be the same and none stand out here comes Uninvited. I loved the sound of this book and from the time I heard of it I couldn't wait to read it. I loved all of it. The characters where great and had to do things they never thought they could. I felt so sorry for Davy as her parents treated her like a criminal and pretty much wanted nothing to do with her once they found out she had the HTS. Her boyfriend to me was a coward and her best friend at the time is well I will call her a backstabber. Sean and Davy clearly belong together and the more you read you see how they are so good for each other. The government doesn't give any thought that some people may have this gene and not be bad. They have their own agenda and it is a bad one. I will say I was intrigued all through this book and I really can't wait to read the next book to see what happens next. I have a feeling Davy and Sean have just begun trying to get their own lives and it will be a battle for them to get it.

5 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Snow White and the Vampire: Review

Snow White and the Vampire (The Cursed Princes #2)
by Marina Myles

Fog And Fascination

Alba Spencer thought her past in Romania and the dark magic that haunted it was behind her forever. She is one of the first female barristers now, safe in London. But London has its dark side, too. A man called the Ripper stalks the midnight streets. There are rumors that her hated stepmother has found her again, suggestions that the nightmares of her childhood are returning. And with them appears the cursed Gypsy boy she once loved, grown into a man more seductive and more terrifying than she ever could have dreamed…

Dimitri Grigorescu has become a surgeon, a gentleman—and a vampire. The lusts that drive his body are scarcely under control, and even he does not truly know what he is capable of. To fight evil and confusion, Alba must rely only on her wits—and a desire that overwhelms her doubts…

My Review
Alba has started a new life in London. She left Romania years ago trying to escape her stepmother who wants her dead and to forget her lost childhood love. She has changed her name and thought everything was going good. In London however a man called the Ripper is killing people. Alba has to face her fears when she comes face to face with Dimitri. Dimitri is the gypsy she loved as a child and she thought dead. Now her step mother has found her as well. There is a curse and Alba seems to be at the center of it. She has to figure out who to trust and who not to and how to stop the curse. Her only chance may be Dimitri who is now a surgeon and a vampire.

I really enjoy fairy tale retelling and paranormal books. I thought this sounded like a great mixture of the two. It was a good read. The plot is a good one. You have gypsies, an evil step mother, vampires, the Ripper and more. Alba is very confused at what is going on but she figures things out. While she might have given up she doesn't. Dimitri is scared of what he is and doesn't know what all he will do. He loves Alba and that has never stopped but at times he is afraid to be alone with her. They can't deny their love but are afraid of what may happen. There is a lot you learn as you read and it unravels as you turn the pages. This book is a good read but I didn't connect with it. I liked it as I read but nit the I have to see what will happen next. If you like fairytale retelling you may enjoy this one

3 out of 5 Bats~Pam

Lucifer's Daughter: Review

Lucifer's Daughter (Princess of Hell #1)
by Eve Langlais

Being Lucifer’s daughter can be hell.

Hi, I’m Muriel, the only white sheep in a sea of black ones, and a virgin to boot. I am determined to wait for love, but my dad, more commonly known as Lucifer, just wants me to stop being an embarrassment. I’m hoping the hunk that I met in my bar will turn out to be the one–just looking at him makes my insides melt like marshmallows over the coals of hell, but trusting is hard when it seems everyone I get close to ends up trying to kill me.

Not only am I dealing with an extreme case of lust, there’s a new threat in hell, one my dad says to ignore. Something easier said than done since it seems everywhere I turn demons are trying to kill me. But I’m okay with that, because one thing I’ve learned being a princess of hell is that sometimes I have to grab a demon by the horns and slap it around a bit.

A rebellion in hell, demon assassins and scorching kisses, could my life get any more interesting?

