October 11, 2012

The Grimm Chronicles Vol.1 -Review

The Grimm Chronicles Vol. 1 
by Isabella Fontaine & Ken Brosky

Goodreads Blurb
200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. Literally. Now the characters of the Grimms’ stories walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them.

For 18-year-old Alice Goodenough, that means taking precious time off from her summer vacation. In addition to volunteering at the local library, Alice must stop the Corrupted who are now actively hunting her down. With the help of her magic pen and her trusty rabbit friend, the world has suddenly gotten a lot more complex. The Corrupted are everywhere, and only Alice can see them for what they truly are.

This book contains the first 3 episodes of the critically acclaimed series: Episode 1: Prince Charming Must Die!
Episode 2: Happily Never After
Episode 3: Revenge of the Castle Cats

My Review
This is a collection of 3 stories in one volume. It's the Grimm stories you didn't know is a good way to put it. Alice is a kick butt female character who finds herself fighting characters from the Grimm tales come to life. She has a little help in the form of Briar rabbit who does some very funny things. Alice thought she had the perfect life in a great boyfriend a good little job at the library( got to love that) and great friends. It all changes while she is working at the library. She has to battle many characters including Prince Charming for one. I really enjoyed these stories as they add a unique twist on older fairy tales. If you like fairy tales or just paranormalish (yes I know that isn't a word) I would say grab this. The female character takes charge and is not the usual wimpy character. It is a very enjoyable read. I look forward to the other books in this to see what they do with more characters.
4 out of 5 Bats~Pam