My Review
Muriel is the daughter of Lucifer but she isn't like the others. She is a virgin ans her dad wants her to sin like the rest of his family. While working in her bar she comes across Auric and he is the one guy she may just let her sin. While he heats up her blood she also has to worry as their seems to be a lot of Demons trying to kill her. Her dad tells her not to worry that he has it under control but she has to wonder if he really does and what the new threat to his kingdom has to do with her. She may be the Princess of Hell dealing with her lust but she won't let that stop her from helping out those she cares about.

Muriel is just so freaking awesome! She is the daughter of Lucifer so you know she gets awesome points for that. She has a strange family that is constantly trying to get her to sin and be part of the family. She runs a bar and has a strange power even she doesn't understand. She is very sexy and has only had her thoughts so far on how to deal with them. Auric isn't prepared for Muriel when he meets her. She is nothing like what he thought she would be. Auric has a secret of his own but he can't help fall for Muriel. I think he does pretty good even when faced with pesky relatives.

If you have never read an Eve Langlais book and you like a hot story with a great plot I would recommend you pick one up. This one is so good. Of course you get the sexiness of the book but there is so much more. I love Muriel and the thought of one of Lucifer's kids not being a sinner is awesome. Lucifer will crack you up trying to get her to lose her virginity. It is weird in some ways but you have to think it is Lucifer. He butts in at the oddest times. Auric has to figure out what he wants to do and how he feels and all the while deal with Lucifer being there. So you get some laughter as well. Don't worry if you like action there is that as well. There is always someone after Muriel and she tries her best to take care of them on her own. She is unique and has more power than she knows. How she gets her power is fun to read about as well. I love how she won't stand back and is willing to jump in and fight as well. If you love a paranormal story that is very hot bit still manages to make you laugh at times pick this one up.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam 

February 07, 2014

Unreap My Heart: Review

Unreap My Heart (The Reaper Series #2)
by Kate Evangelista

Only a villain can save the day.

During his thousand year banishment in the Nethers, Balthazar thought of nothing but taking over the Crossroads from Death.

On the day he puts his plans into action, Balthazar finds the Crossroads on lockdown. Death has been stabbed by Brianne’s Bitterness, a blade that slowly leaches him of his powers. In order to challenge Death for his seat and prevent utter chaos, Balthazar is forced into a mission to find the Redeemer, the only being capable of pulling out the blade from Death’s chest. The only person who can identify the Redeemer is a human girl in the Crossroads whose soul is still attached to her body.

Meeting Arianne Wilson pushes Balthazar’s patience to the limit. In a deal he makes with Death, he must protect Arianne during their journey through the Underverse using all the resources available to him. He soon realizes the one he needs to protect is himself. For as much harm as it inflicts on Balthazar's body, trekking through the Underverse with Arianne is proving more dangerous for his heart and soul.

Can the villain remain a villain when love gets in the way?

My Review
Arianne has struck a deal with Death but before her part in the bargain can be fulfilled Death is struck down by Brianne's Bitterness. It is a blade that only the Redeemer can remove. Arianne is the only one who can find the Redeemer in the Underverse and must journey with Balthazar to find them. Balthazar has one goal to heal death and challenge him for the position. He has to find the Redeemer to finish his goals. The only problem is he has to travel with Arianne and that is the last thing he wants. She makes him look at all things different and he has to keep her safe. Both find more than they were looking for on their journey.

I loved the first book in this series. When the first one ended I was dying to see what happened next. I will say this wasn't what I expected. It was so much more than what I would have guessed. For in large part that has to do with Balthazar. He is bad, he is dangerous, he is a mystery in some ways and he is so yummy. At first I figured he was the typical bad guy. He sure seemed liked it but as he makes his journey with Arainne he begins to open up. You see more and more of what made him the way he is. He does what he can to protect Arianne even when you think he is not. I couldn't get enough of him. Arainne for those that read the first book and didn't like her much you may like her a little more in this book. She begins to question how well she know Niko and if she truly loves him. She has to face many different creatures in the Underverse and learns about them. She really acts more grown up and she still has to face many difficult things. I love reading about all the different creatures in this book. There is something for any paranormal fan and this book will definitely stand out as great. As a side note I have to say like the first book I love love the cover of this one. I would recommend this book and series to anyone who loves a paranormal book. 

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

The Grimm Chronicles Vol. 2: Review

The Grimm Chronicles Vol. 2 (The Grimm Chronicles #4-6)
by Ken Brosky, Isabella Fontaine
200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. Literally. Now the characters of the Grimms’ stories walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them.

For 18-year-old Alice Goodenough, that means taking precious time off from her summer vacation. In addition to volunteering at the local library, Alice must stop the Corrupted who are now actively hunting her down. With the help of her magic pen and her trusty rabbit friend, the world has suddenly gotten a lot more complex. The Corrupted are everywhere, and only Alice can see them for what they truly are.

This book contains 3 episodes of the critically acclaimed series:

Episode 4: The Orphanage of Doom
Episode 5: Blood and Thunder
Episode 6: The Order of the Golden Dragon

My Review
I really enjoyed the first Volume in this series and looked forward to see what Alice get's into next. I was not disappointed. Alice has to search for the Corrupted and kill them. Before she really just had the help of Briar but in this volume she has the help of more friends. Seth her friend plays a bigger part in helping her battle the Corrupt and helps her with day to day life. A new character Chase has a big part to play as well. At times I will say I wasn't sure about him. However he learns a big lesson in this book. Alice searches for clues in her dreams as to where the next Corrupt will be. It does effect her in other ways with her sleep all messed up. She also has regular issues to deal with being a teen. She has to face the school bully and some teachers as well. She grows even more in this book as she has to search deep down as to whether she wants to be the one to keep hunting the Corrupt. She see that not all Corrupt are ready to be killed as there may be some good left in them yet. This book has several funny scenes as well as action and learning lessons. I think it does a great job in teaching little lessons while being entertaining. If you have ever wondered what happens to Grims Tales be sure to check this out. Each story is very good and you just keep wanting more.

4 out of 5 Bats~Pam

In Heaven's Shadow:Review

In Heaven's Shadow (Citizen Soldier #1)
by Matthew Bryan

As'hame, an exiled angel, stands vigilant in his watch over mankind, just as he has for thousands of years. As the grip of corruption and greed threatens to strangle humanity, As'Hame works relentlessly to save his City of Angels. To keep it as a shining beacon of hope, a symbol for human salvation.

But now, Hell's got a new ruler. She's pissed. She's evil. And she's ruthless. With a new horde of demons dispatched to steal the souls of Man, As'hame races to find and protect God's son before the demons bring the fight to Heaven's gates and rain Hell on Earth.

In this mystical, action-packed tale, angels are warriors, demons are not always evil, and humans are stuck in the middle. Faith and love are put to the test as all of creation is threatened and everyone must take a stand and fight for what they believe in.

My Review
Hell's new ruler has a plan to over run Heaven using the souls of Man. She is very evil, ruthless and wil stop at nothing to finish her goals. She sends Demons to find God's son before the angels do. He is alive again and even he doesn't know who he is. As'hame may be an exiled angel but he watches over mankind to keep them safe. He has help from others but his main task is to find the son of God before the new ruler of Hell does. It is a race to find the mystery man and a battle all the way.

This book is a little different than others I have read. You have angels. fallen angels. demons, humans and so much more. It is a book packed full of battles and you really have to look deep inside to see that not everyone branded as evil is. I had figured out who the son of God was easy enough as there is plenty of signs. However that is just half the story. When faced with the truth he does take it pretty well and digs deep. For me one show stealer f the book is M'Kai. He is a demon which you figure would just make him a bad guy but he is not. He to me really has a great heart and shows lots of courage standing with the side of good. I will say it did start off a little confusing at first for me but once it took off I couldn't put it down. I had to see what would happen next. If you want an action packed book full of love, hope and even evil give this one a try.

4 out of 5 Bats